#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the CWA Short Story Anthology: Mystery Tour, published by Orenda Books. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this wonderfully mixed collection of stories in just a moment, but first up, lets take a look at the official bookish bits.

CWAThe Official Book Blurb

Crime spreads across the globe in this new collection of short stories from the Crime Writer’s Association, as a conspiracy of prominent crime authors take you on a world mystery tour.

Highlights of the trip include a treacherous cruise to French Polynesia, a horrifying trek in South Africa, a murderous train-ride across Ukraine and a vengeful killing in Mumbai. But back home in the UK, life isn’t so easy either. Dead bodies turn up on the backstreets of Glasgow, crime writers turn words into deeds at literary events, and Lady Luck seems to guide the fate of a Twickenham hood.

Showcasing the range, breadth and vitality of the contemporary crime-fiction genre, these twenty-eight chilling and unputdownable stories will take you on a trip you’ll never forget.

Contributions from:
Ann Cleeves, C.L. Taylor, Susi Holliday, Martin Edwards, Anna Mazzola, Carol Anne Davis, Cath Staincliffe, Chris Simms, Christine Poulson, Ed James, Gordon Brown, J.M. Hewitt, Judith Cutler, Julia Crouch, Kate Ellis, Kate Rhodes, Martine Bailey, Michael Stanley, Maxim Jakubowski, Paul Charles, Paul Gitsham, Peter Lovesey, Ragnar Jónasson, Sarah Rayne, Shawn Reilly Simmons, Vaseem Khan, William Ryan and William Burton McCormick

Continue reading “#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks”

#BlogBlitz: The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne @Abigail_Author @Bloodhoundbooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog blitz for The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne which is released today. Originally self published, the book is being re-released by Bloodhound Books. As I’ve had the book sat on my tbr for a while, this was the perfect excuse to move it on up the list. We’ll see my thoughts in just a moment, but first up, the all important bookish bits.

TPMThe Official Book Blurb

Billie is hiding from the world in fear of a man who nearly destroyed her. But a chance meeting with budding journalist, Adam, sparks a relationship that could free her from her life of isolation and fear.

Unbeknown to Billie, Adam knows exactly who Billie is and is determined to expose her and get justice for the lives he believes she has ruined. But first, he needs to convince her to open up to him. As an unwanted attraction blossoms between them, Adam comes to realise that all is not as it seems.

Who is really pulling the strings? And are Adam and Billie both being played?

One thing is for sure, The Master wants his puppets back – and he’ll do anything to keep them.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne @Abigail_Author @Bloodhoundbooks”

Review: The Binding Song by Elodie Harper @ElodieITV @mulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime

Today I’m sharing my review of The Binding Song by Elodie Harper, a really haunting book set in a prison. I listened to the audio of this book on one of my recent trips up to Scotland and was immediately drawn into the story which has been described as ‘splendidly unsettling’ by none other than John Connolly. Before we hear my thoughts, let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

TBSThe Official Book Blurb

FROM THE WINNER OF THE STEPHEN KING AND GUARDIAN SHORT STORY COMPETITION.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to leave…

‘Splendidly unsettling’ John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared – along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts…

Continue reading “Review: The Binding Song by Elodie Harper @ElodieITV @mulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime”

London Noir by Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn

Today I’m reviewing London Noir, book two in Ann’s Kal Medi series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as I’ve shown you what the book is all about.

LNThe Official Book Blurb

Memory loss, nightmares, the urge to kill – Sophie has it all. 

Is it really Post Traumatic Stress Disorder? Or something more sinister? Kal is about to find out… 

After a near-fatal road accident, Kal helps a young girl in trouble. 

The girl’s friends are being murdered one by one. Why? And who by? 

Kal must kick start herself out of her downward spiral to save the young stranger.

But Kal is in the grip of the London Cartel and is someone after the girl, or is the girl after someone… 

A stand-alone crime suspense thriller. The second Kal Medi book.

Continue reading “London Noir by Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn”

#BlogTour: Fox Hunter by Zoe Sharp @authorzoesharp

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Fox Hunter, the twelfth book in the Charlie Hunter series from Zoe Sharp. My thanks go to Ayo Onatade for inviting me to be a part of the tour and to the Zoe Sharp for providing and advance copy for review. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you all in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

FHThe Official Book Blurb

FOX HUNTER is the latest in Zoë Sharp’s highly acclaimed Charlotte ‘Charlie’ Fox crime thriller series.

‘The dead man had not gone quietly … There was a time when I would have given everything I owned to be the one responsible for that.’

Charlie Fox will never forget the men who put a brutal end to her military career, but she vowed a long time ago she would not go looking for them.

Now she doesn’t have a choice.

Her boss and former lover, Sean Meyer, is missing in Iraq where one of those men was working as a private security contractor. When the man’s butchered body is discovered, Charlie fears that Sean may be pursuing a twisted vendetta on her behalf.

Sean’s partner in their exclusive New York close-protection agency needs this dealt with—fast and quiet—before everything they’ve worked for is in ruins. He sends Charlie to the Middle East with very specific instructions:

Find Sean Meyer and stop him. By whatever means necessary.

At one time Charlie thought she knew Sean better than she knew herself, but it seems he’s turned into a violent stranger. As the trail grows more bloody, Charlie realises that unless she can get to Sean first, the hunter may soon become the hunted.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Fox Hunter by Zoe Sharp @authorzoesharp”