Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights

Today I’m delighted to share my review of the novella, Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky. A quick read at a little under 100 pages, this is one twisted read. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

rtbAbout the Book

Like a spider wrapping flies…

When psychopath Duncan leaves a trail of duct-tape-wrapped bodies scattered across the suburbs of Birmingham, there’s nothing to link the victims except his own name and address, carefully placed on each new corpse.Six very different people follow his clues, each convinced they can use Duncan to further their own selfish or naïve ends. Is there a reason Duncan’s driven to target these particular individuals, or does their very nature contribute to their fate?Will any of them be strong enough to break the cycle and escape a painful death? Or will Duncan reel them in and rearrange them to his own insane ideal? 

“Raise the Blade is a gloriously gruesome read, riven with the very blackest of humour. And I loved it.”Ian Ayris, author of ‘Abide With Me’ and ‘April Skies’.

Continue reading “Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights”

#BlogTour: My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland @CrimeThrillGirl @TrapezeBooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for My Little Eye, the new book from author Stephanie Marland (aka blogger Crime Thriller Girl). I’ve had this book in my TBR pile since last summer and it’s been gradually creeping ever closer to the top so it’s been a pleasure finally turning the first page. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

MLEAbout the Book

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in to their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: My Little Eye by Stephanie Marland @CrimeThrillGirl @TrapezeBooks”

#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Black Heart, the brand new thriller from Anna-Lou Weatherley and the first in the Dan Riley series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in just a moment after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BHThe Official Book Blurb

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture”

#FestiveReads: The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday @SJIHolliday @mulhollandbooks @1stMondayCrime

Today I have a review of The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday as part of my Festive Reads feature and as a lead in to the December First Monday Crime panel which will feature Ms Holliday. Two birds, one review – tidy.

TDODThe Official Book Blurb

The hunt is on for a serial killer in this thrilling festive crime novel

It looks like a regular advent calendar.

Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors…and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one.

The police hope it’s a prank. Because if it isn’t, a murderer has just surfaced – someone who’s been killing for twenty years.

But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station?

As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them…

It’s shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday @SJIHolliday @mulhollandbooks @1stMondayCrime”

#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Always one to try to provide a balanced approach to things, I can’t let this Christmas feature be all good news, chocolates and kisses now can I? So, in order to redress the balance, and take the blog back to more familiar ground, it’s time to take a look at some Christmas themed crime, starting with The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn.

TAKThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is coming. One body at a time. 

Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub.

One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken.

Another week brings another victim.

As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday.

When the clock strikes one . . .

A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”