#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the CWA Short Story Anthology: Mystery Tour, published by Orenda Books. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this wonderfully mixed collection of stories in just a moment, but first up, lets take a look at the official bookish bits.

CWAThe Official Book Blurb

Crime spreads across the globe in this new collection of short stories from the Crime Writer’s Association, as a conspiracy of prominent crime authors take you on a world mystery tour.

Highlights of the trip include a treacherous cruise to French Polynesia, a horrifying trek in South Africa, a murderous train-ride across Ukraine and a vengeful killing in Mumbai. But back home in the UK, life isn’t so easy either. Dead bodies turn up on the backstreets of Glasgow, crime writers turn words into deeds at literary events, and Lady Luck seems to guide the fate of a Twickenham hood.

Showcasing the range, breadth and vitality of the contemporary crime-fiction genre, these twenty-eight chilling and unputdownable stories will take you on a trip you’ll never forget.

Contributions from:
Ann Cleeves, C.L. Taylor, Susi Holliday, Martin Edwards, Anna Mazzola, Carol Anne Davis, Cath Staincliffe, Chris Simms, Christine Poulson, Ed James, Gordon Brown, J.M. Hewitt, Judith Cutler, Julia Crouch, Kate Ellis, Kate Rhodes, Martine Bailey, Michael Stanley, Maxim Jakubowski, Paul Charles, Paul Gitsham, Peter Lovesey, Ragnar Jónasson, Sarah Rayne, Shawn Reilly Simmons, Vaseem Khan, William Ryan and William Burton McCormick

Continue reading “#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks”

#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Always one to try to provide a balanced approach to things, I can’t let this Christmas feature be all good news, chocolates and kisses now can I? So, in order to redress the balance, and take the blog back to more familiar ground, it’s time to take a look at some Christmas themed crime, starting with The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn.

TAKThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is coming. One body at a time. 

Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub.

One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken.

Another week brings another victim.

As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday.

When the clock strikes one . . .

A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Dying Day, the latest book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. My thanks go to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

DDThe Official Book Blurb

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken… 

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising? 

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge. 

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Bad Sister by Sam Carrington @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK

Today it’s my great pleasure to be rounding off the blog tour for Bad Sister by Sam Carrington. I absolutely loved Sam’s debut, Saving Sophie and so when the opportunity arose to read this one I grabbed at it. We’ll see what I thought about the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

BSThe Official Book Blurb

Then

When flames rip through their family home, only teenager Stephanie and her younger brother escape unhurt. Brett always liked to play with fire, but now their dad is dead and someone has to pay the price.

Now

Psychologist Connie Summers wants to help Stephanie rebuild her life. She has a new name, a young son and everything to live for. But when Stephanie receives a letter from someone she’d hoped would never find her, Connie is forced to question what really happened that night. But some truths are better left alone . . .

Gripping, tense and impossible to put down, Bad Sister will have fans of Sue Fortin, B A Paris and Linda Green hooked till the final page.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Bad Sister by Sam Carrington @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK”

Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture

I am a busy blogger. I have lots that I need to achieve over the next couple of months, least of which is my actual ‘work’ workload. In order to accomplish all that I need to do, I have a very detailed and very comprehensive reading plan. There is very little which will see me deviate from this plan, however tempting a book may be. And yet when Bookouture announce that the new Angela Marsons book is now available on Netgalley… Well there really is only one thing a girl can do. That very night, all other plans and books were cast aside (sorry authors) and I dove straight in. But was it worth it? Did Broken Bones meet all my expectations and justify my betrayal of all those other fabulous books still in my list? Well, we can find that out in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the heck this seventh (yes seventh!!!) book in the most excellent Kim Stone series is all about.

Broken-Bones-KindleThe Official Book Blurb

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As more sex workers are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable.

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what looks like a tragic abandonment turns even more sinister when a case of modern slavery is uncovered.

The two investigations bring the team into a terrifying world of human exploitation and cruelty – and a showdown that puts Kim’s life at risk as shocking secrets from her own past come to light.

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist.

Continue reading “Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture”