Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture #blogblitz

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Cross Your Heart, the latest Jess Bishop novel from Kierney Scott. My thanks to Noelle of Bookouture for inviting me to join the tour and for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before we see what I think, let’s see what it’s all about.

cyhAbout the Book

Blinking her eyes open, she looks around the room, taking in the bed and the wardrobe full of clothes she’s never seen before. This isn’t her bedroom. Those aren’t her clothes. She begins to cry as she wonders if she’ll ever see her own home again.

Three young girls are missing. All of them cold cases. All of them forgotten. But when Detective Jess Bishop identifies a disturbing link between them, she’s determined to find out what happened, and fights to re-open their cases. 

At the scene of each abduction the kidnapper left a clue – a small bag of candy – in place of the missing child.

And then a fourth child is taken. Eight-year-old Ava is snatched from her hospital bed and when a bag of candy is found in her room, Jessica knows it’s the same kidnapper.

As the pressure to solve the case pushes Jess and her team to breaking point, Jess takes a personal risk she fears she’ll live to regret. But she has no choice.

Out of hospital, Ava can only get sicker: Jess is running out of time. Can she find Ava before it’s too late?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will have your pulse racing. Cross Your Heart is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

Continue reading “Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture #blogblitz”

Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours

Today I’m thrilled to be joining the blog tour for Body and Soul the final Frank Elder novel from author John Harvey. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour and to the publisher for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before I tell you my thoughts on the book, let’s see what it’s all about.

basAbout the Book

From the master of British Crime Writing comes Frank Elder’s last case.

‘The heavy manacles around the girl’s wrists, perhaps not surprisingly, looked very much like the ones that had been found on the studio floor. For a moment, she had a vision of the chain to which they were attached being swung through the air, taking on force and speed before striking home.Then swung again.’

When his estranged daughter Katherine appears on his doorstep, ex-Detective Frank Elder knows that something is wrong.

Katherine has long been troubled, and Elder has always felt powerless to help her. 

But now Katherine has begun to self-destruct.

The breakdown of her affair with a controversial artist has sent her into a tailspin which culminates in murder.

And as Elder struggles to protect his daughter and prove her innocence, the terrors of the past threaten them both once more …

Continue reading “Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours”

Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights

Today I’m delighted to share my review of the novella, Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky. A quick read at a little under 100 pages, this is one twisted read. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

rtbAbout the Book

Like a spider wrapping flies…

When psychopath Duncan leaves a trail of duct-tape-wrapped bodies scattered across the suburbs of Birmingham, there’s nothing to link the victims except his own name and address, carefully placed on each new corpse.Six very different people follow his clues, each convinced they can use Duncan to further their own selfish or naïve ends. Is there a reason Duncan’s driven to target these particular individuals, or does their very nature contribute to their fate?Will any of them be strong enough to break the cycle and escape a painful death? Or will Duncan reel them in and rearrange them to his own insane ideal? 

“Raise the Blade is a gloriously gruesome read, riven with the very blackest of humour. And I loved it.”Ian Ayris, author of ‘Abide With Me’ and ‘April Skies’.

Continue reading “Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights”

The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl @ko_dahl @OrendaBooks

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for the latest novel from Kjell Ola Dahl, The Ice Swimmer. I loved the previous book in the series, Faithless, and so when the chance came around to read this latest offering I didn’t hesitate. My thanks to publisher Orenda Books for the advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I am loving my Nordic-Noir and this was yet another brilliant offering. Let’s see what it’s all about.

TISAbout the Book

When a dead man is lifted from the freezing waters of Oslo Harbour just before Christmas, Detective Lena Stigersand’s stressful life suddenly becomes even more complicated. Not only is she dealing with a cancer scare, a stalker and an untrustworthy boyfriend, but it seems both a politician and Norway’s security services might be involved in the murder. 

With her trusted colleagues, Gunnarstranda and Frølich, at her side, Lena digs deep into the case and finds that it not only goes to the heart of the Norwegian establishment, but it might be rather to close to her personal life for comfort.

Dark, complex and nail-bitingly tense, The Ice Swimmer is the latest and most unforgettable instalment in the critically acclaimed Oslo Detective series, by the godfather of Nordic Noir.

Continue reading “The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl @ko_dahl @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour: Keeper by Johana Gustawsson @JoGustawsson @OrendaBooks

It is my absolute pleasure to be joining the blog tour for Keeper by Johana Gustawsson, the follow up to her brilliant novel, Block 46. That was one of my top reads of 2017 and although it is only April, I know that Keeper is going to be on my list for 2018 too. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour. This was one I could in no way say no to. Let’s take a look what it is all about shall we.

kAbout the Book

Whitechapel, 1888: London is bowed under Jack the Ripper’s reign of terror.

London, 2015: actress Julianne Bell is abducted in a case similar to the terrible Tower Hamlets murders of some ten years earlier, and harking back to the Ripper killings of a century before.

Falkenberg, Sweden, 2015: a woman’s body is found mutilated in a forest, her wounds identical to those of the Tower Hamlets victims. With the man arrested for the Tower Hamlets crimes already locked up, do the new killings mean he has a dangerous accomplice, or is a copy-cat serial killer on the loose?

Profiler Emily Roy and true-crime writer Alexis Castells again find themselves drawn into an intriguing case, with personal links that turn their world upside down. Following the highly acclaimed Block 46 and guaranteed to disturb and enthrall, Keeper is a breathless thriller from the new queen of French Noir.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Keeper by Johana Gustawsson @JoGustawsson @OrendaBooks”