#BlogTour Review: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be one of the two blogs, alongside The Writing Garnet, opening up the blog tour for The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher. Massive thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I loved The Promise and was so excited to read this book. In just a moment we’ll see if it met my expectations, but first off, here is what this book is all about.

TBThe Official Book Blurb

Colleen Byrne is wife to one of the biggest faces on the streets of Soho, Jimmy Byrne.  He promised her the life of luxury, but behind the diamonds and fur coats is a dangerous world of violence and lies.  With her two children, Nancy and Daniel, Colleen is in too deep, bound to Jimmy forever.

TWENTY YEARS LATER
Nancy has grown into her father’s daughter, strong, calculated – and ruthless, while Colleen blots out the pain of her marriage any way she can. When Jimmy is found brutally murdered, Nancy is hell bent on finding the culprit.  She’s going to make them pay for what they did.

Only the perpetrator is someone close to home. Someone who betrayed them all. To catch a killer, mother and daughter must find the secrets tearing their family apart… 

A totally gripping and gritty thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Kimberly Chambers, Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture”

Bloody Scotland – McIlvanney Prize Longlist Announced – Press Release

BDSCT

I am delighted to be able to share with you all the official Press Release from the organizers of #BloodyScotland for the 2017 McIvanney Prize Long List.

Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival 8-10 September 2017

LONGLIST ANNOUNCED FOR THE McILVANNEY PRIZE
SCOTTISH CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 2017

‘In what is shaping up to be a record-breaking year at Bloody Scotland (we sold twice as many tickets on our first day as last year), I’m pleased to see so many of the highlights of the 2017 programme featured on this longlist. It’s also brilliant to see a few debut novels on there slugging it out with the more established names. I certainly don’t envy our judges the task of picking a winner from this excellent crop of crime novels’
Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland, June 2017

‘I went to Bloody Scotland and I was just knocked out….this event was so friendly, so supportive I was honestly overwhelmed’
William McIlvanney – speaking on BBC Scotland, 2012

Last year the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who established the tradition of Scottish detective fiction. His brother Hugh McIlvanney OBE, came to Stirling to present the prize to Chris Brookmyre who won it for Black Widow. The book went on to be shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and is currently on the shortlist for the Theakston’s Old Peculier Prize to be announced at the Harrogate Festival next month.

Ever a step ahead, Bloody Scotland today announce the longlist for this year’s McIlvanney Prize. The winner will be announced at the opening reception at Stirling Castle on Friday 8 September (6.30-8.30pm) and followed by a torchlight procession – open to the public – led by Ian Rankin on his way down to his event celebrating 30 years of Rebus. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

The longlist which has been chosen by an independent panel of readers and features 6 male and 6 female writers, established authors and debut writers, small Scottish publishers and large London houses, is released today:

Lin AndersonNone But the Dead (Macmillan)
Chris BrookmyreWant You Gone (Little, Brown)
Ann Cleeves – Cold Earth (Macmillan)
Helen FieldsPerfect Remains (Harper Collins)
Val McDermidOut of  Bounds (Little, Brown)
Claire MacLearyCross Purpose (Contraband)
Denise MinaThe Long Drop (Random House)
Owen MullenGames People Play (Bloodhound)
Ian Rankin – Rather Be the Devil (Orion)
Craig RobertsonMurderabilia (Simon and Schuster)
Craig RussellThe Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid (Quercus)
Jay StringerHow to Kill Friends & Implicate People (Thomas & Mercer)

The judges will be chaired by Director of Granite Noir, Lee Randall, comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman and journalist, Craig Sisterson who between them cover three continents. The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.

Previous winners are Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Some absolutely brilliant books on there and I don’t envy the judges their choices. Can’t wait until September now and Bloody Scotland so I can find out who has won.

 

Celebrating Authors of Colour with Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn

smitafacebook1-002

Join author Ann Girdharry as she celebrates and recognises 10 new Authors of Colour over on her web page. Today Ann has featured a review of Lola’s House by M. Evalina Galang, a non-fiction book that details the horrendous experiences of the Filipino women who were imprisoned during World War II to be used as sexual slaves. Continue reading “Celebrating Authors of Colour with Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn”

#BookLove: Morton S Gray

Book Love (1)

Today I welcome author Morton S. Gray to the blog in order to help spread a little more #booklove. Morton will be sharing her favourite book of all time with us in just a moment, but first let’s put a face to the name.

About Morton

morton orange.jpeg

Morton’s debut novel The Girl on the Beach was published by Choc Lit in January 2017, after she won the publisher’s Search for a Star competition in 2016. She lives in Worcestershire, UK with her husband, two sons and little white dog.

Follow Morton on social media:

Twitter | Facebook | Website

More about The Girl on the Beach:-

IMG_2806When Ellie Golden meets Harry Dixon, she can’t help but feel she recognises him from somewhere. But when she finally realises who he is, she can’t believe it – because the man she met on the beach all those years before wasn’t called Harry Dixon. And, what’s more, that man is dead.

 For a woman trying to outrun her troubled past and protect her son, Harry’s presence is deeply unsettling – and even more disconcerting than coming face to face with a dead man, is the fact that Harry seems to have no recollection of ever having met Ellie before. At least that’s what he says …

 But perhaps Harry isn’t the person Ellie should be worried about. Because there’s a far more dangerous figure from the past lurking just outside of the new life she has built for herself, biding his time, just waiting to strike.

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

Continue reading “#BookLove: Morton S Gray”

Rewind, recap: weekly update w/e 18/06/17

P1050573.JPG
Whitby Abbey – The inspiration for Dracula.

Thought I’d go a bit gothic this week. It’s still in keeping with the theme of books as this is Whitby Abbey, the inspiration for Bram Stoker’s Dracula which, incidentally, was part of the focus for my extended essay for by A’ Level in English Literature. Just saying…

Of course that was many, many (many, many, many) years ago and this was actually my first visit to Whitby. I once sort of visited the area when I was a nipper, but we are talking decades ago and I have only a very vague recollection of perhaps visiting Flamingo Land. Certainly, in spite of an obsession with horror movies from an early age, I knew nothing of the legend of Dracula. Well, nothing beyond the odd Christopher Lee Hammer Horror film and George Hamilton’s Love at First Bite. Loved that film 😀 Continue reading “Rewind, recap: weekly update w/e 18/06/17”