Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 15/10/17

So. Funny old week. Started off in a rather unspectacular fashion. Went to work. Did work type stuff. Got bored. Rinse and repeat on Tuesday. Well, Health and Safety meeting on Tuesday so I was mainly depressed by lunchtime, but still relatively uneventful. Flying visit to Dublin on Wednesday (literal as it’s a long walk from my house) in which I managed to set the Irish budget (mostly). Go me. On the plus side I got a lot of reading in at the airports and on the plane so it wasn’t all bad.

irish-flag-981641_1280 (1).png Continue reading “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 15/10/17”

#BlogTour: Fox Hunter by Zoe Sharp @authorzoesharp

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Fox Hunter, the twelfth book in the Charlie Hunter series from Zoe Sharp. My thanks go to Ayo Onatade for inviting me to be a part of the tour and to the Zoe Sharp for providing and advance copy for review. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you all in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

FHThe Official Book Blurb

FOX HUNTER is the latest in Zoë Sharp’s highly acclaimed Charlotte ‘Charlie’ Fox crime thriller series.

‘The dead man had not gone quietly … There was a time when I would have given everything I owned to be the one responsible for that.’

Charlie Fox will never forget the men who put a brutal end to her military career, but she vowed a long time ago she would not go looking for them.

Now she doesn’t have a choice.

Her boss and former lover, Sean Meyer, is missing in Iraq where one of those men was working as a private security contractor. When the man’s butchered body is discovered, Charlie fears that Sean may be pursuing a twisted vendetta on her behalf.

Sean’s partner in their exclusive New York close-protection agency needs this dealt with—fast and quiet—before everything they’ve worked for is in ruins. He sends Charlie to the Middle East with very specific instructions:

Find Sean Meyer and stop him. By whatever means necessary.

At one time Charlie thought she knew Sean better than she knew herself, but it seems he’s turned into a violent stranger. As the trail grows more bloody, Charlie realises that unless she can get to Sean first, the hunter may soon become the hunted.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Fox Hunter by Zoe Sharp @authorzoesharp”

#Extract: The Secret Mother by Shalini Boland @ShaliniBoland @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be able to share an extract from the upcoming release from Shalini Boland and Bookouture, The Secret Mother, which is out on the 9th November. Before we take a look at that extract, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

The-Secret-Mother-KindleThe Official Book Blurb

Tessa Markham comes home to find a child in her kitchen calling her ‘mummy’. But Tessa doesn’t have any children.

Not anymore.

She doesn’t know who the little boy is or how he got there.

After contacting the police, Tessa comes under suspicion for snatching the child. She must fight to prove her innocence. But how can she convince everyone she’s not guilty when even those closest to her are questioning the truth? And when Tessa doesn’t even trust herself…

A chilling, unputdownable thriller with a dark twist that will take your breath away and make you wonder if you can ever trust anyone again. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

Continue reading “#Extract: The Secret Mother by Shalini Boland @ShaliniBoland @Bookouture”

Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur

It is my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for the new release from Orenda Books and Lilja Sigurdadottir, Snare. My thanks go to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this true gem of a book in just a moment, but first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

SThe Official Book Blurb

After a messy divorce, attractive young mother Sonia is struggling to provide for herself and keep custody of her son. With her back to the wall, she resorts to smuggling cocaine into Iceland, and finds herself caught up in a ruthless criminal world.

As she desperately looks for a way out of trouble, she must pit her wits against her nemesis, Bragi, a customs officer, whose years of experience frustrate her new and evermore daring strategies. Things become even more complicated when Sonia embarks on a relationship with a woman, Agla. Once a high-level bank executive, Agla is currently being prosecuted in the aftermath of the Icelandic financial crash.

Set in a Reykjavík still covered in the dust of the Eyjafjallajökull volcanic eruption, and with a dark, fast-paced and chilling plot and intriguing characters, Snare is an outstandingly original and sexy Nordic crime thriller, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur”