#BookLove: Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25

Book Love (1)

Today I’m welcoming author Susanna Beard to the blog to help spread a little #BookLove. Before we hear all about Susanna’s secret crush, let’s find out a little more about Susanna and her book, Dare To Remember.

About Susanna

SB.jpg

Originally a linguist, I’ve always loved words and writing. My career to date both demands and celebrates writing.

“I discovered that the slope of writing to order is a slippery one, and that the descent is in fact pleasurable.” Elena Ferrante.

Writing fiction is new and joyous for me. It offers a freedom from constraint which is refreshing and full of wonder.

I like dark, contemplative stories with a twist. I’m fascinated by the psychology of relationships and the impact of insignificant events on people’s lives.

You can follow Susanna on social media: Twitter | Facebook or her website www.susannabeard.com

DTRDare To Remember

Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley.

However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night?

As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there’s another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can’t escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along.

A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah.

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

Continue reading “#BookLove: Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25”

Once upon a time… The Girl Called Jen

Once upon a time there was a girl called Jen.

Jen worked very hard in a very important job doing very important stuff for a company who liked very important stuff doing well. Jen was very good at doing this. Most of the time.

Being an anal retentive, Jen was typically a very organised individual, at least when it came down to cataloguing things like CDs, DVDs etc because Jen liked to have control over things. Jen was also a control freak but that is another story and nothing to do with this one. When Jen chose to purchase books for example, which over recent years had become a much more frequent pastime, Jen liked to make a note of it on Goodreads so that she could track what she had to read. If it were a preorder, Jen would duly make a note of it on her mobile phone calendar so that she knew when to expect the book and the charge to her credit card.

Jen was very clever like that.

Then one day, a little over a year ago, Jen caught an incurable disease.

That disease was called ‘book blogging’.

Since Jen caught ‘book blogging’ her organizational skills have gone to shit. On occasion, she will remember to write pre-orders in her diary but mostly she can’t be arsed and just kind of nods her head in a ‘fair play’ kind of gesture when she notices just how many books she has on pre-order with Amazon. Also, when Jen goes on Goodreads she invariably sits there with a frown thinking WTF! as she scrolls up and down to find the book she is about to read and swears blind she had added, before realising that actually she didn’t and she has waaaaaay more books than she realised in the TBR pile. Can anyone say ‘whoops Jen’?

Jen also does daft things like buying new books all the time, never able to walk past a bookshop without going in. Bookshop homing signal is one of the key symptoms of the disease ‘book blogging’. Jen also regularly visits a clinic that sufferers of ‘book blogging’ know as ‘Netgalley’. The ‘Netgalley’ clinic does not actually help sufferers of ‘book blogging’, it ritually mocks and taunts them until they have requested more books, forcing a self-perpetuating cycle of book envy (from fellow sufferers) and further recurring ‘book blogging’.

As a sufferer of ‘book blogging’, Jen spends most of her days now with a sneaky suspicion that she is being watched on social media, although she has no idea what is going on, as she cannot keep up with all of the notifications and retweets. She probably seems to ignore most people but really, Jen is brain-farting. A lot. Jen also has a permanent nagging feeling that there is something she is meant to be doing but can’t quite remember what. As far as Jen can see, aside from the social media symptoms, the disease ‘book blogging’ has become much like being at work. But fun. And without pay.

Jen still works very hard at her very important job doing very important stuff, but now she makes it fun by using it to settle some of the more alarming side effects of her disease ‘book blogging’. Jen does this by listening to audio books when she is doing long drives or really boring spreadsheets when she would otherwise fall asleep. This makes Jen very productive doing both her very important stuff and managing her disease.

Jen knows that she needs an intervention.

Jen doesn’t care.

Jen likes suffering from ‘book blogging’. Jen hopes that no cure is found.

Fellow sufferers of ‘book blogging’ provide all the support Jen needs. Jen isn’t that bothered about leaving an inheritance for family members as she is also a tightwad and so she is happy to keep managing the ‘book blogging’ symptoms by buying more books.

Jen likes books more than her family. Apart from her cats. They are okay.

Jen is happy.

Jen is ‘book blogging’.

If you do not want to be busy but happy, Jen recommends trying not to catch ‘book blogging’. If, like Jen, you like having fun, reading books, meeting wonderful people and driving your family and friends crazy with book recommendations, Jen knows there are far worse things to be suffering from.

Readers should note that the disease ‘book blogging’ can be contagious and it is easy to spread this to friends and family members if not carefully controlled. You have been warned…

©JenTheNutter 2017

Bloody Scotland – McIlvanney Prize Longlist Announced – Press Release

BDSCT

I am delighted to be able to share with you all the official Press Release from the organizers of #BloodyScotland for the 2017 McIvanney Prize Long List.

Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival 8-10 September 2017

LONGLIST ANNOUNCED FOR THE McILVANNEY PRIZE
SCOTTISH CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 2017

‘In what is shaping up to be a record-breaking year at Bloody Scotland (we sold twice as many tickets on our first day as last year), I’m pleased to see so many of the highlights of the 2017 programme featured on this longlist. It’s also brilliant to see a few debut novels on there slugging it out with the more established names. I certainly don’t envy our judges the task of picking a winner from this excellent crop of crime novels’
Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland, June 2017

‘I went to Bloody Scotland and I was just knocked out….this event was so friendly, so supportive I was honestly overwhelmed’
William McIlvanney – speaking on BBC Scotland, 2012

Last year the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who established the tradition of Scottish detective fiction. His brother Hugh McIlvanney OBE, came to Stirling to present the prize to Chris Brookmyre who won it for Black Widow. The book went on to be shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and is currently on the shortlist for the Theakston’s Old Peculier Prize to be announced at the Harrogate Festival next month.

Ever a step ahead, Bloody Scotland today announce the longlist for this year’s McIlvanney Prize. The winner will be announced at the opening reception at Stirling Castle on Friday 8 September (6.30-8.30pm) and followed by a torchlight procession – open to the public – led by Ian Rankin on his way down to his event celebrating 30 years of Rebus. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

The longlist which has been chosen by an independent panel of readers and features 6 male and 6 female writers, established authors and debut writers, small Scottish publishers and large London houses, is released today:

Lin AndersonNone But the Dead (Macmillan)
Chris BrookmyreWant You Gone (Little, Brown)
Ann Cleeves – Cold Earth (Macmillan)
Helen FieldsPerfect Remains (Harper Collins)
Val McDermidOut of  Bounds (Little, Brown)
Claire MacLearyCross Purpose (Contraband)
Denise MinaThe Long Drop (Random House)
Owen MullenGames People Play (Bloodhound)
Ian Rankin – Rather Be the Devil (Orion)
Craig RobertsonMurderabilia (Simon and Schuster)
Craig RussellThe Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid (Quercus)
Jay StringerHow to Kill Friends & Implicate People (Thomas & Mercer)

The judges will be chaired by Director of Granite Noir, Lee Randall, comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman and journalist, Craig Sisterson who between them cover three continents. The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.

Previous winners are Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Some absolutely brilliant books on there and I don’t envy the judges their choices. Can’t wait until September now and Bloody Scotland so I can find out who has won.