#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s latest Robyn Carter thriller, The Silent Children. I have very much fallen in love with this series, especially the local setting, and couldn’t wait to read this latest offering. So, just what did I think? Well I’ll tell you in moment, after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TSCAbout this Book

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture”

#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks

Today I’m continuing my #festivereads feature by sharing my review of Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost, a lovely cosy Christmas murder mystery. I’ll tell you my thoughts on the book as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

TSOCThe Official Book Blurb

When Holly White’s fiancé cancels their Christmas Eve wedding with less than two weeks to go, Holly heads home with a broken heart. Lucky for her, home in historic Mistletoe, Maine is magical during Christmastime—exactly what the doctor prescribed. Except her plan to drown her troubles in peppermints and snickerdoodles is upended when local grouch and president of the Mistletoe Historical Society Margaret Fenwick is bludgeoned and left in the sleigh display at Reindeer Games, Holly’s family tree farm.

When the murder weapon is revealed as one of the wooden stakes used to identify trees on the farm, Sheriff Evan Grey turns to Holly’s father, Bud, and the Reindeer Games staff. And it doesn’t help that Bud and the reindeer keeper were each seen arguing with Margaret just before her death. But Holly knows her father, and is determined to exonerate him.The jingle bells are ringing, the clock is ticking, and if Holly doesn’t watch out, she’ll end up on Santa’s naughty list in Twelve Slays of Christmas, Jacqueline Frost’s jolly series debut.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks”

#Blogtour: The Last Post by BK Duncan @bkduncanwriter @Bloodhoundbook

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog blitz for The Last Post by BK Duncan. My thanks to Sarah Hardy from Bloodhound books for including me on the tour. I’ll let you know my thoughts in just a moment, once we’ve taken a look at what the book is about.

The last post 2.1 final.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

It is April 1918. May Keaps is a twenty year old ambulance driver stationed at The Front. As if transporting hideously wounded soldiers, sleep deprivation and constant shell bombardment weren’t enough, she becomes unwittingly entangled in the untimely death of a young captain, Tobias Fairfax.

Newly-arrived in Northern France he was found with a discharged pistol by his side; rumours on the battlefield were that it wasn’t an accident and he had taken the coward’s way out, committing suicide.

Whatever the explanation, Tobias left a dangerous legacy that puts May in the line of fire. But she is not the only one with a reason to want to uncover the truth. And in a world where life can be extinguished in the blink of an eye, May might regret her search for answers…

The Last Post is the haunting introduction to the May Keaps series. 

Continue reading “#Blogtour: The Last Post by BK Duncan @bkduncanwriter @Bloodhoundbook”

#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Always one to try to provide a balanced approach to things, I can’t let this Christmas feature be all good news, chocolates and kisses now can I? So, in order to redress the balance, and take the blog back to more familiar ground, it’s time to take a look at some Christmas themed crime, starting with The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn.

TAKThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is coming. One body at a time. 

Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub.

One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken.

Another week brings another victim.

As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday.

When the clock strikes one . . .

A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining in the blog tour for The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson. My thanks to Emily Burns at publisher Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing an extract from the book with you all, just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

The Perfect VictimThe Official Book Blurb

For fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, Corrie Jackson’s explosive new thriller will leave you questioning how far you would go for friendship. 

Charlie and Emily Swift are the Instagram-perfect couple: gorgeous, successful and in love. But then Charlie is named as the prime suspect in a gruesome murder and Emily’s world falls apart.

Desperate for answers, she turns to Charlie’s troubled best friend, London Herald journalist, Sophie Kent. Sophie knows police have the wrong man – she trusts Charlie with her life.

Then Charlie flees.

Sophie puts her reputation on the line to clear his name. But as she’s drawn deeper into Charlie and Emily’s unravelling marriage, she realises that there is nothing perfect about the Swifts.

As she begins to question Charlie’s innocence, something happens that blows the investigation – and their friendship – apart.

Now Sophie isn’t just fighting for justice, she’s fighting for her life.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre”