#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand the blog over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog blitz for the new release from Sharon Maas, The Girl From The Sugar Plantation. Thanks to Noelle Holten for including us on the tour and to Bookouture for providing a copy of the book for review. We’ll be sharing Mandie’s thoughts on the book, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

The-Girl-from-the-Sugar-Plantation-Kindle.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

An unputdownable story of a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Guyana. All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret… 

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: #Extract The Second Son by Andy Blackman @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000

Today it is my pleasure to be bringing you an extract of The Second Son by Andy Blackman as part of the blog tour. With thanks to Rachel Gilbey of Authoright for inviting me to take part. Let’s start by taking a look at what this book is all about.

The Second Son CoverThe Official Book Blurb

As the second son of the Duke of Hampshire, Grenville St John Hampton isn’t likely to inherit his family’s title or estate, leaving him pondering an empty, aimless future. During the summer break from university, he impulsively decides to go backpacking with one of his oldest friends, Johnathan; their destination is Belize.

One sultry night on the Central American coastline, Grenville and Johnathan meet Tom. A game of darts takes a vicious turn. Realising he has nothing to look forward to back at home, Grenville decides to stay on in Belize with Tom, in pursuit of adventure. Together, the new friends establish an import business, and for the rst time in his life, Grenville has a sense of purpose.

But back in England all is not well. The sudden death of his brother leaves Grenville with an unexpected – and now unwanted – inheritance, with new consequences and responsibilities. He will return to claim the family’s seat with a dark secret in tow.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: #Extract The Second Son by Andy Blackman @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000”

The Fallen Agent by Oliver Tidy @olivertidy @CarolineBookBit

It’s my pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest thriller from author Oliver Tidy, The Fallen Agent, the first book in the new Jess Albion series. Big thanks to Oliver and Caroline Vincent for inviting me to take part. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

TFAThe Official Book Blurb

Jess Albion has recently started a new life on the other side of the world with a new identity. She used to be MI5. Then a job went bad, someone died and she was made an example of in the British courts. But MI5 look after their own. Or they did until rumours of a planned Al Qaeda biological terror attack on London started circulating. Now someone in the British security services is giving agents up in return for information. No price, it seems, is too high to save London from the ultimate threat.

When Jess’s fresh start is compromised she has a choice to make: run and hide and spend the rest of her life looking over her shoulder or go looking for the threat and snuff it out. On her own, she’d run, but she has Nick on her side.

The Fallen Agent is a story of love and hate, of loyalty and betrayal, of revenge and callous disregard for human life in the pursuit of satisfaction.

Continue reading “The Fallen Agent by Oliver Tidy @olivertidy @CarolineBookBit”

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime

Now this is a book I have had sitting on my TBR list for far too long. It first came to my attention at CrimeFest last year when I heard author, Vaseem Khan, speaking on a panel about his somewhat unusual hero, Ganesha, the baby elephant. I was fascinated and promptly bought the books, but for some reason never quite found the time to read them. Taking part in First Monday Crime as a blogger, an event at which Mr Khan will be one of the panelists in November, gave me the perfect reason (as if one were needed) to put the books front and centre of my reading list and so, armed with an audiobook copy of the book, I set about listening to it on one of my many trips up to Scotland over the past month. And what a treat it was too. I’ll tell you how much of one in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

IC1The Official Book Blurb

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve…

But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai – from its richest mansions to its murky underworld – he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. 

So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.

Continue reading “The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime”

#BlogTour: The Man Who Died by Antti Tuomainen @antti_tuomainen @OrendaBooks

It is my absolute pleasure, alongside Ronnie Turner, to be taking part in today’s leg of the blog tour for The Man Who Died by Antti Tuomainen . Ever since I picked up and read a teaser for this book back at CrimeFest in May, I have been desperate to get my hands on the complete book. A massive thanks to Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan at Orenda Books for letting me be a part of the tour. This has been one of my most anticipated reads of this year. We’ll see if it lived up to expectations in just a moment, after we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

TMWDThe Official Book Blurb

A successful entrepreneur in the mushroom industry, Jaakko Kaunismaa is a man in his prime. At just 37 years of age, he is shocked when his doctor tells him that he’s dying. What is more, the cause is discovered to be prolonged exposure to toxins; in other words, someone has slowly but surely been poisoning him.

Determined to find out who wants him dead, Jaakko embarks on a suspenseful rollercoaster journey full of unusual characters, bizarre situations and unexpected twists.

With a nod to Fargo and the best elements of the Scandinavian noir tradition, The Man Who Died is a page-turning thriller brimming with the blackest comedy surrounding life and death, and love and betrayal, markinng a stunning new departure for the King of Helsinki Noir.Choc1

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Man Who Died by Antti Tuomainen @antti_tuomainen @OrendaBooks”