Guest Review: Stalker On The Fens by Joy Ellis @mgriffiths163 @JoffeBooks

Today I pass the reins over to Mandie who has a review of Stalker on the Fens by Joy Ellis.

SOTFThe Official Book Blurb

DETECTIVE NIKKI GALENA’S FRIEND THINKS SHE HAS A DEADLY STALKER, BUT WILL ANYONE BELIEVE HER BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE?

DI Nikki Galena’s close friend Helen Brook is involved in a serious accident where she is trapped in a collapsed cellar. After her hard-won recovery, Helen is still getting flashbacks to a man she says was down there with her and who confessed to a murder. But no trace of this man can be found.

Then Helen tells Nikki that someone is watching her. But is all this in her friend’s imagination and part of her post-traumatic stress?

And why is Stephen Cox back in town? He’s the villain who tore Nikki’s life apart and he seems to have returned to wreak more chaos. Before long the whole town is on the verge of hysteria and her friend’s fear will lead Nikki and Joseph on a very dangerous trail.

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping conclusion.

Continue reading “Guest Review: Stalker On The Fens by Joy Ellis @mgriffiths163 @JoffeBooks”

Review: Stranger Child by Rachel Abbott @RachelAbbott

SCThe Official Book Blurb

One Dark Secret. One act of revenge.

When Emma Joseph met her husband David, he was a man shattered by grief. His first wife had been killed outright when her car veered off the road. Just as tragically, their six-year-old daughter mysteriously vanished from the scene of the accident.

Now, six years later, Emma believes the painful years are behind them. She and David have built a new life together and have a beautiful baby son, Ollie.
Then a stranger walks into their lives, and their world tilts on its axis. Emma’s life no longer feels secure. Does she know what really happened all those years ago? And why does she feel so frightened for herself and for her baby?

When a desperate Emma reaches out to her old friend DCI Tom Douglas for help, she puts all their lives in jeopardy. Before long, a web of deceit is revealed that shocks both Emma and Tom to the core.

They say you should never trust a stranger. Maybe they’re right.

Continue reading “Review: Stranger Child by Rachel Abbott @RachelAbbott”

#BlogTour Review: Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for Secrets of the Dead by Carol E Wyer, the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series. Thanks to the fabulous Kim Nash for inviting me to take part in the tour. I will share my review with you in a moment, but before I do, here are the important book bits.

CoverThree murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger. 

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture”

Review: Silent Scream by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie)

Yes. You read that right. I am reviewing Silent Scream. With just over three weeks to go until the release of Dead Souls, the sixth book in the Kim Stone series by Angela Marsons, I thought it was an opportune moment to go back and look over the first five books in the series. I’ve technically reviewed them on the blog before, but certainly for three of the first four books the reviews were written before I had my blog and before I found my blogging voice (although I’m sure many would rather I still had laryngitis 😉 ) So today let me take you back to where it all began: Silent Scream.

Continue reading “Review: Silent Scream by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie)”

**Cover Reveal** – Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @Bookouture

Absolutely exciting news from Bookouture – the latest Ruby Preston novel by Caroline Mitchell, Sleep Tight has just been announced and ITS AVAILABLE TO PREORDER NOW!!!!!

UK: 🇬🇧  http://amzn.to/2oFTxLj 

US: 🇺🇸  http://amzn.to/2npDVLY

Just take a look at this stunning cover and the blurb:

Cover

The Official Book Blurb

Close your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up.

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise their twisted fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.

Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

Ruby is in too deep, knowing that the cruel individual is getting ever closer, looking for his next beautiful victim. But can she stop a killer hell-bent on fulfilling their horrific desires – before it’s too late? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

A terrifying, addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for readers of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.

You can find Bookouture’s announcement on Facebook and Twitter

Doesn’t that sound amazing? Here is what readers are saying about the Ruby Preston series.

‘Oh my friggin God! Thisssss booooook! Su-bloody-perb! …a quadruple #HellYeah recommendation from me! Tantalisingly terrifying, twisted, and darkCrime Book Junkie

‘Just superb!! I can tell you, you will NOT know the ending until you get there!! It’s a shocker!Next Book Review

‘OMG what a corker of a book. I absolutely love Ruby.  I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough … Loved it, loved it, loved it.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘Compelling, absorbing, chilling, gruesome and freakishly brilliant.  Once I started reading, I didn’t want to stop.’  Jen Med’s Book Reviews (5*)

‘Ruby is an excellent character. Real, raw and utterly relatable’ Bibliophile Book Club (4*)

‘Caroline Mitchell creates some seriously dark and scary stuff ‘ StefLoz Book Reviews

‘Fast paced, great lead character and twists and turns, what more could you ask for?’ Worcester Source (4*)

It will certainly have you holding your breath on more than one occasion… I really can’t wait for more from this series.’ Victoria Wilkinson – I Love Reading

Oh my God…this book blew me away! Kept me hooked right till the last page’ The Book Guzzler (5*)

‘Ruby, well she’s just in a league of her own. She shows so much strength yet I love the vulnerable side to her’ By The Letter Book Reviews (5*)

‘I think I pretty much held my breath through the last few chapters! There are twists and turns aplenty and it’s packed full of action and suspense’  Chat About Books (5*)

‘It’s a compelling and dark read; it gives you thrills, it gives you the fear and it gives you all the twists and turns you are looking forChapterinmylife (5*)

‘A thrilling ride that blurs the boundary of what is right and what is wrong. The plot is terrifying yet somehow heartbreakingKitty Catalyst – Bibliophile (5*)

Just in case you missed the links before, you can preorder the book here:

UK: 🇬🇧: http://amzn.to/2oFTxLj 

US: 🇺🇸: http://amzn.to/2npDVLY

About Caroline Mitchell

CM

A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex.  She now writes full time.

You can follow Caroline on the following social media and websites.

www.caroline-writes.com 

Facebook

Twitter