Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson @debbiemjohnson @HarperImpulse @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie who has a review of Debbie Johnson’s Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe. 

satcfcAbout the Book

The brand new book from bestselling author Debbie Johnson will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you raid the pantry in the middle of the night…

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas; beautifully baked breads, and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship, and security – a place like no other; a place that offers friendship as a daily special, and where a hearty welcome is always on the menu.

For widowed mum-of-two Laura Walker, the decision to uproot her teenaged children and make the trek from Manchester to Dorset for the summer isn’t one she takes lightly, and it’s certainly not winning her any awards from her kids, Nate and Lizzie. Even her own parents think she’s gone mad.

Her new job at the cafe, and the hilarious people she meets there, give Laura the chance she needs to make new friends; to learn to be herself again, and – just possibly – to learn to love again as well.

For her, the Comfort Food Cafe doesn’t just serve food – it serves a second chance to live her life to the full…

Continue reading “Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson @debbiemjohnson @HarperImpulse @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Spring on the Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley – #Extract @PhillipaAshley @Avon

Today I am delighted to bring to you all an extract from Spring On The Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley, and thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon for inviting me to join the tour. Let’s see what the book is all about.

SOTLCFAbout the Book

Fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews will love this gorgeous new book from the author of the bestselling Cornish Café series.

Jess has lived at the idyllic flower farm on the Isles of Scilly her whole life, but when her boyfriend Adam leaves without explanation, Jess discovers that even her little slice of Cornish heaven can be lonely.

For the first time in Will’s life, he’s met someone he can’t stop thinking about. But nothing is simple when the woman of your dreams is working for you.

Gaby is running away from painful memories, and where could be more perfect than a remote island off the Cornish coast? But to put the past behind her, she must keep moving … however much she might want to stay.

Nothing is simple, even on paradise. Will love bloom for the residents of the little Cornish Isles?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Spring on the Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley – #Extract @PhillipaAshley @Avon”

#BlogTour: Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @midaspr

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Caroline Mitchell’s latest release, Silent Victim. I’m a big fan of Caroline’s work and so when offered the opportunity of an early read I couldn’t pass it up. Not only do I have my review, but I also have a great extract to share with you to whet your appetites. First though, let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

SVAbout the Book

Emma’s darkest secrets are buried in the past. But the truth can’t stay hidden for long.

Emma is a loving wife, a devoted mother…and an involuntary killer. For years she’s been hiding the dead body of the teacher who seduced her as a teen.

It’s a secret that might have stayed buried if only her life had been less perfect. A promotion for Emma’s husband, Alex, means they can finally move to a bigger home with their young son. But with a buyer lined up for their old house, Emma can’t leave without destroying every last trace of her final revenge…

Returning to the shallow grave in the garden, she finds it empty. The body is gone.

Panicked, Emma confesses to her husband. But this is only the beginning. Soon, Alex will discover things about her he’ll wish he’d learned sooner. And others he’ll long to forget.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_writes @midaspr”

Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163

The second of Mandie’s reviews is a short childrens’ Christmas story, Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts

SPBMAG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Dear Santa? That’s how Tess starts her letter. You don’t have to bring me any toys this year. The only thing I want is a real gnome. Full of anticipation, Tess looks forward to the day her new friend arrives: a friend she can take everywhere, and with whom she can share everything. With Grandpa and Grandma’s help, she gets everything ready. Grandpa builds little pieces of furniture, Grandma sews a little blanket, and Tess prepares a welcome meal. And then it’s finally Christmas Eve ? Will Santa bring a real gnome?

A heartwarming picture book with wonderfully funny illustrations.

Continue reading “Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163”

Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur

It is my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for the new release from Orenda Books and Lilja Sigurdadottir, Snare. My thanks go to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this true gem of a book in just a moment, but first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

SThe Official Book Blurb

After a messy divorce, attractive young mother Sonia is struggling to provide for herself and keep custody of her son. With her back to the wall, she resorts to smuggling cocaine into Iceland, and finds herself caught up in a ruthless criminal world.

As she desperately looks for a way out of trouble, she must pit her wits against her nemesis, Bragi, a customs officer, whose years of experience frustrate her new and evermore daring strategies. Things become even more complicated when Sonia embarks on a relationship with a woman, Agla. Once a high-level bank executive, Agla is currently being prosecuted in the aftermath of the Icelandic financial crash.

Set in a Reykjavík still covered in the dust of the Eyjafjallajökull volcanic eruption, and with a dark, fast-paced and chilling plot and intriguing characters, Snare is an outstandingly original and sexy Nordic crime thriller, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur”