Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163

The second of Mandie’s reviews is a short childrens’ Christmas story, Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts

SPBMAG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Dear Santa? That’s how Tess starts her letter. You don’t have to bring me any toys this year. The only thing I want is a real gnome. Full of anticipation, Tess looks forward to the day her new friend arrives: a friend she can take everywhere, and with whom she can share everything. With Grandpa and Grandma’s help, she gets everything ready. Grandpa builds little pieces of furniture, Grandma sews a little blanket, and Tess prepares a welcome meal. And then it’s finally Christmas Eve ? Will Santa bring a real gnome?

A heartwarming picture book with wonderfully funny illustrations.

Continue reading “Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163”

Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur

It is my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for the new release from Orenda Books and Lilja Sigurdadottir, Snare. My thanks go to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this true gem of a book in just a moment, but first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

SThe Official Book Blurb

After a messy divorce, attractive young mother Sonia is struggling to provide for herself and keep custody of her son. With her back to the wall, she resorts to smuggling cocaine into Iceland, and finds herself caught up in a ruthless criminal world.

As she desperately looks for a way out of trouble, she must pit her wits against her nemesis, Bragi, a customs officer, whose years of experience frustrate her new and evermore daring strategies. Things become even more complicated when Sonia embarks on a relationship with a woman, Agla. Once a high-level bank executive, Agla is currently being prosecuted in the aftermath of the Icelandic financial crash.

Set in a Reykjavík still covered in the dust of the Eyjafjallajökull volcanic eruption, and with a dark, fast-paced and chilling plot and intriguing characters, Snare is an outstandingly original and sexy Nordic crime thriller, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @graskeggur”

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for Sue Watson’s Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, the delightfully funny and heartwarming story of Chloe and Gianni. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

SFICASCThe Official Book Blurb

Escape to the cosy little village of Appledore for hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and a second chance at love. Will this Christmas prove that miracles really can happen?

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas day, Chloe’s heart is finally on the mend as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It’s the manager of Gianni’s new seaside restaurant in Appledore, begging for Chloe’s help. Equally famous for his gold-leaf Christmas puddings and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way! It’s the last thing she wants to do, but Chloe knows she is the only one that can help.

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But as Chloe’s eyes meet Gianni’s as they tussle over a plate of turkey tartlets, could there also be a chance for new romance on the menu? 

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

Continue reading “Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Character Spotlight – Sometimes the Darkness by Will Campbell @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Sometimes the Darkness by Will Campbell. Many thanks to Rachel Gilbey of Authoright for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have a fab character spotlight to share with you, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is about.

Sometimes The DarknessThe Official Book Blurb

American Hanley Martin is troubled by his success. A wealthy aerospace industrialist, he was taught he should help others as a means of balancing the scales for his good fortune. He searches for ways to give back that will comfort his soul. 

A trip to the Paris Air Show in 1999 changes the course of Martin’s life when the head of a Catholic mission in southern Sudan tells him of the need for pilots to fly medical supplies and visiting doctors to and from their remote clinic and school in Mapuordit, which sits on the refugee trail from Darfur to Kenya. 

Sister Marie Claire, a French nun working at the Mapuordit mission, helps the Sudanese people fleeing the war in Darfur. She’s crafted a network of volunteers to save the children sold into slavery and forced to work in the country’s more prosperous cities. She needs only one additional piece to complete her plan. 

As Hanley Martin and his plane arrive at Mapuordit, she asks herself if the American may be the answer to her prayers. 

Sometimes the Darkness is the first novel by the author Will Campbell. It tells the story of two people brought together by fate and the price they pay helping a horrific war’s most vulnerable victims.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Character Spotlight – Sometimes the Darkness by Will Campbell @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000”

Review: She Did It by Mel Sherratt @writermels

Today I am thrilled to share my review of She Did It, the latest release from Mel Sherratt which is released today. Happy publication day Mel and thanks for letting me loose with an advance copy of the book. 

Before I tell you my thoughts, here is what the book is all about.

SDIThe Official Book Blurb

Work colleague. Friend. Killer. 

A successful businesswoman, Tamara enjoys her champagne lifestyle to the full. At least, that is the front she displays to the world. As well as being lonely, she’s running out of money. A promising new member of staff brings the injection of fresh blood needed to win the contract that will turn things around.

Working for Tamara is a perfect ruse for Esther. But, along with fake references and qualifications, she also has a plan for revenge. Sensing Tamara’s vulnerability, Esther uses their acquaintance as a way of getting close to someone who hurt her in the past. 

Tamara is keeping things secret. Esther has a dark side she is trying to hide. For both of them, lying is a habit. But when mistakes begin to catch up with Esther, and people start dying, Tamara realises she’s chosen the wrong person to trust as a friend.

Perfect for fans of The Girlfriend, Lies and Behind Closed Doors.

Continue reading “Review: She Did It by Mel Sherratt @writermels”