East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie once more for a review of East of India by Erica Brown as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Ellie Pilcher at Canelo for inviting us to take part in the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

EOI.jpgAbout the Book

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband’s plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don’t miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman’s determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D’Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

Continue reading “East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: End Game by Matt Johnson @Matt_Johnson_UK @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for End Game by Matt Johnson, the third and final 😦 thriller in the Robert Finlay series. My thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour and to publisher, Orenda Books for providing an advance copy of the book for review. It is a bitter sweet post as I love this series and am sad to see it end, but I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

EGAbout the Book

Robert Finlay seems to have finally left his SAS past behind him and is settled into his new career as a detective. But when the girlfriend of his former SAS colleague and close friend Kevin Jones is murdered, it’s clear that Finlay’s troubles are far from over. Jones is arrested for the killing, but soon escapes from jail, and Finlay is held responsible for the breakout.

Suspended from duty and sure he’s being framed too, our hero teams up with MI5 agent Toni Fellowes to find out who’s behind the conspiracy. Their quest soon reveals a plot that goes to the very heart of the UK’s security services. 

End Game, the final part in the critically acclaimed Robert Finlay trilogy, sees our hero in an intricately plotted and terrifyingly fast-paced race to uncover the truth and escape those who’d sooner have him dead than be exposed.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: End Game by Matt Johnson @Matt_Johnson_UK @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest release from author Mary-Jane Riley, Dark Waters and thanks to the author and publishers, Killer Reads, for inviting me to join the tour. I have a fab guest post to share on a day in the life of the series protagonist, Alex Devlin, along with my thoughts on the book. But first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

DWAbout the Book

DARK WATERS is the third crime thriller in the series featuring journalist Alex Devlin. It begins with a macabre discovery on board a pleasure cruiser on the beautiful Norfolk Broads – the decomposing bodies of two elderly men. It appears the dead men did not know each other and police suspect an internet suicide pact.

Alex’s search for the truth reveals a darker story. She finds a connection between the two men and possible links to other unexplained deaths.

As she investigates further, the stakes rise and her own family becomes embroiled in the mystery. Her inquiries lead her to the University of Cambridge. Could the roots of the puzzle lie there with a tragedy that unfolded amongst a group of carefree students many years before?

Long-buried secrets come to the surface and Alex’s life and the lives of her family are on the line. As the past and the present collide, Alex questions everything she thinks she knows about those she loves.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads”

Blog Tour: Evidence of Death by Peter Ritchie @PeterRi13759572 @bwpublishing

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Evidence of Death, the second book in the Grace Macallan series by Peter Ritchie. My thanks to Lina Langlee at Black and White Publishing for providing the book for review and inviting me to join the tour. Let’s take a look at what this book is all about.

EODWhat the blurb says:

Billy Nelson is back home in battle-scarred Belfast. But the Troubles have cut this ex-Army Loyalist hard man deep – and now that his city’s allegiances have shifted, nothing is quite the same.

An outbreak of gang violence forces Billy to move on. This time to Edinburgh, where he muscles in on the capital’s drug trade and the family who run it. As the balance of power tips, underworld rivalries between Edinburgh, Glasgow and Belfast spill out onto the streets.

With a spate of horrific incidents and a trail of victims, the pressure is mounting for Grace Macallan, new superintendent of the Crime & Counter Terrorism Directorate. Troubled by her own demons and with everyone baying for the blood of Billy Nelson and his old paramilitary contacts, can Grace hold her nerve?

Revised edition – previously published as The Shortest Days of the Year

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Evidence of Death by Peter Ritchie @PeterRi13759572 @bwpublishing”

Festive Reads: Enid Blyton’s Christmas Tales @mgriffiths163

This morning it’s two more festive reads reviewed by Mandie, starting with Enid Blyton’s Christmas Tales. These really do take on a new meaning when read with adult eyes!!

EBCT.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Enid Blyton’s timeless collection of Christmas stories – an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.

Enid Blyton’s Christmas Stories was so popular that readers asked for another collection – and here it is! Nobody captures the spirit of Christmas like Enid Blyton, and in these stories – which are perfect for reading alone or sharing – she describes the excitement of anticipating gifts, the pleasures of making special food, of singing carols, and coming together to share good times with friends and families. As ever with Blyton, there is mischief and mayhem but good always prevails in the end.

This is an entirely different set of stories to the ones included in Enid Blyton’s Christmas Stories. All stories previously appeared in magazines and anthologies from the 40s and 60s. This collection contains the original texts and is unillustrated.

The stories in this collection are:
One Christmas Eve 
All the Way to Santa Claus 
Annabelle’s Little Thimble 
A Coat for the Snowman 
The Extraordinary Christmas Tree 
On His Way Home 
Good Gracious, Santa Claus! 
No Present for Benny 
First Walk in December 
The Christmas Tree Fairy 
A Christmas Legend 
The Christmas Bicycle 
The Battle in the Toyshop 
A Grand Visitor 
The Little Carol Singer 
The Man Who Wasn’t Father Christmas 
A Christmas Wish 
He Belonged to the Family 
A Hole in her Stocking 
Christmas in the Toyshop 
They Didn’t Believe in Santa Claus! 
Bobbo’s Magic Stocking 
On Christmas Night 
Little Mrs Millikin 
Second Walk in December 
The Magic Snow-bird

Continue reading “Festive Reads: Enid Blyton’s Christmas Tales @mgriffiths163”