Book Love: Sandra Danby @SandraDanby

Book Love (1)

Today I am delighted to open up the #booklove once more to celebrate the launch of Sandra Imrie’s new book, Connectedness. Happy publication dat Sandra and thanks for visiting my blog. Here’s a little more about Sandra and her books.

About Sandra

sdSandra Danby is a proud Yorkshire woman, tennis nut and tea drinker. She believes a walk on the beach will cure most ills. Unlike Rose Haldane, the identity detective in her two novels, Ignoring Gravity and Connectedness, Sandra is not adopted.

Author links

Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Pinterest

cConnectedness

TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD, ARTIST JUSTINE TREE HAS IT ALL… BUT SHE ALWAYS HAS A SECRET THAT THREATENS TO DESTROY EVERYTHING

Justine’s art sells around the world, but does anyone truly know her? When her mother dies, she returns to her childhood home in Yorkshire where she decides to confront her past. She asks journalist Rose Haldane to find the baby she gave away when she was an art student, but only when Rose starts to ask difficult questions does Justine truly understand what she must face.

Is Justine strong enough to admit the secrets and lies of her past? To speak aloud the deeds she has hidden for 27 years, the real inspiration for her work that sells for millions of pounds. Could the truth trash her artistic reputation? Does Justine care more about her daughter, or her art? And what will she do if her daughter hates her?

This tale of art, adoption, romance and loss moves between now and the Eighties, from London’s art world to the bleak isolated cliffs of East Yorkshire and the hot orange blossom streets of Málaga, Spain.

A family mystery for fans of Maggie O’Farrell, Lucinda Riley, Tracy Rees and Rachel Hore.

About the ‘Identity Detective’ series

Rose Haldane reunites the people lost through adoption. The stories you don’t see on television shows. The difficult cases. The people who cannot be found, who are thought lost forever. Each book in the ‘Identity Detective’ series considers the viewpoint of one person trapped in this horrible dilemma. In the first book of the series, Ignoring Gravity, it is Rose’s experience we follow as an adult discovering she was adopted as a baby. Connectedness is the story of a birth mother and her longing to see her baby again. Sweet Joy, the third novel, will tell the story of a baby abandoned during The Blitz.

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

Continue reading “Book Love: Sandra Danby @SandraDanby”

Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture #blogblitz

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Cross Your Heart, the latest Jess Bishop novel from Kierney Scott. My thanks to Noelle of Bookouture for inviting me to join the tour and for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before we see what I think, let’s see what it’s all about.

cyhAbout the Book

Blinking her eyes open, she looks around the room, taking in the bed and the wardrobe full of clothes she’s never seen before. This isn’t her bedroom. Those aren’t her clothes. She begins to cry as she wonders if she’ll ever see her own home again.

Three young girls are missing. All of them cold cases. All of them forgotten. But when Detective Jess Bishop identifies a disturbing link between them, she’s determined to find out what happened, and fights to re-open their cases. 

At the scene of each abduction the kidnapper left a clue – a small bag of candy – in place of the missing child.

And then a fourth child is taken. Eight-year-old Ava is snatched from her hospital bed and when a bag of candy is found in her room, Jessica knows it’s the same kidnapper.

As the pressure to solve the case pushes Jess and her team to breaking point, Jess takes a personal risk she fears she’ll live to regret. But she has no choice.

Out of hospital, Ava can only get sicker: Jess is running out of time. Can she find Ava before it’s too late?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will have your pulse racing. Cross Your Heart is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

Continue reading “Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture #blogblitz”

Review: Class Murder by Leigh Russell @LeighRussell @noexitpress @1stMondayCrime

Okay. Yes. I admit it – this is my first Geraldine Steel novel!!! But I can guarantee it won’t be my last. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you all in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it is all about. Review spoiler alert … it’s bloody fabulous. (The book – not my review).

cmAbout the Book

With so many potential victims to choose from, there would be many deaths. He was spoiled for choice, really, but he was determined to take his time and select his targets carefully. Only by controlling his feelings could he maintain his success. He smiled to himself. If he was clever, he would never have to stop. And he was clever. He was very clever. Far too clever to be caught.

Geraldine Steel is back for her tenth case. Reunited in York with her former sergeant, Ian Peterson, she discovers that her tendency to bend the rules has consequences. The tables have turned, and now he’s the boss.

When two people are murdered, their only connection lies buried in the past. As police search for the elusive killer, another body is discovered. Pursuing her first investigation in York, Geraldine Steel struggles to solve the confusing case. How can she expose the killer, and rescue her shattered reputation, when all the witnesses are being murdered?

 

Continue reading “Review: Class Murder by Leigh Russell @LeighRussell @noexitpress @1stMondayCrime”

Author Spotlight: #RachelAbbott #ComeALittleCloser @RachelAbbott @1stMondayCrime

Now it’s not often that you can say you remember what you were doing when you first read a book by, or became aware of, a particular author. It isn’t in my case anyway. I read a lot of books to be fair – it is a not a reflection on the author or the book. Unless, of course, said book makes a particular impression on you, one which is hard to forget. That is exactly what happened to me when I picked up and read my first book by Rachel Abbott, The Back Road. Continue reading “Author Spotlight: #RachelAbbott #ComeALittleCloser @RachelAbbott @1stMondayCrime”

Review: Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @headlinepg

Today I’m delighted to share my review of Come and Find Me, the latest Marnie Rome thriller from Sarah Hilary. I’m a big fan of this series and alway looking forward to the next book. We’ll take a look at my thoughts on the book in just a moment, after we’ve seen what it’s all about.

CAFMAbout the Book

On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a sadistic inmate, sharing her secrets, whispering her worst fears, craving his attention.

DI Marnie Rome understands obsession. She’s finding it hard to give up her own addiction to a dangerous man: her foster brother, Stephen Keele. She wasn’t able to save her parents from Stephen. She lives with that guilt every day.

As the hunt for Vokey gathers pace, Marnie fears one of the women may have found him – and is about to pay the ultimate price.

Continue reading “Review: Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @headlinepg”