Review: Christmas At Carol’s by Julia Roberts @JuliaRobertsTV

Today I am delighted to be sharing with you my review of Julia Roberts’ lovely festive novella, Christmas at Carol’s. The book is released on 18th December, just in time for Christmas, and I’d like to thank the author for providing an advance copy for review. I’ll share my thoughts with you in just a moment, after we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

XmasAtCarolsCoverThe Official Book Blurb

An uplifting tale of people’s desire to help each other in the season of goodwill – a romantic comedy with a twist in the tale.

Carol fell in love with Wisteria Cottage the moment she laid eyes on it and moved in two weeks before Christmas hoping it would be start of a new more positive period in her life. 

On her first night in her new home she discovers an old Christmas card to someone called Annie with a heart-breaking message inside from Jake. 

Although she doesn’t know them, and despite being on a self-imposed dating break herself, Carol begins planning how she can bring them together, while her new neighbour, Sally, is attempting a bit of matchmaking of her own. 

Continue reading “Review: Christmas At Carol’s by Julia Roberts @JuliaRobertsTV”

#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Today, as part of the #festivereads feature I have a review of Alastair Gunn’s second Christmas based book, the fourth and latest in his DCI Antonia Hawkins series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, as soon as we’ve takne a look at what it’s all about.

CCThe Official Book Blurb

In the small village of Cold Christmas there’s a church that faces the wrong way . . . What has it to do with the three dead men found in a London flat?

DCI Antonia Hawkins has a killer to catch. Only she can’t predict what is waiting for her at the end of the chase. 

Nobody remembers the young men entering the abandoned London flat a few weeks ago. Nobody cares if they left.

Until the unbearable smell of decay.

DCI Antonia Hawkins is called in to view the dead men; three, lying neat in a row. There’s no damage to the bodies, no obvious cause of death. Is this a suicide pact? Or is that just how it’s meant to look?

If there is a link between the three very different men then Hawkins needs to find it, and fast. Because unless she does, more are going to die. And they might not all be strangers.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the CWA Short Story Anthology: Mystery Tour, published by Orenda Books. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this wonderfully mixed collection of stories in just a moment, but first up, lets take a look at the official bookish bits.

CWAThe Official Book Blurb

Crime spreads across the globe in this new collection of short stories from the Crime Writer’s Association, as a conspiracy of prominent crime authors take you on a world mystery tour.

Highlights of the trip include a treacherous cruise to French Polynesia, a horrifying trek in South Africa, a murderous train-ride across Ukraine and a vengeful killing in Mumbai. But back home in the UK, life isn’t so easy either. Dead bodies turn up on the backstreets of Glasgow, crime writers turn words into deeds at literary events, and Lady Luck seems to guide the fate of a Twickenham hood.

Showcasing the range, breadth and vitality of the contemporary crime-fiction genre, these twenty-eight chilling and unputdownable stories will take you on a trip you’ll never forget.

Contributions from:
Ann Cleeves, C.L. Taylor, Susi Holliday, Martin Edwards, Anna Mazzola, Carol Anne Davis, Cath Staincliffe, Chris Simms, Christine Poulson, Ed James, Gordon Brown, J.M. Hewitt, Judith Cutler, Julia Crouch, Kate Ellis, Kate Rhodes, Martine Bailey, Michael Stanley, Maxim Jakubowski, Paul Charles, Paul Gitsham, Peter Lovesey, Ragnar Jónasson, Sarah Rayne, Shawn Reilly Simmons, Vaseem Khan, William Ryan and William Burton McCormick

Continue reading “#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks”

#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another Christmas book, this time Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles. We’ll see what Mandie thought just as soon we we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CWTBG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it’s going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?

A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at.

Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer.

What dark secret lies in Galdys’s heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all?

Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles’ mesmerising novels . . .

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163”

Festive Reads: This Way To Christmas by Anita Bijsterbosh and Christmas Stories for Kids by Uncle Amon @mgriffiths163

More festive fun from Mandie, this time This Way To Christmas by Anita Bijsterbosh and Christmas Stories for Kids by Uncle Amon.

TWTC.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Big Bear is carrying a glass Christmas ornament. Fluffy Raccoon has a Christmas star. And Reindeer is dragging along an entire Christmas tree. But where are all the animals going?
A delightful story about forest animals celebrating Christmas together.

Continue reading “Festive Reads: This Way To Christmas by Anita Bijsterbosh and Christmas Stories for Kids by Uncle Amon @mgriffiths163”