Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK

Happy publication day to Caroline England whose debut novel, Beneath The Skin, is released today by Avon Harper Collins. I had the pleasure of meeting Caroline earlier in the year at Crime Fest where we had a good chat about book marketing and blogging. I’m not sure if I was really much help to her, but I must have sounded convincing enough because Caroline kindly took some time out of her busy schedule in the lead up to her book launch, in order to answer a few of my random, and not so random, questions…

First up, let’s take a quick look at the book.

BTSThe Official Book Blurb

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE

No-one remembers your past. But you do.

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Continue reading “Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK”

#BlogTour: Bloody Scotland: Guest post by Gordon Brown @GoJaBrown @BloodyScotland @Brownlee_Donald

BDSCT

A little over twelve months ago, I caught sight of Bloody Scotland being mentioned over on Twitter. Although I hadn’t been reading again for very long, and I was pretty much a blogging newbie (let’s be honest – I still am), having attended and loved CrimeFest it sounded right up my street. I am lucky in that my work takes me up to Scotland quite regularly, so it wasn’t much of a stretch to combine work and the festival and make a long week of it. I am so very glad I did. By Saturday afternoon I had already booked my hotel for this year and ‘persuaded’ my sister to join me.

When I was asked if I would like to be a part of the Bloody Scotland short story collection blog tour I didn’t hesitate for a second. IMHO (for all that it is worth) Bloody Scotland has to be one of the best festivals on the UK literary festival calendar, and with some of the most iconic names in Scottish crime fiction having supplied stories for this collection, how could I even think about saying no? And believe me when I say it is only ‘some’ of Scotland’s best crime authors because when it comes to our favourite of literary genres, Scottish authors absolutely bloody rock. Continue reading “#BlogTour: Bloody Scotland: Guest post by Gordon Brown @GoJaBrown @BloodyScotland @Brownlee_Donald”

#BlogTour: Behind Her Back by Jane Lythell @janelythell @HoZ_Books

It is my great pleasure to be one of two blogs rounding off the Behind Her Back blog tour today. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what the book is about.

BHBThe Official Book Blurb

Liz Lyon is a television producer and busy single mum to a teenage daughter. She works at StoryWorld, the UK’s favourite morning show. As both confidante and team leader, she is the person tasked with controlling the conflicts and tantrums that flare up off-air. Having just started dating again, she’s also having to deal with a few conflicts and tantrums at home…

Following a blissfully peaceful two-week holiday in Italy, Liz has returned to find a new colleague has joined the station. Lori Kerwell has been brought in to increase the show’s profitability. But Liz is not sure that’s the only thing on Lori’s agenda.

As Lori builds her power base with the bosses, Liz finds herself wondering what’s really going on behind her back… 

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Behind Her Back by Jane Lythell @janelythell @HoZ_Books”

Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas

Now it has been a few weeks since I listened to the audio book of Burned by Thomas Enger, the first book in the Henning Juul series. I promised myself earlier in the year after reading Cursed that I was going to catch up on all I had missed so it was fabulous to be able to find out where it all began. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in just a moment, but first, here is what it’s all about.

BurnedThe Official Book Blurb

A BRUTALISED VICTIM IN THE WILDS
A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She’s been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off.

A LONE VOICE 
Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter – by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police.

A MYSTERY IGNITED
Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think…

Continue reading “Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas”

Cover Reveal: Angela Marsons & Bookouture @WriteAngie @Bookouture

Cov Rev

Yes. You read that right. A cover reveal for Angela Marsons and Bookouture which can only really mean one thing. The news we have all been waiting for … Kim Stone book seven is nearly here and is up for preorder!!!!! I have been dying to share this all day but on pain of death have been forced to wait until now… And I’m going to make you wait a little longer too as we have not only the blurb to ooh and aah over first, but also a brilliant extract from the book as well.

Broken Bones

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable.

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what looks like a tragic abandonment turns even more sinister when a case of modern slavery is uncovered.

The two investigations bring the team into a terrifying world of human exploitation and cruelty – and a showdown that puts Kim’s life at risk as shocking secrets from her own past come to light.

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist. 

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Angela Marsons & Bookouture @WriteAngie @Bookouture”