Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over the reigns to Mandie who has finally got off her arse and read Broken Bones by Angela Marsons. Perfect timing really seeing as book eight in the series, Dying Truth, is released tomorrow. Anyone would think we’d planned it that way… If you want to be reminded of my thoughts on the book, you can see them here (or here if you want to be scared). Before we do anything else though, let’s see what the book is all about.

BBAbout the Book

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers in the Black Country are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable. 

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what at first looks like a tragic abandonment soon takes an even more sinister turn.

When another young woman goes missing, the two investigations bring the team into a terrifying, hidden world, and a showdown puts Kim’s life at risk as secrets from her own past come to light.

As Kim battles her own demons, can she stop the killer, before another life is lost?

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist.

Continue reading “Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163”

Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours

Today I’m thrilled to be joining the blog tour for Body and Soul the final Frank Elder novel from author John Harvey. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour and to the publisher for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before I tell you my thoughts on the book, let’s see what it’s all about.

basAbout the Book

From the master of British Crime Writing comes Frank Elder’s last case.

‘The heavy manacles around the girl’s wrists, perhaps not surprisingly, looked very much like the ones that had been found on the studio floor. For a moment, she had a vision of the chain to which they were attached being swung through the air, taking on force and speed before striking home.Then swung again.’

When his estranged daughter Katherine appears on his doorstep, ex-Detective Frank Elder knows that something is wrong.

Katherine has long been troubled, and Elder has always felt powerless to help her. 

But now Katherine has begun to self-destruct.

The breakdown of her affair with a controversial artist has sent her into a tailspin which culminates in murder.

And as Elder struggles to protect his daughter and prove her innocence, the terrors of the past threaten them both once more …

Continue reading “Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours”

Blue: A Memoir by John Sutherland @policecommander @mgriffiths163

Today I am delighted to hand over the blog to Mandie who has a review of Blue: A Memoir by John Sutherland. I was very fortunate to hear John Sutherland in conversation with Matt Johnson last year and I found his story to be fascinating and the discussion very relevant and moving so I am a little jealous Mandie has read this before me. Before we hear her thoughts, let’s see what the book is all about.

BlueAbout the Book

A Sunday Times top-five bestseller

‘This is a remarkable book . . . profound and deeply moving . . . It has as much to tell us about mental illness as it does about policing’ Alastair Stewart

John Sutherland joined the Met in 1992, having dreamed of being a police officer since his teens. Rising quickly through the ranks, he experienced all that is extraordinary about a life in blue: saving lives, finding the lost, comforting the broken and helping to take dangerous people off the streets. But for every case with a happy ending, there were others that ended in desperate sadness, and in 2013 John suffered a major breakdown.

Blue is his memoir of crime and calamity, of adventure and achievement, of friendship and failure, of serious illness and slow recovery. With searing honesty, it offers an immensely moving and personal insight into what it is to be a police officer in Britain today.

Continue reading “Blue: A Memoir by John Sutherland @policecommander @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all

Today I hand over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog tour for the latest in the DI Mariner series by Chris Collett, Baby Lies. Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for including us on the tour and providing the advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon s we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BLAbout the Book

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.
 
‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post
 
Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.
 
The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.
 
Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return   . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.
 
Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?
 
Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.
 
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!
 
THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry
 
But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.
 
Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.
 
 
THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
 
THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD MONEY.”
 
DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all”

#BlogTour: Bring Me Flowers by DK Hood @DKHood_Author @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be joining, and indeed rounding off, the blog tour for DK Hood’s latest Kane and Alton thriller, Bring Me Flowers. My thanks to publisher Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review and to Noelle Holten for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, but first let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

BMFAbout the Book

She didn’t know he was watching. Until it was too late.

She’d walked this path hundreds of times before, she knew every twist and turn. But today was different. She didn’t know someone was waiting for her, hidden away from view. She didn’t know this was the last time she’d walk this path.

Hidden deep in the forest, schoolgirl Felicity Parker is found carefully laid out on a rock with nothing but a freshly picked bunch of flowers next to her lifeless form. Detective Jenna Alton is called in to investigate the gruesome discovery.

With the body found just off a popular hiking route, Jenna believes the killer is a visitor to the town… until a second local girl is discovered.

Within days, Kate Bright, a school friend of Felicity’s, is found brutally murdered at the local swimming pool and once again, the killer has displayed his victim in a terrifying manner and left flowers at the scene. 

The town is gripped with fear and Jenna and her deputy, David Kane, now know that the killer is living amongst them, and that he’s picking off school girls one by one. But they don’t know who is next on the list.

As the trail goes cold, Kane and Alton are forced to sit and wait for the killer to make his next move. But now he has a new victim in his sights, and he’s looking much closer to home …

If you love Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott you’ll love this nail-biting thriller from D.K. Hood.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Bring Me Flowers by DK Hood @DKHood_Author @Bookouture”