A Fractured Winter by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @WillandWhiting #BlogTour

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for A Fractured Winter, the latest psychological thriller from author Alison Baillie. Set in a small Swiss community this is quite a tense and atmospheric read, but before we hear my full thoughts on the book, lets take a look at what it’s all about.

afwAbout the Book

A missing girl.

Threatening notes.

Sinister strangers.

Olivia’s idyllic family life in a Swiss mountain village is falling apart. She thought she’d managed to escape the past, but it’s coming back to haunt her. 

Has somebody discovered her secret – why she had to leave Scotland more than ten years ago?

What is her connection to Marie, a lonely schoolgirl in a Yorkshire seaside town, and Lucy, a student at a Scottish university?

A story of the shadows of the past, the uncertainties of the present and how you can never really know anybody.

Continue reading “A Fractured Winter by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @WillandWhiting #BlogTour”

#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK

I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for A Grand Old Time, the new novel from author Judy Leigh. With thanks to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing a guest post from Judy in just a moment, once we’ve seen what the book is all about.

AGOTAbout the Book

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store . . . because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

‘Lovely . . . a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy’ Cathy Hopkins, bestselling author of The Kicking the Bucket List

’Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life… a wonderful escapade’ Fiona Gibson, bestselling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK”

#BlogTour: Abel’s Revenge by Ross Greenwood @greenwoodross @CarolineBookBit

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Abel’s Revenge. My thanks to Caroline Vincent and Ross Greenwood for inviting me to join the tour and to the author for providing an advance copy of the book for review. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a moment after we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

ARAbout the Book

This is a story about a city. As with all others, it’s a place of violence. There are murderers, and they live among us.

This is also a tale about a couple — sometimes friends, occasionally lovers, but always partners. Dan and Olivia are fighting modern battles; the ones parents have over a lack of money, time or peace.

An escalating serial killer terrifies the streets and homes. The body count rises as their relationship crumbles. Society reveals its dark side, and no one is safe. Dan and Olivia experience this first-hand as danger closes in.

Will Abel’s reign of terror ever end?

Who will live and who will die?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Abel’s Revenge by Ross Greenwood @greenwoodross @CarolineBookBit”

#BlogTour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway @ConwayRome @KillerReads

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for A Known Evil by Aidan Conway. The first book in the Rossi and Carrara series, and set in Rome, it was great to head off to a new country and meet new characters. I’ll share my thoughts on the text with you in a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

AKEAbout the Book

A serial killer stalks the streets of Rome…

A gripping debut crime novel and the first in a groundbreaking series, from a new star in British crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.

A city on lockdown.
In the depths of a freakish winter, Rome is being torn apart by a serial killer dubbed The Carpenter intent on spreading fear and violence. Soon another woman is murdered – hammered to death and left with a cryptic message nailed to her chest.

A detective in danger.
Maverick Detective Inspectors Rossi and Carrara are assigned to the investigation. But when Rossi’s girlfriend is attacked – left in a coma in hospital – he becomes the killer’s new obsession and his own past hurtles back to haunt him.

A killer out of control.
As the body count rises, with one perfect murder on the heels of another, the case begins to spiral out of control. In a city wracked by corruption and paranoia, the question is: how much is Rossi willing to sacrifice to get to the truth?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway @ConwayRome @KillerReads”

Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan @SVaughanAuthor @1stMondayCrime @simonschusterUK

There are certain books which pique your interest from the moment you hear of them. I have to be honest, from the moment I got my mitts upon Anatomy of a Scandal at Harrogate last year, I was intrigued. Like most months though, I was also extremely busy so when I came home I filed it on my must read shelf (and by filed I mean, it was in a nice neat pile) to be read whenever I found a spare moment. Like most months, that moment never came.

When I catalogued my tbr books at Christmas it went from the ‘must read’ to the ‘must read as it’s now one of my biggest regrets not having done so earlier’ shelf. It is a book which I listed in my most anticipated reads of 2018 post just before New Year. It is a book which I have seen countless superb reviews for on social media. It is a book I really wanted to make time for. Granite Noir, or more specifically a six hour drive to Dundee for work as a precursor to GRanite Noir, gave me the excuse and the opportunity I was looking for. I downloaded the audio book (you didn’t think I would read and drive did you?) plugged in the iPhone and set on my way. And what a journey it was. But before I tell you what I thought, let’s see what the book is all about. Continue reading “Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan @SVaughanAuthor @1stMondayCrime @simonschusterUK”