Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for Sue Watson’s Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, the delightfully funny and heartwarming story of Chloe and Gianni. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

SFICASCThe Official Book Blurb

Escape to the cosy little village of Appledore for hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and a second chance at love. Will this Christmas prove that miracles really can happen?

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas day, Chloe’s heart is finally on the mend as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It’s the manager of Gianni’s new seaside restaurant in Appledore, begging for Chloe’s help. Equally famous for his gold-leaf Christmas puddings and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way! It’s the last thing she wants to do, but Chloe knows she is the only one that can help.

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But as Chloe’s eyes meet Gianni’s as they tussle over a plate of turkey tartlets, could there also be a chance for new romance on the menu? 

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

Continue reading “Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @Bookouture”

#BlogBlitz: The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for The Missing Girls, the latest Robyn Carter thriller from Carol Wyer. I ate up the first two books in the series and hanging on waiting for a new instalment is fluffing torture. This was no different but soooo worth the wait. Big thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the blog blitz. I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you all in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

TMGThe Official Book Blurb

One girl found dead. Another girl gone…

Long shadows danced on the tin walls. Inside the trunk lay Carrie Miller, wrapped in plastic, arms folded across her ribcage, lips sealed tight forever…

When a girl’s body is found at a Midlands storage unit, it is too decomposed for Detective Robyn Carterto read the signs left by the killer.

No one knows the woman in blue who rented the unit; her hire van can’t be traced. But as the leads run dry another body is uncovered. This time the killer’s distinctive mark is plain to see, and matching scratches on the first victim’s skeleton make Robyn suspect she’s searching for a serial-killer. 

As Robyn closes in on the killer’s shocking hunting ground, another girl goes missing, and this time it’s someone close to her own heart. 

Robyn can’t lose another loved one. Can she find the sickest individual she has ever faced, before it’s too late?

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture”

#BlogBlitz: The Girl Who Came Back by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @Bookouture

I am delighted to be able to share my review of The Girl Who Came Back by Kerry Wilkinson as part of the blog blitz. Thanks to Kim Nash for inviting me to take a part.

TGWCBThe Official Book Blurb

Thirteen years ago Olivia Adams went missing. Now she’s back… or is she?

When six-year-old Olivia Adams disappeared from her back garden, the small community of Stoneridge was thrown into turmoil.  How could a child vanish in the middle of a cosy English village?

Thirteen years on and Olivia is back. Her mother is convinced it’s her but not everyone is sure. If this is the missing girl, then where has she been – and what happened to her on that sunny afternoon?

If she’s an imposter, then who would be bold enough to try to fool a child’s own mother – and why?

Then there are those who would rather Olivia stayed missing. The past is the past and some secrets must remain buried. 

An absorbing and gripping psychological thriller that will have you holding your breath until the final page.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Girl Who Came Back by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @Bookouture”

Review: All The Wicked Girls by Chris Whitaker @WhittyAuthor @BonnierZaffre

First things first. A bit of blog-housekeeping. Happy publication day to Chris Whitaker as today marks the book birthday of his second novel, All The Wicked Girls.

Just how excited was I to read this book then? Well as Chris Whitaker’s debut novel Tall Oaks was my book of the year for 2016, and his brilliant creation Manny one of my favourite characters of all time, I’d say very. Super, very, muchly in fact. No pressure there then … The question is, did Mr Whitaker manage to capture my imagination in quite the same way with book two. And I’ll give you the answer in just a few moments, as soon as I’ve told you what the heck this book is all about.

ATWGThe Official Book Blurb

‘Raine sometimes complains that nothing exciting is ever gonna happen in Grace again. Daddy told her careful what you wish for.’

Everyone loves Summer Ryan. A model student and musical prodigy, she’s a ray of light in the struggling small town of Grace, Alabama – especially compared to her troubled sister, Raine. Then Summer goes missing.

Grace is already simmering, and with this new tragedy the police have their hands full keeping the peace. Only Raine throws herself into the search, supported by a most unlikely ally.

But perhaps there was always more to Summer than met the eye . . .

For fans of The Roanoke Girls and Fargo, All the Wicked Girls is a gripping crime novel with a huge heart from an exceptional talent.

Continue reading “Review: All The Wicked Girls by Chris Whitaker @WhittyAuthor @BonnierZaffre”

#BlogTour Review: Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @Bookouture

It is my great pleasure to be one of the two hosts opening the blog tour for Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson. The books is published today by Bookouture so a massive happy publication day to Kerry and thanks to Kim Nash for inviting me to take part in the tour. Before we take a look at my thoughts on the book, here is what it is all about.

TSThe Official Book Blurb

They told us he had been missing for nearly two days, that he probably drowned. They told us a lie.

Megan was ten years old when her older brother, Zac, went missing among the cliffs, caves and beaches that surround the small seaside town of Whitecliff.

A decade later and a car crash has claimed the lives of her parents.

Megan and her younger sister Chloe return to Whitecliff one summer for the first time since their brother’s disappearance. Megan says it’s to get her parents’ affairs in order. There are boxes to pack, junk to clear, a rundown cottage to sell. But that’s not the real reason.

Megan has come to confront her family’s past after receiving a postcard on the day of her parents’ funeral. It had a photograph of Whitecliff on the front and a single letter on the back.

‘Z’ is all it read.

Z for Zac.

A totally gripping psychological thriller that will have fans of Louise Jensen, The Girl on the Train and The Silent Child absolutely hooked.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @Bookouture”