Cover Reveal: Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture #TheChosenOnes

Cov Rev

Ooooh. It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in tonight’s cover reveal for the next exciting instalment in Carol Wyer’s Detective Robyn Carter series, The Chosen Ones.

I am a huge fan of the series and count it as being one of my local wonders, the setting being a mere fourteen miles from where I live. Carol Wyer has created one of my favourite Detectives and I love to hear there is a new book on the way. For those of you who have missed the series so far (why? Just why?) the first books in the series are Little Girl Lost, Secrets of the Dead, The Missing Girls and The Silent Children and you can find my reviews by clicking on the titles. Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture #TheChosenOnes”

#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Black Heart, the brand new thriller from Anna-Lou Weatherley and the first in the Dan Riley series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in just a moment after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BHThe Official Book Blurb

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: #Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Hydra the new book from Matt Wesolowski. This is a great addition to the Six Stories series, the feel of it a little darker than it’s predecessor but I have to be honest … That made me love it even more. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what this book is all about.

HThe Official Book Blurb

Before Scarfell Claw, there was Hydra…

One cold November night in 2014, in a small town in the north west of England, 26-year-old Arla Macleod bludgeoned her mother, father and younger sister to death with a hammer, in an unprovoked attack known as the ‘Macleod Massacre’.

Now incarcerated at a medium-security mental-health institution, Arla will speak to no one but Scott King, an investigative journalist, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation. King finds himself immersed in an increasingly complex case, interviewing five witnesses and Arla herself, as he questions whether Arla’s responsibility for the massacre was a diminished as her legal team made out.

As he unpicks the stories, he finds himself thrust into a world of deadly forbidden ‘games’, online trolls, and the mysterious Black-eyed Children, whose presence extends far beyond the delusions of a murderess…

Dark, chilling and gripping, Hydra is both a classic murder mystery and an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller, that shines light in places you may never, ever want to see again.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: #Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s latest Robyn Carter thriller, The Silent Children. I have very much fallen in love with this series, especially the local setting, and couldn’t wait to read this latest offering. So, just what did I think? Well I’ll tell you in moment, after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TSCAbout this Book

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture”

#FirstMonday: Q&A with Chris Whitaker @WhittyAuthor @BonnierZaffre @1stMondayCrime

I’m not going to lie. I am very much looking forward to December’s First Monday Crime panel. It looks set to be a brilliantly fun evening, and if you don’t know why then go and check out the First Monday website. Not only is there a brilliant panel, but some post panel high-jinx are also guaranteed. I am delighted to be one of the bloggers for the events and even more delighted because this month I get to do a Q&A with the author of my favourite book of 2016, Tall Oaks, Mr Chris Whitaker.


Before we find out what Chris thinks of Jaffa Cakes, let’s take a look at what his books are all about.

TOTall Oaks


Tall Oaks is an idyllic small town, until the disappearance of a young child throws the tight-knit community into crisis.

Jess Monroe, the boy’s distraught mother, is simultaneously leading the search and battling her own grief and self-destructive behaviour. Her neighbours watch on, their sympathy masking a string of dark secrets.

This is a small town where nothing is as it seems, and everyone has something to hide. And as the investigation draws towards a climax, prepare for a devastating final twist . . .

Dark, full of suspense and packed with twists, this brilliant new thriller is like nothing you’ve read before. 

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo | Waterstones

ATWGAll The Wicked Girls

For fans of Lisa Jewell, Holly Seddon and Local Girl Missing, All the Wicked Girls is a gripping thriller with a huge heart from an exceptional talent.

Everyone loves Summer Ryan. A model student and musical prodigy, she’s a ray of light in the struggling small town of Grace – especially compared to her troubled sister, Raine. Then Summer vanishes.

Raine throws herself into the investigation, aided by a most unlikely ally, but the closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous her search becomes.

And perhaps there was always more to Summer than met the eye . . .

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo | Waterstones

Continue reading “#FirstMonday: Q&A with Chris Whitaker @WhittyAuthor @BonnierZaffre @1stMondayCrime”