#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

It’s my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s blog tour stops for Liar the new twisted psychological thriller from K.L. Slater. Many thanks to Kim Nash over at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in the tour. I loved Blink, so stick with me and I’ll let you in on my thoughts on this new book in just a moment. First off, here is what the book is all about.

LThe Official Book Blurb

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t so sure…

There’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up. Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture”

#BlogTour Review: Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be one of the blog tour stops celebrating the release of Wolves in the Dark, the latest UK release in the Varg Veum series by Gunnar Staalesen. Although this is the seventh book to be translated into English, this is the first one I have read, and can I already see what a grave error I have made thus far. My hat is very much off to Don Bartlett who has done a seamless job of translating the novel.

Before I share my review with you, let’s see what this book is all about.

wolves in the dark coverThe Official Book Blurb

Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum’s life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.

When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he’s accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material … and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.

When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest – and most personal – case yet.

Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world’s foremost thriller writers.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour Review: Exquisite by Sarah Stovell

Today Jen Med’s is one of the two stops on the blog tour for Exquisite, the new psychological thriller from Sarah Stovell and Orenda Books. I’ll be sharing my review with you in just a moment, but for now, here is what the book is all about.

ExThe Official Book Blurb

Bo Luxton has it all – a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name.

Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead-end jobs and a freeloading boyfriend.

When they meet at a writers’ retreat, the chemistry is instant, and a sinister relationship develops … Or does it?

Breathlessly pacey, taut and terrifying, Exquisite is a startlingly original and unbalancing psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Exquisite by Sarah Stovell”

#BlogTour: Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski (@ConcreteKraken; @OrendaBooks)

Today it is my absolute pleasure to join the blog tour for Six Stories the brilliant debut novel by Matt Wesolowski and yet another unique find by Karen over at Orenda Books. Before I share my thoughts with you, here is what the book is about.

SIX STORIES BF AW.inddThe Official Book Blurb

One death. Six stories. Which one is true?

1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an outward bound centre. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the tight-knit group of friends who embarked on that fateful trip, and the flimsy testimony of those living nearby.

2017. Enter elusive investigative journalist Scott King, whose podcast examinations of complicated cases have rivalled the success of Serial, with his concealed identity making him a cult internet figure. In a series of six interviews, King attempts to work out how the dynamics of a group of idle teenagers conspired with the sinister legends surrounding the fell to result in Jeffries’ mysterious death. And who’s to blame … Continue reading “#BlogTour: Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski (@ConcreteKraken; @OrendaBooks)”

#BlogTour Review: Love Them and Leave Them by Sue Shepherd (@thatsueshepherd; @emmamitchellfpr)

Today I’m delighted to be able to share with you my review of Love Them and Leave Them by Sue Shepherd as part of the blog tour.

32277948The Official Book Blurb

Love Them and Leave Them: Sometimes you have to leave the one you love … sometimes you’re the one who’s left behind. The new heart-warming and heart-breaking romantic comedy from the No.1 bestselling author of Doesn’t Everyone Have a Secret?

On his way home, Ed makes a split-second decision that changes the lives of all those who love him.

Six years on, Ed’s daughter, Jessie, is stuck in a job with no prospects, her dreams never fulfilled. It will take more than her unreliable boyfriend, Chris, and temperamental best friend, Coco, to give her the confidence to get her life back on track.

But what if Ed had made another decision? It could all have been so different … Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Love Them and Leave Them by Sue Shepherd (@thatsueshepherd; @emmamitchellfpr)”