#BlogTour: Review – Long Shot by Jack Steele @JackSteele1961

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Long Shot, the new Detective Joe Stone novel from Jack Steele. Picking up not long after the end of book one, it sees Joe and the team trying to track down a terrorist who has decimated one of the Capital’s greatest landmarks. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in just a moment, but first off, here is it’s all about.

Jack Steele_V3The Official Book Blurb

Detective Joe Stone and his team investigate a major terrorist attack on one of London’s most iconic buildings. They soon draw up a list of suspects who are highly respected members of the community and government.

When most of his team is attacked, it soon develops into a war of nerves and a race against time before a deadly weapon is unleashed with horrific consequences.

 

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Review – Long Shot by Jack Steele @JackSteele1961”

Cover Reveal – E.V. Seymour & @KillerReads

Cov Rev

I am delighted to be joining the team at Killer Reads in the cover reveal for the new E.V. Seymour thriller, House of Lies. I’ll be sharing that brilliant cover with you in just a moment but first of all to wet your appetite, here is what the book is all about. Continue reading “Cover Reveal – E.V. Seymour & @KillerReads”

#BlogTour Review: Dying To Live by Michael Stanley @detectivekubu @OrendaBooks

It is my pleasure to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for the latest Detective Kubu novel, Dying to Live by Michael Stanley. I’m embarrassed to say this is the first Kubu novel I have read but I am now determined to get onto fixing that and will be tackling some of the prior books really soon. A massive thanks to Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this tour. Without further ado, here’s what it’s all about.

DTLThe Official Book Blurb

When the body of a Bushman is discovered near the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, the death is written off as an accident. But all is not as it seems. An autopsy reveals that, although he’s clearly very old, his internal organs are puzzlingly young. What’s more, an old bullet is lodged in one of his muscles … but where is the entry wound? When the body is stolen from the morgue and a local witch doctor is reported missing, Detective ‘Kubu’ Bengu gets involved. But did the witch doctor take the body to use as part of a ritual? Or was it the American anthropologist who’d befriended the old Bushman? 

As Kubu and his brilliant young colleague, Detective Samantha Khama, follow the twisting trail through a confusion of rhino-horn smugglers, foreign gangsters and drugs manufacturers, the wider and more dangerous the case seems to grow. A fresh, new slice of ‘Sunshine Noir’, Dying to Live is a classic tale of greed, corruption and ruthless thuggery, set in one of the world’s most beautiful landscapes, and featuring one of crime fiction’s most endearing and humane heroes.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Dying To Live by Michael Stanley @detectivekubu @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

It’s my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s blog tour stops for Liar the new twisted psychological thriller from K.L. Slater. Many thanks to Kim Nash over at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in the tour. I loved Blink, so stick with me and I’ll let you in on my thoughts on this new book in just a moment. First off, here is what the book is all about.

LThe Official Book Blurb

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t so sure…

There’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up. Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture”

#BlogTour Review: Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be one of the blog tour stops celebrating the release of Wolves in the Dark, the latest UK release in the Varg Veum series by Gunnar Staalesen. Although this is the seventh book to be translated into English, this is the first one I have read, and can I already see what a grave error I have made thus far. My hat is very much off to Don Bartlett who has done a seamless job of translating the novel.

Before I share my review with you, let’s see what this book is all about.

wolves in the dark coverThe Official Book Blurb

Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum’s life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.

When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he’s accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material … and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.

When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest – and most personal – case yet.

Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world’s foremost thriller writers.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen @OrendaBooks”