#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson. Somewhat of a departure for me as a) I don’t kids and b) I don’t like kids. I do however like great books so was thrilled when Kim Nash of Bookouture invited me to take part in the tour. I’ll let you know my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

TUMAbout the Book

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only expecting one child but she’s eating for at least three. Not to mention trying to juggle her nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and an infuriatingly laid-back husband. 

She used to be known for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ column. But when her boss gives her job to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes she blogs instead about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? (Even if the only thing they seem to have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…)

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they?

The Undercover Mother is a hilarious parenting page-turner that will make you laugh, cry and want to crack open the gin. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest release from author Mary-Jane Riley, Dark Waters and thanks to the author and publishers, Killer Reads, for inviting me to join the tour. I have a fab guest post to share on a day in the life of the series protagonist, Alex Devlin, along with my thoughts on the book. But first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

DWAbout the Book

DARK WATERS is the third crime thriller in the series featuring journalist Alex Devlin. It begins with a macabre discovery on board a pleasure cruiser on the beautiful Norfolk Broads – the decomposing bodies of two elderly men. It appears the dead men did not know each other and police suspect an internet suicide pact.

Alex’s search for the truth reveals a darker story. She finds a connection between the two men and possible links to other unexplained deaths.

As she investigates further, the stakes rise and her own family becomes embroiled in the mystery. Her inquiries lead her to the University of Cambridge. Could the roots of the puzzle lie there with a tragedy that unfolded amongst a group of carefree students many years before?

Long-buried secrets come to the surface and Alex’s life and the lives of her family are on the line. As the past and the present collide, Alex questions everything she thinks she knows about those she loves.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads”

Blog Tour: Evidence of Death by Peter Ritchie @PeterRi13759572 @bwpublishing

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Evidence of Death, the second book in the Grace Macallan series by Peter Ritchie. My thanks to Lina Langlee at Black and White Publishing for providing the book for review and inviting me to join the tour. Let’s take a look at what this book is all about.

EODWhat the blurb says:

Billy Nelson is back home in battle-scarred Belfast. But the Troubles have cut this ex-Army Loyalist hard man deep – and now that his city’s allegiances have shifted, nothing is quite the same.

An outbreak of gang violence forces Billy to move on. This time to Edinburgh, where he muscles in on the capital’s drug trade and the family who run it. As the balance of power tips, underworld rivalries between Edinburgh, Glasgow and Belfast spill out onto the streets.

With a spate of horrific incidents and a trail of victims, the pressure is mounting for Grace Macallan, new superintendent of the Crime & Counter Terrorism Directorate. Troubled by her own demons and with everyone baying for the blood of Billy Nelson and his old paramilitary contacts, can Grace hold her nerve?

Revised edition – previously published as The Shortest Days of the Year

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Evidence of Death by Peter Ritchie @PeterRi13759572 @bwpublishing”

Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer @KelRimmerWrites @headlinepg

Today I am delighted to be sharing my review of Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer. I’m a big fan of Kelly’s earlier novels, her last book A Mother’s Confession even reducing me to tears on a plane. In view of everyone. I’m certain the flight attendant thought I was on something. When given the opportunity to read this one early, I jumped at it and I wasn’t disappointed.

bilygAbout The Book

A mother. A baby. And an impossible choice…

A moving page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Kelly Rimmer.

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leatherbound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears…

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict – a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie’s newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

Continue reading “Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer @KelRimmerWrites @headlinepg”

Review: The Photographer by Craig Robertson @CraigRobertson_ @simonschusterUK @1stMondayCrime

One of the good things about book blogging is the opportunity to read some brilliant books ahead of publication, and also being introduced to new series and authors. I also get this from blogging for First Monday Crime, the perfect excuse to immerse myself in brilliant books each month. This month I have gotten my sticky mitts on a copy of The Photographer by Craig Robertson and what a treat it was. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what this book is all about.

TPhThe Official Book Blurb

The sergeant took some from each box and spread them around the floor so they could all see. Dozens upon dozens of them. DI Rachel Narey’s guess was that there were a few hundred in all. 


Many of them were in crowd scenes, some just sitting on a park bench or walking a dog or waiting for a bus or working in shops. They seemed to have no idea they’d been photographed.

A dawn raid on the home of a suspected rapist leads to a chilling discovery, a disturbing collection hidden under floorboards. Narey is terrified at the potential scale of what they’ve found and of what brutalities it may signal.

    When the photographs are ruled inadmissible as evidence and the man walks free from court, Narey knows she’s let down the victim she’d promised to protect and a monster is back on the streets.

    Tony Winter’s young family is under threat from internet trolls and he is determined to protect them whatever the cost. He and Narey are in a race against time to find the unknown victims of the photographer’s lens – before he strikes again.

Continue reading “Review: The Photographer by Craig Robertson @CraigRobertson_ @simonschusterUK @1stMondayCrime”