Review: Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay @XistPublishing @mgriffiths163

Way back in late August, Mandie and I had the daft idea of reading a bunch of Christmas books and reviewing them all throughout November. We would concentrate on stocking fillers for children, cosy christmas for the romantics in the room and, my personal favourite, the nightmare before Christmas, crime and thriller books with a Christmas theme. Seemed like a good idea back then but as neither of us actually likes Christmas, we probably should have known better… Still, here is the first of Mandie’s reviews, Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay.

MCLH.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

It’s Christmas Eve and Little Hoo should be sleeping. But there are so many interesting noises! Are there reindeer on the roof and elves in the kitchen? Join your favorite owl and find out in this Christmas story that will make December bedtime more fun for toddlers, preschoolers and even big kids who can’t help but believe in Christmas magic.

Continue reading “Review: Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay @XistPublishing @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh @annepenketh @joffebooks #GuestReview @mgriffiths163

Today I am handing the blog over to my guest reviewer Mandie. Mandie has a review of The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh as part of the blog tour. Thanks to publishers Joffe Books for inviting her to be included in the tour and providing an advance copy of the book for review.

Before we see Mandie’s thoughts, lets take a look at what the book is about.

Burning woman

The Official Book Blurb

DI Sam Clayton is called to a murder scene in Holt, not expecting to find his estranged sister at the scene. Her husband, Henry Lambton, has been murdered. Clayton is taken off the case and DS Julie Everett continues the investigation.

Clayton focuses on a vicious arson attack in Norwich. The fire killed a Polish family in their home. It seems to be part of a series of racist attacks connected to an extremist group.

The two crimes stretch the team and both come dangerously close to home. And can Clayton forgive his sister for what happened over twenty years ago?

In a thrilling conclusion, they race against time to prevent more attacks and get justice for their loved and not so loved ones.

THE BAD SISTER is the second in a new series of page-turning crime thrillers set in an atmospheric part of Norfolk. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Mel Sherratt, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh @annepenketh @joffebooks #GuestReview @mgriffiths163”

BlogTour: Hide and Seek by Richard Parker @BookWalter @Bookouture

It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Hide and Seek by Richard Parker. I think I hid it quite well, but I was somewhat of a fan of his last offering, Follow You, and so I was delighted when asked by Noelle from Bookouture if I’d take part in the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment but first up, here is what it’s all about.

HAS The Official Book Blurb

The sun is out. Your little boy is smiling. The next time you look… he’s gone. 

When Lana and Todd win a trip to Blue Crest Adventure Park, their four-year-old Cooper is ecstatic, but when Lana goes to meet them, Todd is out cold, and Cooper is missing.

No one stopped the man carrying the sleeping boy. The cameras don’t show where he went. Then Lana receives an anonymous message, telling her to visit a local school with a horrifying history… 

This is no random attack. Whoever took Cooper is playing a twisted game, and if Lana wants to find him, she must participate. 

What is the link between the school and her missing son? Can Lana uncover the kidnapper’s identity and save Cooper before it’s too late?

Continue reading “BlogTour: Hide and Seek by Richard Parker @BookWalter @Bookouture”

Guest Review: Follow You by Richard Parker @mgriffiths163 @BookWalter @Bookouture

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who is set to share her thoughts on the fabulous Follow You by Richard Parker (previously released as Be My Killer). In case you missed my review, here is what this book is all about.

51skNS4nrhLThe Official Book Blurb

Her eyelids were the only parts of her body she could move. The figure spoke, then retreated into the gloom. She couldn’t accept what they’d said. How could she have brought this on herself?

When an online prank goes viral and triggers a spate of gruesome murders, documentary maker Hazel Salter watches in horror. But then a new victim is found, her body bound to a pillar, and its Hazel’s childhood friend, Meredith Hickman. Hazel must find out what happened to her.

Is it one killer or more? Random, or part of a bigger plan?

The police have no leads, but Hazel has a theory – one she’ll stop at nothing to prove. With her film crew in tow, Hazel sets off for the abandoned amusement park where Meredith was found, to solve the crime, bring Meredith justice, and make the documentary of her lifetime. But as Hazel interviews the victims’ families and friends, people start disappearing.

As the death toll rises, Hazel realises someone close-by is targeting her team methodically. Can she uncover the truth before another life is lost, or will the killer get to Hazel first?

Continue reading “Guest Review: Follow You by Richard Parker @mgriffiths163 @BookWalter @Bookouture”

Review: Die Last by Tony Parsons @TonyParsonsUK

DLThe Official Book Blurb

12 DEAD GIRLS

As dawn breaks on a snowy February morning, a refrigerated lorry is found parked in the heart of London’s Chinatown. Inside, twelve women, apparently illegal immigrants, are dead from hypothermia.

13 PASSPORTS

But in the cab of the abandoned death truck, DC Max Wolfe of West End Central finds thirteen passports.

WHERE IS SHE?

The hunt for the missing woman will take Max Wolfe into the dark heart of the world of human smuggling, mass migration and 21st-century slave markets, as he is forced to ask the question that haunts our time.

What would you do for a home?

Continue reading “Review: Die Last by Tony Parsons @TonyParsonsUK”