The Dark Web by Christopher Lowery @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup

Today I’m delighted to bring you an extract from Christopher Lowery’s The Dark Web, the final book in the African Diamonds Trilogy. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about:

TDWAbout the Book

The thrilling final instalment in the gripping African Diamonds trilogy!

The tentacles of the Dark Web are tightening their grip around the world. From Moscow to Shanghai, Washington, UK, the Middle East and Europe, nowhere is beyond their reach.

When a computer scientist dies mysteriously in Dubai, Jenny Bishop’s nephew, Leo Stewart, is hired to replace him. Leo’s life is soon in danger, but he is the only person who can find the key to prevent an impending global cyber-attack. With the help of Jenny and old and new friends, he must neutralise the threat before the world’s vital services are brought to a halt in a flagrant attempt to once again redraw the borders of Europe and Asia. Can the deadly conspiracy be exposed before the world is thrust into a new Cold War?

Christopher Lowery delivers a gripping final chapter in the bestselling African Diamonds trilogy, with a thriller that is powerfully resonant of today’s global dangers, hidden behind the ever-changing technological landscape.

The perfect read for fans of Gerald Seymour, Wilbur Smith and Frederick Forsyt

Continue reading “The Dark Web by Christopher Lowery @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup”

#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK

I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for A Grand Old Time, the new novel from author Judy Leigh. With thanks to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing a guest post from Judy in just a moment, once we’ve seen what the book is all about.

AGOTAbout the Book

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store . . . because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

‘Lovely . . . a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy’ Cathy Hopkins, bestselling author of The Kicking the Bucket List

’Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life… a wonderful escapade’ Fiona Gibson, bestselling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK”

#BlogTour: Friends and Traitors by John Lawton @shotsblog @groveatlantic #johnlawton

Today I am delighted to join the blog tour for latest release from author John Lawton, Friends and Traitors. My thanks to Ayo Onatade for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

fatAbout the Book

It is 1958. Chief Superintendent Frederick Troy of Scotland Yard, newly promoted after good service during Nikita Khrushchev’s visit to Britain, is not looking forward to a Continental trip with his older brother, Rod. Rod was too vain to celebrate being fifty so instead takes his entire family on ‘the Grand Tour’ for his fifty-first birthday: Paris, Siena, Florence, Vienna, Amsterdam. Restaurants, galleries and concert halls. But Frederick Troy never gets to Amsterdam.

After a concert in Vienna he is approached by an old friend whom he has not seen for years – Guy Burgess, a spy for the Soviets, who says something extraordinary: ‘I want to come home.’ Troy dumps the problem on MI5 who send an agent to debrief Burgess – but when the man is gunned down only yards from the embassy, the whole plan unravels with alarming speed and Troy finds himself a suspect.

As he fights to prove his innocence, Troy discovers that Burgess is not the only ghost who has returned to haunt him…

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Friends and Traitors by John Lawton @shotsblog @groveatlantic #johnlawton”

#BlogTour: Manipulated Lives by HA Leuschel @HALeuschel @RaRaResources

Today I am delighted to welcome author H.A. Leuschel to Jen Med’s Book Reviews to share a guest post and extract as part of the blog tour for her book, Manipulated Lives. Before I hand over to Helene, here is what the book is all about.

MLAbout the Book

Five stories – Five Lives

Have you ever felt confused or at a loss for words in front of a spouse, colleague or parent, to the extent that you have felt inadequate or, worse, a failure? Do you ever wonder why someone close to you seems to endure humiliation without resistance?

Manipulators are everywhere. At first these devious and calculating people can be hard to spot, because that is their way. They are often masters of disguise: witty, disarming, even charming in public – tricks to snare their prey – but then they revert to their true self of being controlling and angry in private. Their main aim: to dominate and use others to satisfy their needs, with a complete lack of compassion and empathy for their victim. 

In this collection of short novellas, you meet people like you and me, intent on living happy lives, yet each of them, in one way or another, is caught up and damaged by a manipulative individual. First you meet Tess, whose past is haunted by a wrong decision, then young, successful and well-balanced Sophie, who is drawn into the life of a little boy and his troubled father. Next, there is teenage Holly, who is intent on making a better life for herself, followed by a manipulator himself, trying to make sense of his irreversible incarceration. Lastly, there is Lisa, who has to face a parent’s biggest regret. All stories highlight to what extent abusive manipulation can distort lives and threaten our very feeling of self-worth.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Manipulated Lives by HA Leuschel @HALeuschel @RaRaResources”

#BlogTour: The Pact by SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for The Pact by SE Lynes alongside fellow bloggers The Writing Garnet and damppebbles. My thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to take part in the tour and to Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

TPAbout the Book

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

The Daughter 
15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out loud. 

The Mother
Rosie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget made each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what they went through as children, and that they would protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what…

Rosie was Toni’s second chance to get things right: a happy, talented girl with her whole life ahead of her. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. 

But Rosie has plans that her mother doesn’t know about. She has dreams and ambitions – of love, of a career, of a life beyond the sheltered existence that her mother has created for her. But the secrets Rosie has been keeping have now put her life in danger. 

The Pact
In order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever. 

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Apple Tree Yard and The Sister.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Pact by SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture”