#BlogTour: The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson @RagnarJo @MichaelJBooks

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the first book in the new Hidden Iceland series from Ragnar Jónasson, The Darkness which is released into the wild today. Happy publication day Ragnar – I hope you have a great one. I’ve been a big fan of Ragnar Jónasson’s Dark Iceland series and Ari Thor, so I’ve been looking forward to reading this since pre-ordering the book about a year ago, Yep. That keen. I’ll share my thoughts in a few moments after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TDAbout the Book

A young woman is found dead on a remote Icelandic beach.

She came looking for safety, but instead she found a watery grave.

A hasty police investigation determines her death as suicide . . .

When Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir of the Reykjavik police is forced into early retirement, she is told she can investigate one last cold case of her choice – and she knows which one.

What she discovers is far darker than suicide . . . And no one is telling Hulda the whole story.

When her own colleagues try to put the brakes on her investigation, Hulda has just days to discover the truth. A truth she will risk her own life to find.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson @RagnarJo @MichaelJBooks”

Review: The Lying Kind by Alison James @AlisonJBooks @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for The Lying Kind by Alison James, book one in the new Detective Rachel Prince series. My thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll share my thoughts with you in just a moment but first, here is what the book is all about.

tlkThe Official Book Blurb

The little girl stirred and opened her eyes. A light from the landing played a shadow across her toy cupboard. It was then she realised… There was someone else in the room. 

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper has gone missing from her bedroom on a safe, suburban street. 

Her mother says her ex-husband has stolen their daughter. Lola’s father denies it was him.

Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see a thing. But someone must know where the little girl is. Who is lying? And who is telling the truth?

Detective Rachel Prince knows the longer a child is unaccounted for, the less likely they are to be found alive. 

The clock is ticking. It’s up to Rachel to find Lola Jade, before it’s too late.
And then another little girl is taken…

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a nail-bitingly tense crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

Continue reading “Review: The Lying Kind by Alison James @AlisonJBooks @Bookouture”

#FirstMonday: Q&A with Louise Jensen @Fab_fiction @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture @1stMondayCrime

This is my fourth and final post in the run up to next weeks First Monday Crime panel event at City University in London. It is the final event for 2017 but promises to be a brilliant evening with not only the usual collection of top authors in discussion, but also a post panel ‘Pitch the Audience’ event which promises to be a lot of fun. With free wine and a ‘Secret Santa’ book swap, what more could you ask for? I am totally looking forward to the evening and it’s been my pleasure to be involved in the pre-event publicity as part of the blogging team.

Another bonus of being involved is the opportunity to interview some absolutely cracking authors. Today’s guest is no exception and it’s my great pleasure to welcome author Louise Jensen to Jen Med’s to answer a few of my questions. Louise has released three books with Bookouture, the first two of which, The Sister and The Gift have recently been released in paperback by Sphere.  Continue reading “#FirstMonday: Q&A with Louise Jensen @Fab_fiction @LittleBrownUK @Bookouture @1stMondayCrime”

#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining in the blog tour for The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson. My thanks to Emily Burns at publisher Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing an extract from the book with you all, just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

The Perfect VictimThe Official Book Blurb

For fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, Corrie Jackson’s explosive new thriller will leave you questioning how far you would go for friendship. 

Charlie and Emily Swift are the Instagram-perfect couple: gorgeous, successful and in love. But then Charlie is named as the prime suspect in a gruesome murder and Emily’s world falls apart.

Desperate for answers, she turns to Charlie’s troubled best friend, London Herald journalist, Sophie Kent. Sophie knows police have the wrong man – she trusts Charlie with her life.

Then Charlie flees.

Sophie puts her reputation on the line to clear his name. But as she’s drawn deeper into Charlie and Emily’s unravelling marriage, she realises that there is nothing perfect about the Swifts.

As she begins to question Charlie’s innocence, something happens that blows the investigation – and their friendship – apart.

Now Sophie isn’t just fighting for justice, she’s fighting for her life.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre”

#BlogTour: Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @RagnarJo @Orendabooks

It is a bitter sweet moment today as I have great pleasure in joining the blog tour for Whiteout by Ragnar Jónasson, but great sadness in knowing this is the last in the Ari Thór and Dark Iceland series of books. My thanks go to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the and to the publisher, Orenda Books, for providing an advance copy for review.

WOThe Official Book Blurb

Two days before Christmas, a young woman is found dead beneath the cliffs of the deserted village of Kálfshamarvík. Did she jump, or did something more sinister take place beneath the lighthouse and the abandoned old house on the remote rocky outcrop?

With winter closing in and the snow falling relentlessly, Ari Thór Arason discovers that the victim’s mother and young sister also lost their lives in this same spot, twenty-five years earlier. As the dark history and its secrets of the village are unveiled, and the death toll begins to rise, the Siglufjordur detectives must race against the clock to find the killer, before another tragedy takes place.

Dark, chilling and complex, Whiteout is a haunting, atmospheric and stunningly plotted thriller from one of Iceland’s bestselling crime writers.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @RagnarJo @Orendabooks”