#FestiveReads: The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday @SJIHolliday @mulhollandbooks @1stMondayCrime

Today I have a review of The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday as part of my Festive Reads feature and as a lead in to the December First Monday Crime panel which will feature Ms Holliday. Two birds, one review – tidy.

TDODThe Official Book Blurb

The hunt is on for a serial killer in this thrilling festive crime novel

It looks like a regular advent calendar.

Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors…and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one.

The police hope it’s a prank. Because if it isn’t, a murderer has just surfaced – someone who’s been killing for twenty years.

But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station?

As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them…

It’s shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday @SJIHolliday @mulhollandbooks @1stMondayCrime”

Review: Mr Men & Little Miss for Grown Ups

So … I caved. I purchased the last two Mr Men and Little Miss for Grown Up books and you know what? I’m totally glad I did. They were a real hoot. The final two books are Little Miss Busy Surviving Motherhood and Mr Greedy Eats Clean to Get Lean. Here is what they are all about.

The Mr. Men have been tickling children for generations with their funny and charming antics. The Mr Men for Grown-Ups series now gives adults the chance to laugh along as the Mr Men and Little Miss try to cope with the very grown-up world around them. Featuring Roger Hargreaves classic artwork alongside hilariously funny new text.

MGMr Greedy Eats Clean to Get Lean

Mr Greedy loves to eat, but when everyone around him seems to be juicing and exercising, he decides it’s time to make some changes. Will Mr Greedy get lean with the help of his friends?

The perfect book for anyone who’s ever tried to kick start their life with a diet which promises a new improved you.

LMBLittle Miss Busy Surviving Motherhood

Little Miss Busy hadn’t always been so busy. She used to enjoy lazy weekends and leisurely lie-ins. But then she had kids. Now her life is a constant juggle of demands and pressure to be the perfect mum. How does Little Miss Busy do it?

The perfect book for anyone who has ever faced the trials and tribulations of the wonderful and exasperating world of parenthood.

Continue reading “Review: Mr Men & Little Miss for Grown Ups”

Festive Reads: Mr Men & Little Miss at Christmas – Roger Hargreaves

Now as a child, I was a massive fan of the Mr Men books as I’m sure many of you were too. I am that old, I can remember when Little Miss books were a ‘new and exciting concept’ really shaking up the Mr Men’s world. Yes – I’m ancient. Now when Mandie and I first started looking into doing a festive reads segment, we knew that Mr Men should probably feature somewhere. We figured Mr Snow was a safe bet. When I looked on Amazon though I was amazed by the sheer number of Mr Men and Little Miss Christmas books available. Needless to say, I was more than up for the challenge (?) of collecting and reading them, so here are just a few of the books available. Continue reading “Festive Reads: Mr Men & Little Miss at Christmas – Roger Hargreaves”

Review: Mr Men & Little Miss for Grown Ups

You have no idea how much I have been looking forward to getting my hands on these books. Okay, so right now I only have two of the four Mr Men for Grown Ups books, but having read them, I’ll be heading in for books three and four asap.

Mr Men & Little Miss!!! For adults!!! Such a part of my childhood but now they’ve gone adulting. Fabulous.

The Official Book Blurbs

The Mr. Men have been tickling children for generations with their funny and charming antics. The Mr Men for Grown-Ups series now gives adults the chance to laugh along as the Mr Men and Little Miss try to cope with the very grown-up world around them. Featuring Roger Hargreaves classic artwork alongside hilariously funny new text.

MHAOPMr Happy and the Office Party

Mr Happy is usually a very happy fellow. But the morning after the office party, he doesn’t feel so happy. In fact, he loses his smile. It couldn’t be that bad, could it?

The perfect book for anyone who has ever been to a work party and lived to tell the tale.

LMSGODLittle Miss Shy Goes Online Dating

Little Miss Shy likes being single and loves nothing more than staying in with a good book. But her mother feels quite differently and she reluctantly decides to give online dating a try. Will one of the Mr Men be her Mr Right?

The perfect book for anyone who has ever been part of the dating pool, reluctantly or not.

Continue reading “Review: Mr Men & Little Miss for Grown Ups”

Review: The Binding Song by Elodie Harper @ElodieITV @mulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime

Today I’m sharing my review of The Binding Song by Elodie Harper, a really haunting book set in a prison. I listened to the audio of this book on one of my recent trips up to Scotland and was immediately drawn into the story which has been described as ‘splendidly unsettling’ by none other than John Connolly. Before we hear my thoughts, let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

TBSThe Official Book Blurb

FROM THE WINNER OF THE STEPHEN KING AND GUARDIAN SHORT STORY COMPETITION.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to leave…

‘Splendidly unsettling’ John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared – along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts…

Continue reading “Review: The Binding Song by Elodie Harper @ElodieITV @mulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime”