#BlogBlitz: We’ll Always Have Christmas by Jenny Hale @jhaleauthor @Bookouture

It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for We’ll Always Have Christmas by Jenny Hale. I loved reading The Summer House earlier this year so was thrilled when Kim Nash from Bookouture invited me to take part here. And Christmas with cookies – what’s not to love right? I’ll share my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what this book is about.

WAHCmansion with The Official Book Blurb

An enchanting story about the magic of Christmas, the importance of family, and the joy of falling in love during the most romantic season of the year…

Christmas has always been a special time for Noelle Parker. Winter evenings spent with family and friends, drinking hot chocolate and eating cookies at her family’s cozy bakery have shaped her love for all things festive. But this year everything is changing…

The beloved bakery is facing closure and Noelle needs a miracle to save Christmas.

Determined to raise funds for the family business, Noelle sets about revamping the bakery while juggling a surprise new job, caring for the elderly and cantankerous William Harrington in his luxurious, sprawling mansion.

As Noelle melts the frostiness of the house with cake baking, snowball fights and glittering decorations, she helps William to reconnect with a romance that has spanned decades and unexpectedly finds herself falling for his grandson – the gorgeous but mysterious Alexander Harrington

In the countdown to Christmas, can Noelle save the bakery, reunite a family and create some magical memories of her own along the way?

Unwrap the feeling of Christmas in this beautiful novel celebrating friendship, family and love that lasts a lifetime. We’ll Always Have Christmas is the perfect treat for fans of Karen Swan, Susan Mallery and Sue Moorcroft.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: We’ll Always Have Christmas by Jenny Hale @jhaleauthor @Bookouture”

#Blogtour: Writing Diverse Characters by Lucy V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @EmmaMitchellFPR

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Lucy V Hay’s new writing guide, Writing Diverse Characters for Fiction, TV or Film. Lucy is a real advocate of diversity in writing and this book aims to help writers, new and old, find their way in navigating their way around embracing diversity and creating authentic characters in their writing.

I’ve got a great guest post to share with you on Lucy’s publication day rituals, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CoverWe’re living in a time of unprecedented diversity in produced media content, with more characters appearing who are Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME), Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT), disabled, or from other religions or classes. What’s more, these characters are increasingly appearing in genre pieces, accessible to the mainstream, instead of being hidden away in so-called ‘worthier’ pieces, as in the past.

How to Write Diverse Characters discusses issues of race, disability, sexuality and transgender people with specific reference to characterisation – not only in movies and TV, but also novel writing.

Taking in blockbuster movies such as Mad Max Fury Road, Russell T Davies’ ground-breaking TV series Cucumber and and the controversial novel Gone Girl, the book explores:

– How character role function really works

– What is the difference between stereotype and archetype?

– Why ‘trope’ does not mean what Twitter and Tumblr think it means

– How the burden of casting affects both box office and audience perception

– Why diversity is not about agendas, buzzwords or being ‘politically correct’

– What authenticity truly means and why research is so important

– Why variety is key in ensuring true diversity in characterisation

Writers have to catch up. Knowing not only what makes a ‘good’ diverse character doesn’t always cut it; they need to know what agents, publishers, producers, filmmakers and commissioners are looking for – and why. This book gives writers the tools to create three dimensional, authentic characters … who just happen to be diverse.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Writing Diverse Characters by Lucy V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @EmmaMitchellFPR”

#Booklove: CJ Harter @cj_harter

Book Love (1)

Today I’m delighted to welcome author CJ Harter to the blog to help me spread a little more #booklove. We’ll be delving into Chris’ favourite books in just a moment, but lets find out a little bit more about Chris.

About CJ Harter

colourportrait.jpg

CJ Harter has dissected human bodies in Sheffield, shushed library-users in Wigan, shared poetry in Liverpool, and organised bedbaths in Salford. Now she lives to write. First novel, psychological suspense “Rowan’s Well”, is garnering fabulous 5 star reviews. Soon-to-be-published paranormal novel “Fitful Head”, a contemporary ghost story, recently won second prize in one international novel-writing contest and has made the short-list for another. CJ has a degree in Literature and Philosophy, is mother to two adults, wife to one and slave to two tiny dogs.

Facebook | Twitter | Website

RWRowans Well

Who’s the one person you’d trust with your life? Think again.

Mark Strachan has everything: good looks, beautiful, doting wife, great job, loyal best friend… and a secret flaw that goes to his very core. A deep secret he’ll wreck lives to protect.

Mark’s life is about to change. He’s going to commit an act so shocking there’ll be no going back. Unless someone can stop him.

At Rowan’s Well, on North Yorkshire’s rugged cliffs, Mark will force his family, and best friend Will, to face the consequences of loving a man like him.

At Rowan’s Well, it’s hard to tell where love ends and hatred begins…

Continue reading “#Booklove: CJ Harter @cj_harter”

#Blogtour: Transition by Jo Huey @Joanne_Huey @EmmaMitchellFPR

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Transition by Jo Huey and my thanks go to Emma Mitchell for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have an author spotlight to share with you all in just a moment, but first of all, here is what the book is all about.

The Official Book Blurb

An autobiography of Jo’s life from the trauma and unpredictability of living in an alcoholic home, through self-development transformation to the more content, happy and successful business woman she is today.

Jo shares her many insights into alcoholism and the effects on the family. An honest and brutal account of Jo’s experience with her father’s addiction to alcohol, she shares the highs and lows of life with an absent father and busy mother.

After life hit an all-time low in adulthood she decided to turn her life around and start a journey of self-discovery. Jo transformed herself through therapy, self-help books, groups, events and more which she shares in the book.

If you have experienced the challenges of living with someone’s drinking, then you’ll relate to Jo’s experience and feel the connection with her story.

If you are interested in an inspirational and motivational story, then you won’t be disappointed. Within the book, Jo shares several techniques you’ll be able to learn and use in your life if you really want the change you seek.

Jo Huey is an inspirational & motivational speaker, coach and author.

Jo gets up every morning wanting to help those with experiences like hers, those affected by someone’s drinking. She connects the dots to form a new picture using practical tools & techniques with the aim that they would genuinely feel better about themselves and live a calmer and chaos free life.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Transition by Jo Huey @Joanne_Huey @EmmaMitchellFPR”

#BlogTour Review: The Other Twin by Lucy V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be one of the tour stops for The Other Twin by Lucy V Hay. Thanks to Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan for inviting me on the tour. I’ll be sharing my review with you all in just a moment, but right now, here is what this book is all about.

TOT coverThe Official Book Blurb

When India falls to her death from a bridge over a railway, her sister Poppy returns home to Brighton for the first time in years.

Unconvinced by official explanations, Poppy begins her own investigation into India’s death. But the deeper she digs, the closer she comes to uncovering deeply buried secrets. Could Matthew Temple, the boyfriend she abandoned, be involved? And what of his powerful and wealthy parents, and his twin sister, Ana?

Enter the mysterious and ethereal Jenny: the girl Poppy discovers after hacking into India’s laptop. What is exactly is she hiding, and what did India find out about her?

Taking the reader on a breathless ride through the winding lanes of Brighton, into its vibrant party scene and inside the homes of its well- heeled families, The Other Twin is a startling and up-to-the-minute thriller about the social-media world, where resentments and accusations are played out online, where identities are made and remade, and where there is no such thing as truth …

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: The Other Twin by Lucy V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @OrendaBooks”