#BlogTour: I Know A Secret by Tess Gerritsen @tessgerritsen @TransworldBooks

It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Tess Gerritsen’s latest Rizzoli & Isles novel, I Know a Secret. My thanks to Anne Cater and Transworld Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you all in just a moment after I have given you a little look at what the book is all about.

IKASThe Official Book Blurb

I have a secret. 
And someone wants to make sure I never tell . . . 

In a house decorated with horror movie posters, a young woman’s body is found. She lies on her bed, two bloodied objects clutched in her palm. Detective Jane Rizzoli and Forensic Pathologist Maura Isles are called to the murder scene, but even faced with this gruesome sight they are unable to identify the immediate cause of death. 

Their investigation leads them to a high-profile murder case that was seemingly solved years before. But when another body is found in horrific circumstances, the link between the two victims is clear. Was the wrong person sent to prison? Is the real killer out there right now, picking off new targets? 

One woman knows the killer is coming for her next. She’s the only one who can help Rizzoli and Isles catch him.

But she has a secret that she has to keep . . .

Continue reading “#BlogTour: I Know A Secret by Tess Gerritsen @tessgerritsen @TransworldBooks”

#Blogtour review: The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney @trisha460 @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be one of the two blogs rounding off the tour for The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney. The book is number two in the Lottie Parker series and a dark and twisted tale to boot. I’m loving this series but you can find out just how much in just a moment. First up, here’s the all important book bits.

TSGThe Official Book Blurb

The young woman standing on Lottie’s step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. ‘Help me,’ she said to Lottie. ‘Please help me.’ 

One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend. 

Could this be the same girl? 

When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.

Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim? 

The Stolen Girls is a gripping and page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “#Blogtour review: The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney @trisha460 @Bookouture”

#BlogTour Review & Give Away: The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen 83 1/4 Years Old @PenguinUKBooks

It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the wittily wonderful book, The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old. My thanks to Sam Deacon over at Penguin Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour and for introducing me to such a wonderful character in Hendrik. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, but first of all, here is a taster of what the book is all about.

TSDThe Official Book Blurb

The hilarious international bestselling novel that has had pensioners ditching their sticks and zimmers to follow the age-defying, youth inducing antics inside The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old . . .

‘Terrific. This geriatric Adrian Mole made me laugh’ Woman and Home

‘Funny and touching’ BBC Radio 4

Meet Hendrik Groen. An octogenarian in a care home who has no intention of doing what he’s told, or dying quietly. To that end, he creates the Old-But-Not-Dead Club and with his fellow members sets about living his final years with careless abandon. Such anarchism infuriates the care home director but pleases Eefje, the woman who makes Hendrik’s frail heart palpitate. If it’s never too late to have fun, then can it ever be too late to meet the love of your life?

‘So much more than just a comedy’ John Boyne

‘A story with a great deal of heart’ Graeme Simsion, The Rosie Project

‘Amusing and wickedly accurate. A handbook of resistance for our time.’ Sunday Express

‘Very funny’ Jeremy Paxman Financial Times

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review & Give Away: The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen 83 1/4 Years Old @PenguinUKBooks”

Guest Review: The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has read and reviewed The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles, published by Joffe Books.

TBKThe Official Book Blurb

A shocking discovery starts a trail of mayhem on the Cornish coast.

Alice Green is a beekeeper in the small Cornish village of Polgarrow. She lives with her pet jackdaw in a beautiful cottage not far from the sea. One evening, Alice finds something strange under the hollyhock bush in her garden. The gruesome discovery will change everyone’s lives. And then Alice’s best friend Milly disappears . . .

Detective Harriet Taylor has just transferred to the area from Edinburgh. As she investigates a series of shocking crimes, she grows close to the old beekeeper and is determined to bring the criminals to justice. But who is really what they seem and who can she trust?

A crime mystery with a touch of black humour. You’ll enjoy this fast-paced and dark unearthing of the secrets of a sleepy Cornish village.

Continue reading “Guest Review: The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”

Celebrating Authors of Colour with Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn

smitafacebook1-002

Join author Ann Girdharry as she celebrates and recognises 10 new Authors of Colour over on her web page. Today Ann has featured a review of Lola’s House by M. Evalina Galang, a non-fiction book that details the horrendous experiences of the Filipino women who were imprisoned during World War II to be used as sexual slaves. Continue reading “Celebrating Authors of Colour with Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn”