#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Today, as part of the #festivereads feature I have a review of Alastair Gunn’s second Christmas based book, the fourth and latest in his DCI Antonia Hawkins series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, as soon as we’ve takne a look at what it’s all about.

CCThe Official Book Blurb

In the small village of Cold Christmas there’s a church that faces the wrong way . . . What has it to do with the three dead men found in a London flat?

DCI Antonia Hawkins has a killer to catch. Only she can’t predict what is waiting for her at the end of the chase. 

Nobody remembers the young men entering the abandoned London flat a few weeks ago. Nobody cares if they left.

Until the unbearable smell of decay.

DCI Antonia Hawkins is called in to view the dead men; three, lying neat in a row. There’s no damage to the bodies, no obvious cause of death. Is this a suicide pact? Or is that just how it’s meant to look?

If there is a link between the three very different men then Hawkins needs to find it, and fast. Because unless she does, more are going to die. And they might not all be strangers.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”

#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Always one to try to provide a balanced approach to things, I can’t let this Christmas feature be all good news, chocolates and kisses now can I? So, in order to redress the balance, and take the blog back to more familiar ground, it’s time to take a look at some Christmas themed crime, starting with The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn.

TAKThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is coming. One body at a time. 

Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub.

One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken.

Another week brings another victim.

As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday.

When the clock strikes one . . .

A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: The Advent Killer by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”

#FestiveReads: A Christmas Wish by Erin Green @ErinGreenAuthor @Aria_Fiction

Today, as part of the Festive Reads feature, I have a review of A Christmas Wish by Erin Green, a feel good story of self discovery.

ACWThe Official Book Blurb

Flora Phillips has an excuse for every disaster in her life; she was abandoned as a new-born on a doorstep one cold autumn night, wrapped in nothing but a towel. Her philosophy is simple: if your mother doesn’t want you – who will?

Now a thirty-year-old, without a boyfriend, a career or home she figures she might as well tackle the biggest question of them all – who is she? So, whilst everyone else enjoys their Christmas Eve traditions, Flora escapes the masses and drives to the village of Pooley to seek a specific doorstep. Her doorstep.

But in Pooley she finds more than her life story. She finds friends, laughter, and perhaps even a love to last a lifetime. Because once you know where you come from, it’s so much easier to know where you’re going.

A story of redemption and love, romance and Christmas dreams-come-true, the perfect novel to snuggle up with this festive season.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: A Christmas Wish by Erin Green @ErinGreenAuthor @Aria_Fiction”

#BlogBlitz: London Noir by Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn @

London Noir Banner (1)

Today I’m delighted to be joining the #blogblitz for London Noir by Ann Girdharry, with a repost of my review, originally posted on 17th October.

LNThe Official Book Blurb

Memory loss, nightmares, the urge to kill – Sophie has it all. 

Is it really Post Traumatic Stress Disorder? Or something more sinister? Kal is about to find out… 

After a near-fatal road accident, Kal helps a young girl in trouble. 

The girl’s friends are being murdered one by one. Why? And who by? 

Kal must kick start herself out of her downward spiral to save the young stranger.

But Kal is in the grip of the London Cartel and is someone after the girl, or is the girl after someone… 

A stand-alone crime suspense thriller. The second Kal Medi book.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: London Noir by Ann Girdharry @GirdharryAnn @”

#BlogTour: Clipped Wings by Jennifer Gilmour @JenLGilmour @emmamitchellFPR

Today it’s my honour to be taking part in the blog tour for Clipped Wings by Jennifer Gilmour. I will be sharing with you an extract from the book in a short while, but it’s important that you understand what this book is all about.

CWThe Official Book Blurb

The silent chorus.

Just imagine you thought that you had met the man or woman of your dreams. This person was charming and you thought they were the one or perhaps that this was fate; it was just meant to be.

But as the months go by things start to change. Their behaviour towards you isn’t the same, they are more critical, more particular about your appearance, what you do, how you do
it, who you see. Time goes by and you feel isolated from your friends and family because that behaviour has now changed to threats, maybe violence and you feel that your identity is all but gone. But still you stay. Where would you go? Who would help you? You are not worthy.

But you are.

A group of survivors have spoken about their own experiences. In their own words they show that survivors do have a voice and that it needs to be heard. They show that abuse isn’t unique or strange but that it is, unfortunately, a surprisingly
common problem in today’s society.

The message of this book is one of courage, as with courage comes awareness and an ability to understand what has happened to you and take the steps needed to become a survivor yourself.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Clipped Wings by Jennifer Gilmour @JenLGilmour @emmamitchellFPR”