#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Stephen Edger’s latest DI Kate Matthews novel, Cold Heart. My thanks to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review and for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CHAbout the Book

It has been a week since anyone last saw fifteen-year-old Daisy, after she left her best friend’s house and started her short walk home. Detective Kate Matthews and her team have been looking for her ever since.

When a tip-off leads Kate to a disused gymnasium at Daisy’s school, she is shocked to find evidence linking to the murder of a different girl. 

Working the two cases side by side, Kate’s blood runs cold when a gift-wrapped box containing a human heart is delivered to her at the station. The heart belongs to yet another unknown victim, but the message is clear: there will be more, and Daisy could be one of them. 

When activity on Daisy’s Facebook account indicates she is still alive, the race is on for Kate and her team. Will Daisy be the killer’s next victim? Is Kate prepared to risk everything to stop another innocent life from being taken?

This absolutely unputdownable crime thriller will have fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott biting their nails long after the final twist has sunk in.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Review: Killed by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Killed by Thomas Enger, the final part in the Henning Juul series. My thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, but first of all, here is what it is all about.

KThe Official Book Blurb

Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning…

Determined to find his son’s killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man’s child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose … except his own life.

Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read. Someone will be killed. But who?

Continue reading “Review: Killed by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour: A Map Of The Dark by Karen Ellis @KatiaLief @HodderBooks @MulhollandUK

It’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the release of A Map of the Dark, the first book in a new Searchers series featuring Special Agent Elsa Myers from author Karen Ellis. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this book in a moment, as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

amotdThe Official Book Blurb

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. 

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Map Of The Dark by Karen Ellis @KatiaLief @HodderBooks @MulhollandUK”

#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Dying Day, the latest book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. My thanks go to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

DDThe Official Book Blurb

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken… 

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising? 

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge. 

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK

Happy publication day to Caroline England whose debut novel, Beneath The Skin, is released today by Avon Harper Collins. I had the pleasure of meeting Caroline earlier in the year at Crime Fest where we had a good chat about book marketing and blogging. I’m not sure if I was really much help to her, but I must have sounded convincing enough because Caroline kindly took some time out of her busy schedule in the lead up to her book launch, in order to answer a few of my random, and not so random, questions…

First up, let’s take a quick look at the book.

BTSThe Official Book Blurb

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE

No-one remembers your past. But you do.

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Continue reading “Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK”