#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Dying Day, the latest book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. My thanks go to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

DDThe Official Book Blurb

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken… 

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising? 

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge. 

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK

Happy publication day to Caroline England whose debut novel, Beneath The Skin, is released today by Avon Harper Collins. I had the pleasure of meeting Caroline earlier in the year at Crime Fest where we had a good chat about book marketing and blogging. I’m not sure if I was really much help to her, but I must have sounded convincing enough because Caroline kindly took some time out of her busy schedule in the lead up to her book launch, in order to answer a few of my random, and not so random, questions…

First up, let’s take a quick look at the book.

BTSThe Official Book Blurb

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE

No-one remembers your past. But you do.

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Continue reading “Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK”

#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over the blog to Mandie who is rounding out the blog tour for The Fourth Friend, the new novel by Joy Ellis, published by Joffe Books. We’ll be taking a look at Mandie’s review just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

9781912106868The Official Book Blurb

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Dead to Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the new release from Stephen Edger, Dead to Me, the first book in the Kate Matthews series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after I’ve shared with you all what the book is about.

Dead-To-Me-KindleThe Official Book Blurb

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague. 

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dead to Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas

Now it has been a few weeks since I listened to the audio book of Burned by Thomas Enger, the first book in the Henning Juul series. I promised myself earlier in the year after reading Cursed that I was going to catch up on all I had missed so it was fabulous to be able to find out where it all began. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in just a moment, but first, here is what it’s all about.

BurnedThe Official Book Blurb

A BRUTALISED VICTIM IN THE WILDS
A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She’s been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off.

A LONE VOICE 
Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter – by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police.

A MYSTERY IGNITED
Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think…

Continue reading “Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas”