The Retreat by Mark Edwards @mredwards #ThomasandMercer

A massive happy publication day to Mark Edwards whose latest thriller, The Retreat, sets off into the world today. I was thrilled when asked if I’d like to join the blog tour and my thanks go to publishers Thomas & Mercer for the advance copy of the book for review. I was very late to reading Mark Edwards work but was hooked by the last two novels. Love reading a ‘local’ author’s work and with this latest book set in a writer’s retreat in North Wales, I couldn’t wait to get stuck in. Here is what it’s all about.

trAbout the Book

A missing child. A desperate mother. And a house full of secrets.

Two years ago, Julia lost her family in a tragic accident. Her husband drowned trying to save their daughter, Lily, in the river near their rural home. But the little girl’s body was never found—and Julia believes Lily is somehow still alive.

Alone and broke, Julia opens her house as a writers’ retreat. One of the first guests is Lucas, a horror novelist, who becomes obsessed with finding out what happened to Lily. But within days of his arrival, the peace of the retreat is shattered by a series of eerie events.

When Lucas’s investigation leads him and Julia into the woods, they discover a dark secret—a secret that someone will do anything to protect…

What really happened that day by the river? Why was Lily never found? And who, or what, is haunting the retreat?

From the bestselling author of Follow You Home and The Magpies comes his most terrifying novel yet.

Continue reading “The Retreat by Mark Edwards @mredwards #ThomasandMercer”

#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Stephen Edger’s latest DI Kate Matthews novel, Cold Heart. My thanks to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review and for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CHAbout the Book

It has been a week since anyone last saw fifteen-year-old Daisy, after she left her best friend’s house and started her short walk home. Detective Kate Matthews and her team have been looking for her ever since.

When a tip-off leads Kate to a disused gymnasium at Daisy’s school, she is shocked to find evidence linking to the murder of a different girl. 

Working the two cases side by side, Kate’s blood runs cold when a gift-wrapped box containing a human heart is delivered to her at the station. The heart belongs to yet another unknown victim, but the message is clear: there will be more, and Daisy could be one of them. 

When activity on Daisy’s Facebook account indicates she is still alive, the race is on for Kate and her team. Will Daisy be the killer’s next victim? Is Kate prepared to risk everything to stop another innocent life from being taken?

This absolutely unputdownable crime thriller will have fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott biting their nails long after the final twist has sunk in.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Review: Killed by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Killed by Thomas Enger, the final part in the Henning Juul series. My thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, but first of all, here is what it is all about.

KThe Official Book Blurb

Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning…

Determined to find his son’s killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man’s child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose … except his own life.

Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read. Someone will be killed. But who?

Continue reading “Review: Killed by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks”

#BlogTour: A Map Of The Dark by Karen Ellis @KatiaLief @HodderBooks @MulhollandUK

It’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the release of A Map of the Dark, the first book in a new Searchers series featuring Special Agent Elsa Myers from author Karen Ellis. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this book in a moment, as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

amotdThe Official Book Blurb

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. 

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Map Of The Dark by Karen Ellis @KatiaLief @HodderBooks @MulhollandUK”

#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Dying Day, the latest book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. My thanks go to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

DDThe Official Book Blurb

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken… 

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising? 

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge. 

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”