Book Love: Sandra Danby @SandraDanby

Book Love (1)

Today I am delighted to open up the #booklove once more to celebrate the launch of Sandra Imrie’s new book, Connectedness. Happy publication dat Sandra and thanks for visiting my blog. Here’s a little more about Sandra and her books.

About Sandra

sdSandra Danby is a proud Yorkshire woman, tennis nut and tea drinker. She believes a walk on the beach will cure most ills. Unlike Rose Haldane, the identity detective in her two novels, Ignoring Gravity and Connectedness, Sandra is not adopted.

Author links

Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Pinterest

cConnectedness

TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD, ARTIST JUSTINE TREE HAS IT ALL… BUT SHE ALWAYS HAS A SECRET THAT THREATENS TO DESTROY EVERYTHING

Justine’s art sells around the world, but does anyone truly know her? When her mother dies, she returns to her childhood home in Yorkshire where she decides to confront her past. She asks journalist Rose Haldane to find the baby she gave away when she was an art student, but only when Rose starts to ask difficult questions does Justine truly understand what she must face.

Is Justine strong enough to admit the secrets and lies of her past? To speak aloud the deeds she has hidden for 27 years, the real inspiration for her work that sells for millions of pounds. Could the truth trash her artistic reputation? Does Justine care more about her daughter, or her art? And what will she do if her daughter hates her?

This tale of art, adoption, romance and loss moves between now and the Eighties, from London’s art world to the bleak isolated cliffs of East Yorkshire and the hot orange blossom streets of Málaga, Spain.

A family mystery for fans of Maggie O’Farrell, Lucinda Riley, Tracy Rees and Rachel Hore.

About the ‘Identity Detective’ series

Rose Haldane reunites the people lost through adoption. The stories you don’t see on television shows. The difficult cases. The people who cannot be found, who are thought lost forever. Each book in the ‘Identity Detective’ series considers the viewpoint of one person trapped in this horrible dilemma. In the first book of the series, Ignoring Gravity, it is Rose’s experience we follow as an adult discovering she was adopted as a baby. Connectedness is the story of a birth mother and her longing to see her baby again. Sweet Joy, the third novel, will tell the story of a baby abandoned during The Blitz.

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

Continue reading “Book Love: Sandra Danby @SandraDanby”

This Is How It Ends by Eva Dolan @eva_dolan @BloomsburyRaven

I have had this review waiting a while having listened to the audio book some time ago. Very remiss of me not to share my thoughts earlier, but better late than never. It is categorically not a reflection of the book, more my poor housekeeping when it comes to review writing. For the uninitiated, here is what the book is all about.

TIHIEAbout the Book

This is how it begins.

With a near-empty building, the inhabitants forced out of their homes by property developers.

With two women: idealistic, impassioned blogger Ella and seasoned campaigner, Molly.

With a body hidden in a lift shaft.

But how will it end?

Continue reading “This Is How It Ends by Eva Dolan @eva_dolan @BloomsburyRaven”

#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has a review of Kate Riordan’s The Stranger as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Jenny Platt at publisher Penguin Michael Joseph for inviting us to join the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

the Stranger HB jacketAbout the Book

Cornwall, 1940.

In the hushed hours of the night a woman is taken by the sea.

Was it a tragic accident? Or should the residents of Penhallow have been more careful about whom they invited in?

In the midst of war three women arrive seeking safety at Penhallow Hall.

Each is looking to escape her past.

But one of them is not there by choice.

As the threat of invasion mounts and the nightly blackouts feel longer and longer, tensions between the close-knit residents rise until dark secrets start to surface.

And no one can predict what their neighbour is capable of . . .

In a house full of strangers, who do you trust?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163”

Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare @TessaDare @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has a review fo The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare. Before we take a look at the review, let’s see what it’s all about.

TDD.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Witty, Saucy Regency Romance

‘I am a Duke. I’m not asking you to marry me. I am offering to marry you. It’s a different thing entirely.’

When the Duke of Ashbury returns from war scarred, he realises he needs an heir – which means he needs a wife! When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress visits wearing a wedding dress, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:
– They will be husband and wife by night only.
– No lights, no kissing.
– No questions about his battle scars. 
– Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.

But Emma is no pushover. She has secrets and some rules of her own:
– They will have dinner together every evening.
– With conversation.
– And teasing.
– Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…

When a girl meets a Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules…

Continue reading “Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare @TessaDare @mgriffiths163”

Guest Review: Denzyl Meyrick short stories @mgriffiths163

Today I hand the blog over to Mandie who has recently read and reviewed a series of short stories by Denzyl Meyrick.

TOT

Glasgow, 1986. Only a few months into his new job, Constable Jim Daley is walking the beat. When he is called to investigate a break-in, he finds a young woman lying dead in her squalid flat. But how and why did she die? In a race against time, Daley is seconded to the CID to help catch a serial killer, under the guidance of his new friend DC Brian Scott. But the police are not the only ones looking for the killer . . . Jim Daley tackles his first serious crime on the mean streets of Glasgow, in an investigation that will change his life for ever. This is a stunning eBook only prequel to Denzil Meyrick’s critically acclaimed, best-selling DCI Jim Daley series.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

In Two One Three we meet Jim Daley while he is still a probationary PC. Seconded to CID to help solve the murder of a young girl and catch a serial killer this is where he meets some of the characters that remain during his career. This is one of many short stories by the author and it gives you an insight to where it all began.

Daley is keen to make a good impression with his superiors but there are those within the force that are not so keen to see the young PC rise and do well. Set in the mid 80’s in Glasgow you get a feel for how things were back then. A great short read and a wonderful introduction to the world of DCI Jim Daley.

SEAbout the book

It’s 1989, and Jim Daley is now a fully-fledged detective constable, working in the heart of Glasgow. When ruthless gangster James Machie’s accountant, known as the Magician, is found stabbed to death in a multi-storey car park it’s clear all is not well within Machie’s organisation.

Meanwhile Daley’s friend and colleague DC Brian Scott has been having some problems of his own. To save his job, Scott is persuaded to revisit his past in an attempt to uncover the identity of a corrupt police officer. But there’s a problem. To do so, he must confront Machie and his cohorts. Brian Scott is soon embroiled in a deadly game of cat and mouse with his childhood friends.

As Daley seeks out his old mentor, Ian Burns, to help save his friend and find out who is telling the truth, it becomes a desperate race against time.

 Amazon UK | Amazon US

This is the 3rd short story by Denzil Meyrick that I have read but is probably the first one I should have read and I have to say I am thoroughly enjoying them. The story is set in the early years of DCI Daley’s career whilst he was still only a detective Constable in CID. The discovery of a dead body of a known associate of a local crime gang sets off a chain of events that sees one of his colleagues put in danger. Calling on the perspective of his old boss can he save his colleague and get to the bottom of what is really going on? I have to say some short stories have often left me disappointed or wanting them to be longer but the author has managed to pitch this just about right and I now look forward to reading more about DCI Daley.

DMAbout the Book

A new DCI Daley short story from bestselling Scottish crime author Denzil Meyrick. ; When a body is found in a whisky barrel, buried on Dalintober beach, it appears that a notorious local crime, committed over a century ago, has finally been solved. D.C.I. Daley discovers that, despite the passage of time, the legacy of the murder still resonates within the community, and as he tries to make sense of the case, the tortured screams of a man who died long ago echo across Kinloch.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

This is another great short story about DCI Daley and his team for fans of Denzil Meyrick and if you have yet to discover his books then this would be a great introduction to the characters. This time they have to solve the mystery of a body in a whisky barrel. Dealing with family rivalries that have continued for many years the investigation is not an easy one. During the investigations the team discover that what happened in the past may not be what everyone has believed all this time. I have to say that I absolutely love the short stories and would recommend them to anyone. I look forward to reading all the books in the DCI Daley series as you can’t help but chuckle along with some of the characters.

enapAbout the book

It’s July 1968, and redoubtable fishing-boat skipper Sandy Hoynes has his daughter’s wedding to pay for – but where are all the fish? He and the crew of the Girl Maggie come to the conclusion that a new-fangled supersonic jet which is being tested in the skies over Kinloch is scaring off the herring.

First mate Hamish, who we first met in the D.C.I. Daley novels, comes up with a cunning plan to bring the laws of nature back into balance. But as the wily crew go about their work, little do they know that they face the forces of law and order in the shape of a vindictive Fishery Officer, an Exciseman who suspects Hoynes of smuggling illicit whisky, and the local police sergeant who is about to become Hoynes’ new son-in-law.

Meyrick takes us back to the halcyon days of light-hearted Scottish fiction, following in the footsteps of Compton Mackenzie and Neil Munro, with hilarious encounters involving ghostly pipers, the US Navy and even some Russian trawlerman.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

Empty Nets and Promises is a stand-alone book that tells of a fisherman trying to make ends meet in the late 60’s whilst preparing for his daughter’s wedding. There is humour along the way and some fun misunderstandings. I found myself chuckling that at times as I had to re-read passages due to the author writing as they speak so it took me a little while to understand it. Once I did though I flew through the book. An enjoyable short story with old feuds and folklore thrown in that is not part of the DCI Daley story.