#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all

Today I hand over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog tour for the latest in the DI Mariner series by Chris Collett, Baby Lies. Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for including us on the tour and providing the advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon s we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BLAbout the Book

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.
‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post
Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.
The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.
Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return   . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.
Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?
Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry
But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.
Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all”

#BlogTour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway @ConwayRome @KillerReads

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for A Known Evil by Aidan Conway. The first book in the Rossi and Carrara series, and set in Rome, it was great to head off to a new country and meet new characters. I’ll share my thoughts on the text with you in a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

AKEAbout the Book

A serial killer stalks the streets of Rome…

A gripping debut crime novel and the first in a groundbreaking series, from a new star in British crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.

A city on lockdown.
In the depths of a freakish winter, Rome is being torn apart by a serial killer dubbed The Carpenter intent on spreading fear and violence. Soon another woman is murdered – hammered to death and left with a cryptic message nailed to her chest.

A detective in danger.
Maverick Detective Inspectors Rossi and Carrara are assigned to the investigation. But when Rossi’s girlfriend is attacked – left in a coma in hospital – he becomes the killer’s new obsession and his own past hurtles back to haunt him.

A killer out of control.
As the body count rises, with one perfect murder on the heels of another, the case begins to spiral out of control. In a city wracked by corruption and paranoia, the question is: how much is Rossi willing to sacrifice to get to the truth?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway @ConwayRome @KillerReads”

Review: The Collector by Fiona Cummins @FionaAnnCummins @panmacmillan

Today I am finally sharing my thoughts on The Collector by Fiona Cummins, the chilling sequel to one of my favoruite reads of 2017, Rattle. I have been looking forward to reading this since i bagged an early ARC at Harrogate last summer, but have put it off as long as possible to coincide with the hardback release. Well, that day is almost upon us so it felt like it was time. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book is just a moment, after we’ve taken a look at the blurb.

TCThe Official Book Blurb

Jakey escaped with his life and moved to a new town.
His rescue was a miracle but his parents know that the Collector is still out there, watching, waiting . . .

Clara, the girl he left behind, dreams of being found.
Her mother is falling apart but she will not give up hope.

The Collector has found an apprentice to take over his family’s legacy
But he can’t forget the one who got away and the detective who destroyed his dreams.

DS Etta Fitzroy must hunt him down before his obsession destroys them all.

Continue reading “Review: The Collector by Fiona Cummins @FionaAnnCummins @panmacmillan”

#BlogTour: The Feed by Nick Clark Windo @nickhdclark @headlinepg @annecater

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for The Feed the new dystopian thriller from Nick Clark Windo. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to be a part of the tour. As soon as I read the blurb I was really intrigued by the concept of this book and couldn’t wait to read it. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in just a little while, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

tfThe Official Book Blurb

THE FEED by Nick Clark Windo is a startling and timely debut which presents a world as unique and vividly imagined as STATION ELEVEN and THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS.

Tom and Kate’s daughter turns six tomorrow, and they have to tell her about sleep.
If you sleep unwatched, you could be Taken. If you are Taken, then watching won’t save you.
Nothing saves you.

Your knowledge. Your memories. Your dreams.
If all you are is on the Feed, what will you become when the Feed goes down?

For Tom and Kate, in the six years since the world collapsed, every day has been a fight for survival. And when their daughter, Bea, goes missing, they will question whether they can even trust each other anymore.

The threat is closer than they realise…

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Feed by Nick Clark Windo @nickhdclark @headlinepg @annecater”

#BlogTour: Bad Sister by Sam Carrington @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK

Today it’s my great pleasure to be rounding off the blog tour for Bad Sister by Sam Carrington. I absolutely loved Sam’s debut, Saving Sophie and so when the opportunity arose to read this one I grabbed at it. We’ll see what I thought about the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

BSThe Official Book Blurb


When flames rip through their family home, only teenager Stephanie and her younger brother escape unhurt. Brett always liked to play with fire, but now their dad is dead and someone has to pay the price.


Psychologist Connie Summers wants to help Stephanie rebuild her life. She has a new name, a young son and everything to live for. But when Stephanie receives a letter from someone she’d hoped would never find her, Connie is forced to question what really happened that night. But some truths are better left alone . . .

Gripping, tense and impossible to put down, Bad Sister will have fans of Sue Fortin, B A Paris and Linda Green hooked till the final page.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Bad Sister by Sam Carrington @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK”