#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Roxanne Bouchard’s We Were The Salt of the Sea. My thanks to Publisher Orenda Books for providing an advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

wwtsotsAbout the Book

As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots.

Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation.

On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky…

Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea”

#BlogTour: The Babysitter by Sheryl Browne @SherylBrowne @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog blitz for The Babysitter, the new release from Sheryl Browne. My thanks to Kim Nash and publisher Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the blitz and for providing an advance copy of the book for review. I’ll share my thoughts on it just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

About the Book

You trust her with your family. Would you trust her with your life?

Mark and Melissa Cain are thrilled to have found Jade, a babysitter who is brilliant with their young children. Having seen her own house burn to the ground, Jade needs them as much as they need her. Moving Jade into the family home can only be a good thing, can’t it?

As Mark works long hours as a police officer and Melissa struggles with running a business, the family become ever more reliant on their babysitter, who is only too happy to help. And as Melissa begins to slip into depression, it’s Jade who is left picking up the pieces.

But Mark soon notices things aren’t quite as they seem. Things at home feel wrong, and as Mark begins to investigate their seemingly perfect sitter, what he discovers shocks him to his core. He’s met Jade before. And now he suspects he might know what she wants …

Mark is in a race against time to protect his family. But what will he find as he goes back to his family home?

If you loved reading The Girl on the TrainBehind Closed Doors and The Sister, you’ll love the suspense of The Babysitter. This unputdownable read will have you turning the pages until way after dark.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Babysitter by Sheryl Browne @SherylBrowne @Bookouture”

Review: Lucky Ghost by Matthew Blakstad @mattblak @1stMondayCrime @HodderBooks

Okay so this review is either going to be very long or very short. Neither in a bad way, at least not from a book enjoyment point of view anyway. More from a totally absorbing and entertaining cyber-geekery perspective which means that I’m in way over my head here if I have a hope of sounding intelligent or articulate.

Some might argue situation normal then …

Let’s take a look at a the bookish stuff first huh? Continue reading “Review: Lucky Ghost by Matthew Blakstad @mattblak @1stMondayCrime @HodderBooks”

#BlogTour: #TheLastLaugh by Tracy Bloom @TracyBBloom @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog tour for The Last Laugh by Tracy Bloom. A big thank you to Kim Nash from Bookouture for inviting me to join the tour. Let’s start by taking a look at what this book is all about.

tllAbout the Book

Jenny discovers her days are numbered at the same time she discovers her husband is having an affair… 

Frankly, her life was tough enough already. Two tricky teenagers, her mother’s constant complaints, friends who aren’t up to the job and a career which has been spiralling downwards since she won ‘Sunseeker Tour Rep of the Season’ twenty years ago. 

And now this: a cheating husband and a death sentence.

Enough is enough. Jenny vows to keep both catastrophes a secret. She takes her life – and death – into her own hands and decides to live as she did when she was happiest… in 1996. She plans a spectacular 1990s themed party in place of a wake that she herself will attend. But will she be able to keep her secrets for long enough to have the party of a lifetime? 

From No. 1 bestseller Tracy Bloom, The Last Laugh is both hilarious and heartbreaking, a book about how to find happiness and live your life as though every day is your last. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and The Kicking the Bucket List. 

Continue reading “#BlogTour: #TheLastLaugh by Tracy Bloom @TracyBBloom @Bookouture”

Review: Quick Reads – Cut Off by Mark Billingham @mgriffiths163

I love the Quick Reads books – they are exactly as billed. Quick – reads. A great way to introduce authors and to encourage non readers back to the printed word. Both Mandie and I have read some of these, so we’re sharing the reviews too.

COThe Official Book Blurb

Step into a thrilling Quick Read from number one bestselling crime fiction author Mark Billingham.

It’s the moment we all fear: losing our phone, leaving us cut off from family and friends. But, for Louise, losing hers in a local café takes her somewhere much darker.

After many hours of panic, Louise is relieved when someone gets in touch offering to return the phone. From then on she is impatient to get back to normal life.

But when they meet on the beach, Louise realises you should be careful what you wish for…

If you enjoyed Cut Off, try Love Like Blood, the latest novel in the series starring Mark Billingham’s detective hero, DI Tom Thorne.

Continue reading “Review: Quick Reads – Cut Off by Mark Billingham @mgriffiths163”