Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour celebrating the release of the third in the Cathy Connolly series of books by Sam Blake, No Turning Back. My thanks to Imogen Sebba from publishers Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to join the tour. I read the first in the series, the brilliant Little Bones and so I’m delighted to be able to share with you an extract from the book, as well as my thoughts, First though, here is what it’s all about.

lbAbout the Book

For fans of Alex Barclay and Niamh O’Connor, Little Bones introduces Cathy Connolly, a bright young heroine set to take the world of crime fiction by storm.

Attending what seems to be a routine break-in, troubled Detective Garda Cathy Connolly makes a grisly discovery: an old wedding dress – and, concealed in its hem, a baby’s bones.

And then the dress’s original owner, Lavinia Grant, is found dead in a Dublin suburb.

Searching for answers, Cathy is drawn deep into a complex web of secrets and lies spun by three generations of women.

Meanwhile, a fugitive killer has already left two dead in execution style killings across the Atlantic – and now he’s in Dublin with old scores to settle. Will the team track him down before he kills again?

Struggling with her own secrets, Cathy doesn’t know dangerous – and personal – this case is about to become…

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre”

Dead Blind by Rebecca Bradley @RebeccaJBradley

I was thrilled to be invited to do an advance read of Dead Blind, the brand new standalone thriller from author Rebecca Bradley which is released into the wild today. Happy publication day Rebecca. Before we hear my thoughts on the story, let’s take a look at what it’s about.

dbAbout the Book

How do you identify a ruthless killer when you can’t even recognise your own face in a mirror? 

Returning to work following an accident, Detective Inspector Ray Patrick refuses to disclose he now lives with face blindness – an inability to recognise faces.

As Ray deceives his team he is pulled into a police operation that targets an international trade in human organs. And when he attempts to bring the organisation down, Ray is witness to a savage murder. 

But it’s a killer he will never remember.

The pressure mounts as Ray attempts to keep his secret and solve the case alone. With only his ex-wife as a confidant he feels progressively isolated.

Can he escape with his career and his life intact?

Continue reading “Dead Blind by Rebecca Bradley @RebeccaJBradley”

The Craftsman by Sharon Bolton @AuthorSJBolton @TrapezeBooks #BlogTour #BackABlogger #HeWillComeForYou

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for The Craftsman, the latest eerily dark novel from author Sharon Bolton. My thanks to publishers Trapeze for providing an advance copy of the book and to Tracy Fenton for inviting me to join the tour. Let’s take a look at what its all about.

tcAbout the Book

Devoted father or merciless killer?

His secrets are buried with him.

Florence Lovelady’s career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried…ALIVE.

Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he’s dead, and events from the past start to repeat themselves.

Did she get it wrong all those years ago? 
Or is there something much darker at play?

Continue reading “The Craftsman by Sharon Bolton @AuthorSJBolton @TrapezeBooks #BlogTour #BackABlogger #HeWillComeForYou”

A Fractured Winter by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @WillandWhiting #BlogTour

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for A Fractured Winter, the latest psychological thriller from author Alison Baillie. Set in a small Swiss community this is quite a tense and atmospheric read, but before we hear my full thoughts on the book, lets take a look at what it’s all about.

afwAbout the Book

A missing girl.

Threatening notes.

Sinister strangers.

Olivia’s idyllic family life in a Swiss mountain village is falling apart. She thought she’d managed to escape the past, but it’s coming back to haunt her. 

Has somebody discovered her secret – why she had to leave Scotland more than ten years ago?

What is her connection to Marie, a lonely schoolgirl in a Yorkshire seaside town, and Lucy, a student at a Scottish university?

A story of the shadows of the past, the uncertainties of the present and how you can never really know anybody.

Continue reading “A Fractured Winter by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @WillandWhiting #BlogTour”

The Picture – Roger Bray @rogerbray22 @rararesources

Today it is my great pleasure to bring you an extract from Roger Bray’s latest novel, The Picture. My thanks to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to join the tour. Here’s what the book is all about.

The PictureAbout the Book

A warehouse in Japan used as an emergency shelter in the aftermath of the 2011 Tsunami. A distraught, young Japanese woman in dishevelled clothes sits on a box, holding her infant daughter. Ben, a US rescue volunteer, kneels in front of her offering comfort. They hug, the baby between them. The moment turns into an hour as the woman sobs into his shoulder; mourning the loss of her husband, her home, the life she knew. A picture is taken, capturing the moment. It becomes a symbol; of help freely given and of the hope of the survivors. The faces in the picture cannot be recognised, and that is how Ben likes it. No celebrity, thanks not required.

But others believe that being identified as the person in the picture is their path to fame and fortune. Ben stands, unknowingly, in their way, but nothing a contract killing cannot fix.

Continue reading “The Picture – Roger Bray @rogerbray22 @rararesources”