Review: Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @headlinepg

Today I’m delighted to share my review of Come and Find Me, the latest Marnie Rome thriller from Sarah Hilary. I’m a big fan of this series and alway looking forward to the next book. We’ll take a look at my thoughts on the book in just a moment, after we’ve seen what it’s all about.

CAFMAbout the Book

On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a sadistic inmate, sharing her secrets, whispering her worst fears, craving his attention.

DI Marnie Rome understands obsession. She’s finding it hard to give up her own addiction to a dangerous man: her foster brother, Stephen Keele. She wasn’t able to save her parents from Stephen. She lives with that guilt every day.

As the hunt for Vokey gathers pace, Marnie fears one of the women may have found him – and is about to pay the ultimate price.

Continue reading “Review: Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @headlinepg”

Cover Reveal: Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture #TheChosenOnes

Cov Rev

Ooooh. It is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in tonight’s cover reveal for the next exciting instalment in Carol Wyer’s Detective Robyn Carter series, The Chosen Ones.

I am a huge fan of the series and count it as being one of my local wonders, the setting being a mere fourteen miles from where I live. Carol Wyer has created one of my favourite Detectives and I love to hear there is a new book on the way. For those of you who have missed the series so far (why? Just why?) the first books in the series are Little Girl Lost, Secrets of the Dead, The Missing Girls and The Silent Children and you can find my reviews by clicking on the titles. Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture #TheChosenOnes”

#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson. Somewhat of a departure for me as a) I don’t kids and b) I don’t like kids. I do however like great books so was thrilled when Kim Nash of Bookouture invited me to take part in the tour. I’ll let you know my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

TUMAbout the Book

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only expecting one child but she’s eating for at least three. Not to mention trying to juggle her nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and an infuriatingly laid-back husband. 

She used to be known for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ column. But when her boss gives her job to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes she blogs instead about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? (Even if the only thing they seem to have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…)

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they?

The Undercover Mother is a hilarious parenting page-turner that will make you laugh, cry and want to crack open the gin. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest release from author Mary-Jane Riley, Dark Waters and thanks to the author and publishers, Killer Reads, for inviting me to join the tour. I have a fab guest post to share on a day in the life of the series protagonist, Alex Devlin, along with my thoughts on the book. But first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

DWAbout the Book

DARK WATERS is the third crime thriller in the series featuring journalist Alex Devlin. It begins with a macabre discovery on board a pleasure cruiser on the beautiful Norfolk Broads – the decomposing bodies of two elderly men. It appears the dead men did not know each other and police suspect an internet suicide pact.

Alex’s search for the truth reveals a darker story. She finds a connection between the two men and possible links to other unexplained deaths.

As she investigates further, the stakes rise and her own family becomes embroiled in the mystery. Her inquiries lead her to the University of Cambridge. Could the roots of the puzzle lie there with a tragedy that unfolded amongst a group of carefree students many years before?

Long-buried secrets come to the surface and Alex’s life and the lives of her family are on the line. As the past and the present collide, Alex questions everything she thinks she knows about those she loves.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads”

#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Roxanne Bouchard’s We Were The Salt of the Sea. My thanks to Publisher Orenda Books for providing an advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

wwtsotsAbout the Book

As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots.

Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation.

On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky…

Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea”