Review: Christmas At Carol’s by Julia Roberts @JuliaRobertsTV

Today I am delighted to be sharing with you my review of Julia Roberts’ lovely festive novella, Christmas at Carol’s. The book is released on 18th December, just in time for Christmas, and I’d like to thank the author for providing an advance copy for review. I’ll share my thoughts with you in just a moment, after we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

XmasAtCarolsCoverThe Official Book Blurb

An uplifting tale of people’s desire to help each other in the season of goodwill – a romantic comedy with a twist in the tale.

Carol fell in love with Wisteria Cottage the moment she laid eyes on it and moved in two weeks before Christmas hoping it would be start of a new more positive period in her life. 

On her first night in her new home she discovers an old Christmas card to someone called Annie with a heart-breaking message inside from Jake. 

Although she doesn’t know them, and despite being on a self-imposed dating break herself, Carol begins planning how she can bring them together, while her new neighbour, Sally, is attempting a bit of matchmaking of her own. 

Continue reading “Review: Christmas At Carol’s by Julia Roberts @JuliaRobertsTV”

Review: My Sweet Friend by H.A. Leuschel @HALeuschel

Today it’s my great pleasure to be reviewing the new release from author H.A. Leuschel, My Sweet Friend. Here is what this novella is all about.

41ltoxtRIQLThe Official Book Blurb

A stand-alone novella from the author of Manipulated Lives

A perfect friend … or a perfect impostor?

Alexa is an energetic and charismatic professional and the new member of a Parisian PR company where she quickly befriends her colleagues Rosie and Jack. She brings a much-needed breath of fresh air into the office and ambitiously throws herself into her new job and friendships. 

But is Alexa all she claims to be? 

As her life intertwines with Rosie and Jack’s, they must all decide what separates truth from fiction. Will the stories that unfold unite or divide them? Can first impressions ever be trusted?

In this original novella, H.A. Leuschel evokes the powerful hold of appearances and what a person is prepared to do to keep up the facade. If you like thought-provoking and compelling reads with intriguing characters, My Sweet Friend is for you.

Continue reading “Review: My Sweet Friend by H.A. Leuschel @HALeuschel”

#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another Christmas book, this time Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles. We’ll see what Mandie thought just as soon we we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CWTBG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it’s going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?

A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at.

Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer.

What dark secret lies in Galdys’s heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all?

Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles’ mesmerising novels . . .

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: The Future Can’t Wait by Angelena Boden @AngelenaBoden @urbanebooks

Today it’s my pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for The Future Can’t Wait by Angelena Boden. Thanks go to Abby Fairbrother and publisher Urbane for inviting me to be a part of the tour.

TFCWThe Official Book Blurb

The Future Can’t Wait is the emotive and compelling second novel from Angelena Boden, author of the gripping The Cruelty of Lambs.

Kendra Blackmore is trying to be a good mother and a good wife, as well as pursuing her pressurised teaching career. Then Kendra’s half-Iranian daughter Ariana (Rani) undergoes an identity crisis which results in her running away from home and cutting off all contact with her family. 

Sick with worry and desperate to understand why her home-loving daughter would do this, Kendra becomes increasingly desperate for answers – and to find any way possible to discover the truth and bring her estranged daughter home…

The Future Can’t Wait is a gripping story of a mother’s love, and the lengths we would all go to in order to know our children are safe.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Future Can’t Wait by Angelena Boden @AngelenaBoden @urbanebooks”

#FestiveReads: A Christmas Wish by Erin Green @ErinGreenAuthor @Aria_Fiction

Today, as part of the Festive Reads feature, I have a review of A Christmas Wish by Erin Green, a feel good story of self discovery.

ACWThe Official Book Blurb

Flora Phillips has an excuse for every disaster in her life; she was abandoned as a new-born on a doorstep one cold autumn night, wrapped in nothing but a towel. Her philosophy is simple: if your mother doesn’t want you – who will?

Now a thirty-year-old, without a boyfriend, a career or home she figures she might as well tackle the biggest question of them all – who is she? So, whilst everyone else enjoys their Christmas Eve traditions, Flora escapes the masses and drives to the village of Pooley to seek a specific doorstep. Her doorstep.

But in Pooley she finds more than her life story. She finds friends, laughter, and perhaps even a love to last a lifetime. Because once you know where you come from, it’s so much easier to know where you’re going.

A story of redemption and love, romance and Christmas dreams-come-true, the perfect novel to snuggle up with this festive season.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: A Christmas Wish by Erin Green @ErinGreenAuthor @Aria_Fiction”