Review: Got Ghosts by Fiona Glass @F_Glass_Author

Today I have a review of Got Ghosts, a spooky little novella from author Fiona Glass. My thanks to the author who provided a copy of the book fore review. Let’s take a quick look at what it’s all about.

GGAbout the Book

Haunted manor house Greystones Hall is filled to the brim with ghosts. It’s also falling to bits, and artist owner Emily doesn’t have the money to refurbish the place. When the makers of hit tv show ‘Got Ghosts?’ offer to pay for a weekend’s filming there she jumps at the chance, even though she and her ghostly grandfather Gramps have reservations. The reservations seem to be misplaced when the film crew swing into action, and producer Carl turns out to be dark, handsome and very available.

But Emily soon starts to have doubts about the methods they use, which Carl won’t discuss. Then the show’s resident medium Stella stirs up a new and malevolent spirit, revealing a dark secret at the heart of the house that has been hidden for centuries. And when Emily’s own safety is threatened, together with that of her ghosts and her beloved Gramps, will it be Carl who comes to the rescue, or someone much more unexpected?

Continue reading “Review: Got Ghosts by Fiona Glass @F_Glass_Author”

#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK

I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for A Grand Old Time, the new novel from author Judy Leigh. With thanks to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing a guest post from Judy in just a moment, once we’ve seen what the book is all about.

AGOTAbout the Book

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store . . . because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

‘Lovely . . . a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy’ Cathy Hopkins, bestselling author of The Kicking the Bucket List

’Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life… a wonderful escapade’ Fiona Gibson, bestselling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

Continue reading “#BlogTour: A Grand Old Time by Judy Leigh @JudyLeighWriter @AvonBooksUK”

Guest Review: Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins @CathyHopkins1 @HarperCollinsUK @mgriffiths163

Today, Mandie takes over the blog again with a review of Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins. We’ll see what Mandie thought in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

DOTHThe Official Book Blurb

The hilarious and poignant new novel from the best selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List.

When a boxset of Broadchurch is more appealing than having sex with your husband, then perhaps it’s time to hide the remote…

Cait and Matt have been married for 30 years. They are rock solid. An inspiration to others. Stuck together like glue. But Cait can’t shake off the feeling that something is missing. The whole world should be their oyster now that Matt has retired, so why does she feel shut up like a clam?

Things get more complicated when Tom Lewis, the man who broke her heart at university, makes a reappearance – still as charming as ever. Her friends, widow Lorna and newly-single Debs, have their own views of what Cait should do – but she isn’t in the mood to listen.

When Tom makes Cait an unexpected offer, Cait feels the pull of a different life. Has she got the guts to take the plunge, or does it take more courage to give her marriage another chance?

Funny and thoughtful, this is a book for anyone who ever wondered . . . what if?

Continue reading “Guest Review: Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins @CathyHopkins1 @HarperCollinsUK @mgriffiths163”

Blog Tour: On The Bright Side – Hendrik Groen

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for On The Bright Side by Hendrik Groen. I loved reading Hendrik’s first diary and couldn’t resist when invited to take a look at this ‘new’ secret diary. A massive thanks to Sam Deacon for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in a moment after we have taken a look at what the book is all about.

OTBSThe Official Book Blurb

‘A funny but also touching diary praised for its wit and realism’ BBC Radio 4 Front Row

The Old-But-Not-Dead Club return, in the sequel to the INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old, bringing with them some life-affirming lawlessness.

Chaos will ensue as 85-year-old Hendrik Groen is determined to grow old with dignity: to rise up against the care home director. NO more bingo. NO more over- boiled vegetables. NO more health and safety.

85-year-old Hendrik Groen is fed up to his false teeth with coffee mornings and bingo. He dreams of escaping the confines of his care home and practising hairpin turns on his mobility scooter. Inspired by his fellow members of the recently formed Old-But-Not-Dead Club, he vows to put down his custard cream and commit to a spot of octogenarian anarchy.

But the care home’s Director will not stand for drunken bar crawls, illicit fireworks and geriatric romance on her watch. The Old-But-Not-Dead Club must stick together if they’re not to go gently into that good night. Things turn more serious, however, when rumours surface that the home is set for demolition. It’s up to Hendrik and the gang to stop it – or drop dead trying . . .

He may be the wrong side of 85, but Hendrik Groen has no intention of slowing up – or going down without a fight.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: On The Bright Side – Hendrik Groen”

#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks

Today I’m continuing my #festivereads feature by sharing my review of Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost, a lovely cosy Christmas murder mystery. I’ll tell you my thoughts on the book as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

TSOCThe Official Book Blurb

When Holly White’s fiancé cancels their Christmas Eve wedding with less than two weeks to go, Holly heads home with a broken heart. Lucky for her, home in historic Mistletoe, Maine is magical during Christmastime—exactly what the doctor prescribed. Except her plan to drown her troubles in peppermints and snickerdoodles is upended when local grouch and president of the Mistletoe Historical Society Margaret Fenwick is bludgeoned and left in the sleigh display at Reindeer Games, Holly’s family tree farm.

When the murder weapon is revealed as one of the wooden stakes used to identify trees on the farm, Sheriff Evan Grey turns to Holly’s father, Bud, and the Reindeer Games staff. And it doesn’t help that Bud and the reindeer keeper were each seen arguing with Margaret just before her death. But Holly knows her father, and is determined to exonerate him.The jingle bells are ringing, the clock is ticking, and if Holly doesn’t watch out, she’ll end up on Santa’s naughty list in Twelve Slays of Christmas, Jacqueline Frost’s jolly series debut.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks”