East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie once more for a review of East of India by Erica Brown as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Ellie Pilcher at Canelo for inviting us to take part in the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

EOI.jpgAbout the Book

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband’s plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don’t miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman’s determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D’Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

Continue reading “East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has a review of Kate Riordan’s The Stranger as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Jenny Platt at publisher Penguin Michael Joseph for inviting us to join the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

the Stranger HB jacketAbout the Book

Cornwall, 1940.

In the hushed hours of the night a woman is taken by the sea.

Was it a tragic accident? Or should the residents of Penhallow have been more careful about whom they invited in?

In the midst of war three women arrive seeking safety at Penhallow Hall.

Each is looking to escape her past.

But one of them is not there by choice.

As the threat of invasion mounts and the nightly blackouts feel longer and longer, tensions between the close-knit residents rise until dark secrets start to surface.

And no one can predict what their neighbour is capable of . . .

In a house full of strangers, who do you trust?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163”

#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another Christmas book, this time Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles. We’ll see what Mandie thought just as soon we we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CWTBG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it’s going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?

A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at.

Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer.

What dark secret lies in Galdys’s heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all?

Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles’ mesmerising novels . . .

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163”

#GuestReview: Another You by Jane Cable @JaneCable @EndeavourPress @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie who has a review of Another You by Jane Cable.  Thanks to the author who provided a copy of the book for review. Here is what this book is all about.

AYThe Official Book Blurb

Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself…

Marie Johnson is trapped by her job as a chef in a Dorset pub and by her increasingly poisonous marriage to its landlord.

Worn down by his string of affairs she has no self-confidence, no self-respect and the only thing that keeps her going is watching her son, Jude, turn into a talented artist.

But the 60th anniversary of a D-Day exercise triggers chance meetings which prove unlikely catalysts for change.

First there’s Corbin, the American soldier who she runs into as she’s walking on the cliffs. He is charming and has a quaintness about him, calling her an ‘English rose’.

Then there’s George the war veteran, who comes to dine at the pub, and his son Mark. George fascinates Marie with his first-hand accounts of the war, whilst Mark proves helpful in making sense of the pub’s financial situation.

And there’s Paxton. Another American soldier with an uncanny resemblance to Corbin. Young, fit and very attractive, Marie finds him hard to resist. But little does she know Paxton is also battling some inner demons. As the heat of the summer intensifies, so do the issues in Marie’s life.

Why is Corbin so elusive? Why is the pub struggling to make ends meet? Why has Jude suddenly become so withdrawn and unhappy? Can she help Paxton open up and begin to deal with his pain? Or will she be shackled to the pub and her increasingly spiteful husband forever?

But as events unfold, Marie finally realises that she is not trapped, but stuck, and that it is down to her to get her life moving again.

Perfectly blending the complexities of twenty-first century life with the dramatic history of World War Two, Another You is a charming tale that will warm your heart.

Continue reading “#GuestReview: Another You by Jane Cable @JaneCable @EndeavourPress @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Review – Hunting The Hangman by Howard Linskey @HowardLinskey @NoExitPress

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Hunting the Hangman by Howard Linskey. Now this is not your typical crime or thriller novel in that it is a fictionalised account of an actual event in World War II. I wasn’t really sure when I began reading this just how I would go about reviewing it, and in truth I am not entirely sure as I write this now, but before I start, here is what the book is all about.

HTH

TWO MEN. . . ONE MISSION. . . TO KILL THE MAN WITH THE IRON HEART

Bestselling author Howard Linskey’s fifteen year fascination with the assassination attempt on Reinhard Heydrich, the architect of the holocaust, has produced a meticulously researched, historically accurate thriller with a plot that echoes The Day of the Jackal and The Eagle has Landed.

2017 marks the 75th anniversary of the attack on a man so evil even fellow SS officers referred to him as the ‘Blond Beast’. In Prague he was known as the Hangman. Hitler, who called him ‘The Man with the Iron Heart’, considered Heydrich to be his heir, and entrusted him with the implementation of the ‘Final Solution’ to the Jewish question: the systematic murder of eleven million people.

In 1942 two men were trained by the British SOE to parachute back into their native Czech territory to kill the man ruling their homeland. Jan Kubis and Josef Gabcik risked everything for their country. Their attempt on Reinhard Heydrich’s life was one of the single most dramatic events of the Second World War, with horrific consequences for thousands of innocent people.

Hunting the Hangman is a tale of courage, resilience and betrayal with a devastating finale. Based on true events, the story reads like a classic World War Two thriller and is the subject of two big-budget Hollywood films that coincide with the anniversary of Operation Anthropoid.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Review – Hunting The Hangman by Howard Linskey @HowardLinskey @NoExitPress”