East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie once more for a review of East of India by Erica Brown as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Ellie Pilcher at Canelo for inviting us to take part in the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

EOI.jpgAbout the Book

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband’s plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don’t miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman’s determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D’Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

Continue reading “East of India by Erica Brown @baywriterallat1 @canelo_co @mgriffiths163”

Cover Reveal: The Picture – Roger Bray @rogerbray22 @rararesources

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the cover reveal for The Picture the latest novel from author Roger Bray. Before we take a look at the cover, let’s see what it is all about.

A warehouse in Japan used as an emergency shelter in the aftermath of the 2011 Tsunami. A distraught, young Japanese woman in dishevelled clothes sits on a box, holding her infant daughter. Ben, a US rescue volunteer, kneels in front of her offering comfort. They hug, the baby between them. The moment turns into an hour as the woman sobs into his shoulder; mourning the loss of her husband, her home, the life she knew. A picture is taken, capturing the moment. It becomes a symbol; of help freely given and of the hope of the survivors. The faces in the picture cannot be recognised, and that is how Ben likes it. No celebrity, thanks not required.

But others believe that being identified as the person in the picture is their path to fame and fortune. Ben stands, unknowingly, in their way, but nothing a contract killing cannot fix.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: The Picture – Roger Bray @rogerbray22 @rararesources”

#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has a review of Kate Riordan’s The Stranger as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Jenny Platt at publisher Penguin Michael Joseph for inviting us to join the tour and for providing an advance copy for review. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

the Stranger HB jacketAbout the Book

Cornwall, 1940.

In the hushed hours of the night a woman is taken by the sea.

Was it a tragic accident? Or should the residents of Penhallow have been more careful about whom they invited in?

In the midst of war three women arrive seeking safety at Penhallow Hall.

Each is looking to escape her past.

But one of them is not there by choice.

As the threat of invasion mounts and the nightly blackouts feel longer and longer, tensions between the close-knit residents rise until dark secrets start to surface.

And no one can predict what their neighbour is capable of . . .

In a house full of strangers, who do you trust?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Stranger by Kate Riordan @KateRiordanUK @MichaelJBooks @MGriffiths163”

Blog Tour: Secret Demon 2 by CL Ryan (@Authoright)

It’s my pleasure to be able to bring to you an extract of Secret Demon 2 by CL Ryan as part of the blog tour.

secret-demon-2-coverThe Official Book Blurb

Once again the Murphy household is in chaos, and on top of that a rogue Demon is on the loose and has taken up residence on the estate, with dire consequences. Tom is still working away, leaving Patsy alone and struggling with day to day living and her own Demon. Megan has a very important cooking exam to pass, but money is short for the ingredients. Bonfire night, which is the biggest night of the year is approaching fast, and Patsy cooks for the whole street, and on top of that the family have the worry of being evicted from their house, as they are being relentlessly bullied by the local police Sargent who now knows the families secret. Will they survive?

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Secret Demon 2 by CL Ryan (@Authoright)”

Blog Tour: Gustave Flaubert: The Ambiguity of Imagination by Giuseppe Cafiero (@Authoright)

Today I am delighted to share with you a brief extract from Gustave Flaubert: The Ambiguity of Imagination by Giuseppe Cafiero as part of the blog tour.

gustave-flaubert-coverThe Official Book Blurb

What would happen if a character, even if only roughly sketched in the mind of a writer, decided to take on a life independent of his creator in order to take revenge against all the other characters that this author had created in his other books?

This is what happens to the legendary writer Gustave Flaubert, when his character Harel-Bey comes to life with a grudge to bear. Even the imaginary characters of books that Monsieur Flaubert has never actually written, but had long pondered and discussed with his most intimate friends, begin to stir with their own motivations.

Quite unexpectedly, Harel-Bey begins a long and difficult journey through the writings of Monsieur Flaubert to try to understand the reasons that induced the writer to write so many books and stories, but never the one that would have had him as leading protagonist. As a vengeful killer, Harel-Bey is determined to murder all of the protagonists of the books and stories Flaubert has written. Continue reading “Blog Tour: Gustave Flaubert: The Ambiguity of Imagination by Giuseppe Cafiero (@Authoright)”