#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Foul Trade, the new May Keaps novel from author BK Duncan and I’d like to wish the author a very happy publication day. My thanks go to Sarah Hardy for including me in the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

FTThe Official Book Blurb

It is March 1920. May Keaps, the Poplar Coroner’s Officer, has never failed to provide a jury with sufficient evidence to arrive at a just verdict.

The poverty, drunken fights between visiting sailors, drug trafficking, and criminal gangs, haunting the shadows of the busiest docks in the world, mean that the Coroner sees more than its fair share of sudden and unnatural deaths.

May relishes the responsibility placed upon her but there are many who believe it’s an unsuitable job for a woman. Even May begins to wonder if that is the case when the discovery of a young man’s body, in a Limehouse alley, plunges her into an underworld of opium dens, gambling, turf wars, protection rackets and murder.

As her investigations draw her into danger, it becomes increasingly clear that whoever is responsible intends to avoid the hangman’s noose by arranging to have May laid out on one of her own mortuary slabs. 

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks”

#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s latest Robyn Carter thriller, The Silent Children. I have very much fallen in love with this series, especially the local setting, and couldn’t wait to read this latest offering. So, just what did I think? Well I’ll tell you in moment, after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TSCAbout this Book

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture”

Review: Dark Skies by LJ Ross @LJRoss_author

A massive happy publication day to author LJ Ross whose seventh … yes seventh!!! … DCI Ryan book is set free today.

DSThe Official Book Blurb

Beware what lies beneath…

One fateful, starry night, three friends embark on a secret camping trip but only two return home. Thirty years later, the body of a teenage boy rises from the depths of England’s biggest reservoir and threatens to expose a killer who has lain dormant…until now. 

Detective Chief Inspector Ryan returns from honeymoon to face danger from all sides. In the depths of Kielder Forest, a murderer has escaped justice before and will do anything to protect the secrets of the past. Meanwhile, back at Northumbria CID, an old foe has taken the helm as Superintendent and is determined to destroy Ryan at any cost. 

Who will prevail in Ryan’s most dangerous case yet?

Murder and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced crime whodunit set amidst the spectacular Northumbrian landscape.

Continue reading “Review: Dark Skies by LJ Ross @LJRoss_author”

#BlogTour: Anything for Her by G.J. Minett @GJMinett @BonnierZaffre

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for Anything for Her, the latest release from author G.J. Minett. I have an extract from the book to share with you all, as well as my thoughts on the book, but first off, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

AFHThe Official Book Blurb

You’d do anything for the one that got away . . . wouldn’t you?

When Billy Orr returns home to spend time with his dying sister, he bumps into his ex-girlfriend Aimi, the love of his life. He might not have seen her in eleven years, but Billy’s never forgotten her. He’d do anything for her then, and he’d do anything for her now.

When Aimi tells him that she wants to escape her abusive husband, Billy agrees to help her fake her own death. But is she still the Aimi that Billy remembers from all those years ago? 

Once Aimi disappears, Billy has to face the possibility that perhaps she had different reasons for disappearing – reasons that might be more dangerous than she’s led him to believe . . .

Sometimes trusting the one you love is the wrong thing to do.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Anything for Her by G.J. Minett @GJMinett @BonnierZaffre”

#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks

Today, as part of the #festivereads feature I have a review of Alastair Gunn’s second Christmas based book, the fourth and latest in his DCI Antonia Hawkins series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, as soon as we’ve takne a look at what it’s all about.

CCThe Official Book Blurb

In the small village of Cold Christmas there’s a church that faces the wrong way . . . What has it to do with the three dead men found in a London flat?

DCI Antonia Hawkins has a killer to catch. Only she can’t predict what is waiting for her at the end of the chase. 

Nobody remembers the young men entering the abandoned London flat a few weeks ago. Nobody cares if they left.

Until the unbearable smell of decay.

DCI Antonia Hawkins is called in to view the dead men; three, lying neat in a row. There’s no damage to the bodies, no obvious cause of death. Is this a suicide pact? Or is that just how it’s meant to look?

If there is a link between the three very different men then Hawkins needs to find it, and fast. Because unless she does, more are going to die. And they might not all be strangers.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Cold Christmas by Alastair Gunn @alastair_gunn @MichaelJBooks”