#Review: 99 Red Balloons by Elisabeth Carpenter @LibbyCPT @AvonBooksUk

When I first heard about 99 Red Balloons, I have to admit to being more than a little bit intrigued. So when I got the chance of an early read via Netgalley, I jumped at it, and boy am I glad I did. I’ll tell you a little (or a lot) of why that is in just a moment, but first up, the all important book bits.

99RBThe Official Book Blurb

Two girls go missing, decades apart. What would you do if one was your daughter?

When eight-year-old Grace goes missing from a sweetshop on the way home from school, her mother Emma is plunged into a nightmare. Her family rallies around, but as the police hunt begins, cracks begin to emerge.

What are the secret emails sent between Emma’s husband and her sister? Why does her mother take so long to join the search? And is Emma really as innocent as she seems?

Meanwhile, ageing widow Maggie Taylor sees Grace’s picture in the newspaper. It’s a photograph that jolts her from the pain of her existence into a spiralling obsession with another girl – the first girl who disappeared…

This is a gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist that will take your breath away.

Continue reading “#Review: 99 Red Balloons by Elisabeth Carpenter @LibbyCPT @AvonBooksUk”

#BlogTour: The Ashes of Berlin by Luke McCallin @mccallinluke @noexitpress

Today, it’s my pleasure to be taking in the blog tour for The Ashes of Berlin by Luke McCallin, to celebrate its paperback release on August 24th. Thanks to Anne Cater and Publishers No Exit Press for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you all in just a short while. as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

Cover ImageThe Official Book Blurb

World War II is over, and former German intelligence officer Captain Gregor Reinhardt has returned to Berlin. He’s about to find that the bloodshed has not ended — and that for some, death is better than defeat.

A year after Germany’s defeat, Reinhardt has been hired back onto Berlin’s civilian police force. The city is divided among the victorious allied powers, tensions are growing, and the police are riven by internal rivalries as factions within it jockey for power and influence with Berlin’s new masters.

When a man is found slain in  broken-down tenement, Reinhardt embarks on a gruesome investigation. It seems a serial killer is on the loose, and matters only escalate when it’s discovered that one of the victims was the brother of a Nazi scientist.

Reinhardt’s search for the truth takes him across the divided city and soon embroils him in a plot involving the Western Allies and the Soviets. And as he comes under the scrutiny of a group of Germans who want to continue the war — and faces an unwanted reminder from his own past — Reinhardt realizes that this investigation could cost him everything as he pursues a killer who believes that all wrongs must be avenged…

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Ashes of Berlin by Luke McCallin @mccallinluke @noexitpress”

#BlogTour: Dead to Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the new release from Stephen Edger, Dead to Me, the first book in the Kate Matthews series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after I’ve shared with you all what the book is about.

Dead-To-Me-KindleThe Official Book Blurb

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague. 

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dead to Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

#BlogBlitz: The Good Sister by Jess Ryder @jessryderauthor @Bookouture

Today it is my pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for The Good Sister, the new thriller from Jess Ryder. Thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to take part. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in a moment, just as soon as I’ve told you what it’s all about.

TGSThe Official Book Blurb

Two sisters. One secret… A lie that could destroy them both.

When her father dies, Josie is devastated to uncover he led a secret life: another house, another family and a half-sister called Valentina.

Both with red hair and icy blue eyes, Josie and Valentina could be mistaken for twins. But the similarities end there…

Josie – Sweet, reserved, jealous, thief. 
Valentina – Care-free, confident, dangerous, liar. 

There is a perfect life here for the taking. But which one of them wants it the most?

Two sisters. One survivor.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Good Sister by Jess Ryder @jessryderauthor @Bookouture”

Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas

Now it has been a few weeks since I listened to the audio book of Burned by Thomas Enger, the first book in the Henning Juul series. I promised myself earlier in the year after reading Cursed that I was going to catch up on all I had missed so it was fabulous to be able to find out where it all began. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you in just a moment, but first, here is what it’s all about.

BurnedThe Official Book Blurb

A BRUTALISED VICTIM IN THE WILDS
A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She’s been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off.

A LONE VOICE 
Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter – by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police.

A MYSTERY IGNITED
Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think…

Continue reading “Review: Burned by Thomas Enger @EngerThomas”