#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Foul Trade, the new May Keaps novel from author BK Duncan and I’d like to wish the author a very happy publication day. My thanks go to Sarah Hardy for including me in the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

FTThe Official Book Blurb

It is March 1920. May Keaps, the Poplar Coroner’s Officer, has never failed to provide a jury with sufficient evidence to arrive at a just verdict.

The poverty, drunken fights between visiting sailors, drug trafficking, and criminal gangs, haunting the shadows of the busiest docks in the world, mean that the Coroner sees more than its fair share of sudden and unnatural deaths.

May relishes the responsibility placed upon her but there are many who believe it’s an unsuitable job for a woman. Even May begins to wonder if that is the case when the discovery of a young man’s body, in a Limehouse alley, plunges her into an underworld of opium dens, gambling, turf wars, protection rackets and murder.

As her investigations draw her into danger, it becomes increasingly clear that whoever is responsible intends to avoid the hangman’s noose by arranging to have May laid out on one of her own mortuary slabs. 

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks”

#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s latest Robyn Carter thriller, The Silent Children. I have very much fallen in love with this series, especially the local setting, and couldn’t wait to read this latest offering. So, just what did I think? Well I’ll tell you in moment, after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TSCAbout this Book

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture”

#BlogBlitz: Her Best Friend by Sarah Wray @Sarah_Wray @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog blitz for the new release from Sarah Wray, Her Best Friend. With thanks to Noelle Holten of Bookouture for including me in the blitz, I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you all as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

HBFThe Official Book Blurb

You couldn’t have done anything to save her.
Or could you?

Sylvie Armstrong has been running from her past for twenty years – until her mother’s death forces her to return to her home town, along with her newborn daughter. 

Overwhelmed by grief in her childhood home, Sylvie tries to block out the memories that surround her – but then someone leaves a gift on her doorstep: a gold necklace with a heart-shaped locket. 

This locket belonged to Sylvie’s best friend, Victoria Preston – and she was wearing it the night she died. Now it’s back in Sylvie’s life…and it soon becomes clear that somebody knows what really happened to Victoria.

Sylvie has to know the truth. But is she in terrible danger? 

A gripping, page-turning psychological thriller with a final twist that will leave you open-mouthed. Fans of Sophie Hannah, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl will be hooked.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Her Best Friend by Sarah Wray @Sarah_Wray @Bookouture”

#BlogBlitz: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining in the blog blitz for Now You See Me, the debut thriller from Kierney Scott and Bookouture. My thanks to Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

NYSMThe Official Book Blurb

Murky water sloshed through the gaps in the jetty’s algae-covered planks. Electricity ran down her spine. The victim’s torso was missing circles of flesh. Jess had seen marks like this before a long time ago. But that killer is already dead, isn’t he?

When the lifeless body of a young woman is found washed up in the blisteringly hot back waters of a small town, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Two other bodies have been found, both bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered, and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait…

Now You See Me is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for the CWA Short Story Anthology: Mystery Tour, published by Orenda Books. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this wonderfully mixed collection of stories in just a moment, but first up, lets take a look at the official bookish bits.

CWAThe Official Book Blurb

Crime spreads across the globe in this new collection of short stories from the Crime Writer’s Association, as a conspiracy of prominent crime authors take you on a world mystery tour.

Highlights of the trip include a treacherous cruise to French Polynesia, a horrifying trek in South Africa, a murderous train-ride across Ukraine and a vengeful killing in Mumbai. But back home in the UK, life isn’t so easy either. Dead bodies turn up on the backstreets of Glasgow, crime writers turn words into deeds at literary events, and Lady Luck seems to guide the fate of a Twickenham hood.

Showcasing the range, breadth and vitality of the contemporary crime-fiction genre, these twenty-eight chilling and unputdownable stories will take you on a trip you’ll never forget.

Contributions from:
Ann Cleeves, C.L. Taylor, Susi Holliday, Martin Edwards, Anna Mazzola, Carol Anne Davis, Cath Staincliffe, Chris Simms, Christine Poulson, Ed James, Gordon Brown, J.M. Hewitt, Judith Cutler, Julia Crouch, Kate Ellis, Kate Rhodes, Martine Bailey, Michael Stanley, Maxim Jakubowski, Paul Charles, Paul Gitsham, Peter Lovesey, Ragnar Jónasson, Sarah Rayne, Shawn Reilly Simmons, Vaseem Khan, William Ryan and William Burton McCormick

Continue reading “#BlogTour: CWA Short Story Anthology – Mystery Tour by Various @OrendaBooks”