#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson. Somewhat of a departure for me as a) I don’t kids and b) I don’t like kids. I do however like great books so was thrilled when Kim Nash of Bookouture invited me to take part in the tour. I’ll let you know my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

TUMAbout the Book

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only expecting one child but she’s eating for at least three. Not to mention trying to juggle her nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and an infuriatingly laid-back husband. 

She used to be known for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ column. But when her boss gives her job to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes she blogs instead about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? (Even if the only thing they seem to have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…)

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they?

The Undercover Mother is a hilarious parenting page-turner that will make you laugh, cry and want to crack open the gin. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @emmarobinsonUK @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the latest release from author Mary-Jane Riley, Dark Waters and thanks to the author and publishers, Killer Reads, for inviting me to join the tour. I have a fab guest post to share on a day in the life of the series protagonist, Alex Devlin, along with my thoughts on the book. But first, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

DWAbout the Book

DARK WATERS is the third crime thriller in the series featuring journalist Alex Devlin. It begins with a macabre discovery on board a pleasure cruiser on the beautiful Norfolk Broads – the decomposing bodies of two elderly men. It appears the dead men did not know each other and police suspect an internet suicide pact.

Alex’s search for the truth reveals a darker story. She finds a connection between the two men and possible links to other unexplained deaths.

As she investigates further, the stakes rise and her own family becomes embroiled in the mystery. Her inquiries lead her to the University of Cambridge. Could the roots of the puzzle lie there with a tragedy that unfolded amongst a group of carefree students many years before?

Long-buried secrets come to the surface and Alex’s life and the lives of her family are on the line. As the past and the present collide, Alex questions everything she thinks she knows about those she loves.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dark Waters by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads”

#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Roxanne Bouchard’s We Were The Salt of the Sea. My thanks to Publisher Orenda Books for providing an advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

wwtsotsAbout the Book

As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots.

Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation.

On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky…

Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea”

#BlogTour: The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson @RagnarJo @MichaelJBooks

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the first book in the new Hidden Iceland series from Ragnar Jónasson, The Darkness which is released into the wild today. Happy publication day Ragnar – I hope you have a great one. I’ve been a big fan of Ragnar Jónasson’s Dark Iceland series and Ari Thor, so I’ve been looking forward to reading this since pre-ordering the book about a year ago, Yep. That keen. I’ll share my thoughts in a few moments after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TDAbout the Book

A young woman is found dead on a remote Icelandic beach.

She came looking for safety, but instead she found a watery grave.

A hasty police investigation determines her death as suicide . . .

When Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir of the Reykjavik police is forced into early retirement, she is told she can investigate one last cold case of her choice – and she knows which one.

What she discovers is far darker than suicide . . . And no one is telling Hulda the whole story.

When her own colleagues try to put the brakes on her investigation, Hulda has just days to discover the truth. A truth she will risk her own life to find.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson @RagnarJo @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Stephen Edger’s latest DI Kate Matthews novel, Cold Heart. My thanks to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review and for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CHAbout the Book

It has been a week since anyone last saw fifteen-year-old Daisy, after she left her best friend’s house and started her short walk home. Detective Kate Matthews and her team have been looking for her ever since.

When a tip-off leads Kate to a disused gymnasium at Daisy’s school, she is shocked to find evidence linking to the murder of a different girl. 

Working the two cases side by side, Kate’s blood runs cold when a gift-wrapped box containing a human heart is delivered to her at the station. The heart belongs to yet another unknown victim, but the message is clear: there will be more, and Daisy could be one of them. 

When activity on Daisy’s Facebook account indicates she is still alive, the race is on for Kate and her team. Will Daisy be the killer’s next victim? Is Kate prepared to risk everything to stop another innocent life from being taken?

This absolutely unputdownable crime thriller will have fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott biting their nails long after the final twist has sunk in.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: #ColdHeart by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”