The Old You by Louise Voss @LouiseVoss1 @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTours

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the tour for The Old You by Louise Voss on its paperback publication day. Happy publication day Louise. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to take part and to publishers Orenda Books for providing an advance copy for review. I was very lucky to hear Louise Voss read from the book at the Orenda Roadshow earlier in the year so I have been anticipating the book for some time. Let’s see what it’s all about shall we?

toyAbout the Book

Nail-bitingly modern domestic noir
A tense, Hitchcockian psychological thriller
Louise Voss returns with her darkest, most chilling, novel yet…

Lynn Naismith gave up the job she loved when she married Ed, the love of her life, but it was worth it for the happy years they enjoyed together. Now, ten years on, Ed has been diagnosed with early-onset dementia, and things start to happen; things more sinister than missing keys and lost words. As some memories are forgotten, others, long buried, begin to surface … and Lynn’s perfect world begins to crumble.

But is it Ed’s mind playing tricks, or hers…?

Continue reading “The Old You by Louise Voss @LouiseVoss1 @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTours”

The Devil’s Dice by Roz Watkins @RozWatkins @HQStories

Today I am delighted to share my review of The Devil’s Dice by Roz Watkins. This is another book I’ve had on my shelf for a while but took the opportunity to listen to the audio book while on my travels last week. We’ll take a look at what I thought just as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

TDD}About the Book

A SHOCKING DEATH

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There’s just one catch – chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man’s initials, and it’s been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it’s clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg – and the dice are loaded…

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

Continue reading “The Devil’s Dice by Roz Watkins @RozWatkins @HQStories”

Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan @SVaughanAuthor @1stMondayCrime @simonschusterUK

There are certain books which pique your interest from the moment you hear of them. I have to be honest, from the moment I got my mitts upon Anatomy of a Scandal at Harrogate last year, I was intrigued. Like most months though, I was also extremely busy so when I came home I filed it on my must read shelf (and by filed I mean, it was in a nice neat pile) to be read whenever I found a spare moment. Like most months, that moment never came.

When I catalogued my tbr books at Christmas it went from the ‘must read’ to the ‘must read as it’s now one of my biggest regrets not having done so earlier’ shelf. It is a book which I listed in my most anticipated reads of 2018 post just before New Year. It is a book which I have seen countless superb reviews for on social media. It is a book I really wanted to make time for. Granite Noir, or more specifically a six hour drive to Dundee for work as a precursor to GRanite Noir, gave me the excuse and the opportunity I was looking for. I downloaded the audio book (you didn’t think I would read and drive did you?) plugged in the iPhone and set on my way. And what a journey it was. But before I tell you what I thought, let’s see what the book is all about. Continue reading “Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan @SVaughanAuthor @1stMondayCrime @simonschusterUK”

#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Black Heart, the brand new thriller from Anna-Lou Weatherley and the first in the Dan Riley series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts in just a moment after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BHThe Official Book Blurb

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: #Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Hydra the new book from Matt Wesolowski. This is a great addition to the Six Stories series, the feel of it a little darker than it’s predecessor but I have to be honest … That made me love it even more. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what this book is all about.

HThe Official Book Blurb

Before Scarfell Claw, there was Hydra…

One cold November night in 2014, in a small town in the north west of England, 26-year-old Arla Macleod bludgeoned her mother, father and younger sister to death with a hammer, in an unprovoked attack known as the ‘Macleod Massacre’.

Now incarcerated at a medium-security mental-health institution, Arla will speak to no one but Scott King, an investigative journalist, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation. King finds himself immersed in an increasingly complex case, interviewing five witnesses and Arla herself, as he questions whether Arla’s responsibility for the massacre was a diminished as her legal team made out.

As he unpicks the stories, he finds himself thrust into a world of deadly forbidden ‘games’, online trolls, and the mysterious Black-eyed Children, whose presence extends far beyond the delusions of a murderess…

Dark, chilling and gripping, Hydra is both a classic murder mystery and an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller, that shines light in places you may never, ever want to see again.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: #Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks”