Review: The Gathering Dark by James Oswald @SirBenfro @MichaelJBooks

Oh, Inspector McLean. How I have missed thee. I know I hide it well, but it is a little known fact that I am a huge fan of this series. Little known if you have never met me, never read my blog or basically live on another planet that is. This is the series of books which pulled me back into reading, which instilled my renewed love of the crime genre and which, in a roundabout fashion, got me hooked on Stuart MacBride’s books took. This series has cost me a couple of bob over the years. So I am super excited when a new book is published, and having had this on preorder for months, I was delighted to be able to finally read it. I’ll share my thoughts on the book in a moment, but first, because I know you are all dying to know, let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

tgdThe Official Book Blurb

THE DEAD DEMAND VENGEANCE in the ALL-NEW compelling novel in the BESTSELLING Inspector McLean series.

A truck driver loses control in central Edinburgh, ploughing into a crowded bus stop and spilling his vehicle’s toxic load. The consequences are devastating.

DI Tony McLean witnesses the carnage. Taking control of the investigation, he soon realises there is much that is deeply amiss – and everyone involved seems to have something to hide.

But as McLean struggles to uncover who caused the tragedy, a greater crisis develops: the new Chief Superintendent’s son is missing, last seen in the area of the crash . . .

Continue reading “Review: The Gathering Dark by James Oswald @SirBenfro @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogBlitz: Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture

I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for Richard Parker’s latest novel, Keep Her Safe today, which also happens to be publication day. Happy publication day Richard. I am a massive fan of the author’s work so the opportunity to read this book early was one I couldn’t miss. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

KHSThe Official Book Blurb

How far would you go to protect your child?

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come… 

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture”

#BlogTour: Games With The Dead by James Nally @JimNally @AvonBooksUK

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Games With The Dead, the third Donal Lynch novel from James Nally. Thanks to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have an extract from the book, plus my thoughts to share with you in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

GWTDThe Official Book Blurb

Irish runaway. Insomniac. Functioning alcoholic.
Life is about to get complicated for DC Donal Lynch.

When a young woman is kidnapped, Donal is brought in to deliver the ransom money. But the tightly-planned drop off goes wrong, Julie Draper is discovered dead, and Donal finds his job on the line – a scapegoat for the officers in charge.

But when Donal is delivered a cryptic message in the night, he learns that Julie was killed long before the botched rescue mission. As he digs further into the murder in a bid to clear his own name, dark revelations make one thing certain: the police are chasing the wrong man, and the killer has far more blood on his hands than they could even imagine.

A gripping, brutal and addictive thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Games With The Dead by James Nally @JimNally @AvonBooksUK”

#BlogBlitz: The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne @Abigail_Author @Bloodhoundbooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining the blog blitz for The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne which is released today. Originally self published, the book is being re-released by Bloodhound Books. As I’ve had the book sat on my tbr for a while, this was the perfect excuse to move it on up the list. We’ll see my thoughts in just a moment, but first up, the all important bookish bits.

TPMThe Official Book Blurb

Billie is hiding from the world in fear of a man who nearly destroyed her. But a chance meeting with budding journalist, Adam, sparks a relationship that could free her from her life of isolation and fear.

Unbeknown to Billie, Adam knows exactly who Billie is and is determined to expose her and get justice for the lives he believes she has ruined. But first, he needs to convince her to open up to him. As an unwanted attraction blossoms between them, Adam comes to realise that all is not as it seems.

Who is really pulling the strings? And are Adam and Billie both being played?

One thing is for sure, The Master wants his puppets back – and he’ll do anything to keep them.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Puppet Master by Abigail Osborne @Abigail_Author @Bloodhoundbooks”

Review: Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay @XistPublishing @mgriffiths163

Way back in late August, Mandie and I had the daft idea of reading a bunch of Christmas books and reviewing them all throughout November. We would concentrate on stocking fillers for children, cosy christmas for the romantics in the room and, my personal favourite, the nightmare before Christmas, crime and thriller books with a Christmas theme. Seemed like a good idea back then but as neither of us actually likes Christmas, we probably should have known better… Still, here is the first of Mandie’s reviews, Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay.

MCLH.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

It’s Christmas Eve and Little Hoo should be sleeping. But there are so many interesting noises! Are there reindeer on the roof and elves in the kitchen? Join your favorite owl and find out in this Christmas story that will make December bedtime more fun for toddlers, preschoolers and even big kids who can’t help but believe in Christmas magic.

Continue reading “Review: Merry Christmas Little Hoo by Brenda Ponnay @XistPublishing @mgriffiths163”