The Kindness of Strangers by Julie Newman @julesmnewman @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup

I’m delighted to join the blog tour for The Kindness of Strangers, the new book from Julie Newman. I have an extract to share with you all in a moment, but first let’s have a look at what the book is all about.

TKOSAbout the Book

Deception abounds in Julie Newman’s breath-taking new novel.

Widow Helen is desperate for a perfect family life, and will do everything she can to get what she wants.

A veteran of the Afghanistan conflict Martin is adrift and seemingly without hope – can he ever win back his estranged family?

Pregnant teenager Charley is striking out on her own to create a new life for her unborn child, but her mother Lizzie has other ideas.

When three seemingly disparate lives connect, the past and the present collide to reveal secrets, lies and how far people are willing to go to hide the truth.

Following the gripping and controversial Beware the Cuckoo, Julie Newman’s thrilling new novel lifts the lid on the dark past that haunts a seemingly happy household.

Continue reading “The Kindness of Strangers by Julie Newman @julesmnewman @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup”

The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl @ko_dahl @OrendaBooks

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for the latest novel from Kjell Ola Dahl, The Ice Swimmer. I loved the previous book in the series, Faithless, and so when the chance came around to read this latest offering I didn’t hesitate. My thanks to publisher Orenda Books for the advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I am loving my Nordic-Noir and this was yet another brilliant offering. Let’s see what it’s all about.

TISAbout the Book

When a dead man is lifted from the freezing waters of Oslo Harbour just before Christmas, Detective Lena Stigersand’s stressful life suddenly becomes even more complicated. Not only is she dealing with a cancer scare, a stalker and an untrustworthy boyfriend, but it seems both a politician and Norway’s security services might be involved in the murder. 

With her trusted colleagues, Gunnarstranda and Frølich, at her side, Lena digs deep into the case and finds that it not only goes to the heart of the Norwegian establishment, but it might be rather to close to her personal life for comfort.

Dark, complex and nail-bitingly tense, The Ice Swimmer is the latest and most unforgettable instalment in the critically acclaimed Oslo Detective series, by the godfather of Nordic Noir.

Continue reading “The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl @ko_dahl @OrendaBooks”

Review: The Gathering Dark by James Oswald @SirBenfro @MichaelJBooks

Oh, Inspector McLean. How I have missed thee. I know I hide it well, but it is a little known fact that I am a huge fan of this series. Little known if you have never met me, never read my blog or basically live on another planet that is. This is the series of books which pulled me back into reading, which instilled my renewed love of the crime genre and which, in a roundabout fashion, got me hooked on Stuart MacBride’s books took. This series has cost me a couple of bob over the years. So I am super excited when a new book is published, and having had this on preorder for months, I was delighted to be able to finally read it. I’ll share my thoughts on the book in a moment, but first, because I know you are all dying to know, let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

tgdThe Official Book Blurb

THE DEAD DEMAND VENGEANCE in the ALL-NEW compelling novel in the BESTSELLING Inspector McLean series.

A truck driver loses control in central Edinburgh, ploughing into a crowded bus stop and spilling his vehicle’s toxic load. The consequences are devastating.

DI Tony McLean witnesses the carnage. Taking control of the investigation, he soon realises there is much that is deeply amiss – and everyone involved seems to have something to hide.

But as McLean struggles to uncover who caused the tragedy, a greater crisis develops: the new Chief Superintendent’s son is missing, last seen in the area of the crash . . .

Continue reading “Review: The Gathering Dark by James Oswald @SirBenfro @MichaelJBooks”

#BlogBlitz: Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture

I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for Richard Parker’s latest novel, Keep Her Safe today, which also happens to be publication day. Happy publication day Richard. I am a massive fan of the author’s work so the opportunity to read this book early was one I couldn’t miss. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

KHSThe Official Book Blurb

How far would you go to protect your child?

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come… 

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture”

#BlogTour: Games With The Dead by James Nally @JimNally @AvonBooksUK

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Games With The Dead, the third Donal Lynch novel from James Nally. Thanks to Sabah Khan of Avon Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have an extract from the book, plus my thoughts to share with you in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

GWTDThe Official Book Blurb

Irish runaway. Insomniac. Functioning alcoholic.
Life is about to get complicated for DC Donal Lynch.

When a young woman is kidnapped, Donal is brought in to deliver the ransom money. But the tightly-planned drop off goes wrong, Julie Draper is discovered dead, and Donal finds his job on the line – a scapegoat for the officers in charge.

But when Donal is delivered a cryptic message in the night, he learns that Julie was killed long before the botched rescue mission. As he digs further into the murder in a bid to clear his own name, dark revelations make one thing certain: the police are chasing the wrong man, and the killer has far more blood on his hands than they could even imagine.

A gripping, brutal and addictive thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Games With The Dead by James Nally @JimNally @AvonBooksUK”