Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture

maki-2627589_640

My face when I hear there is a new Angela Marsons/Kim Stone book available. It was also pretty much my expression when I’d finished reading the book too, coupled with a little more of this …

baby-443393_640.jpg

Yes folks. The latest book, Dying Truth, is now available and having had the opportunity to read it in advance of publication I am delighted to share my thoughts with you all today as part of the blog blitz. Big thanks to publishers Bookouture for providing the advance copy for review. Here, in case you have missed all the build up to this fabulous book (and if you did miss it you can read the prologue here) is what it is all about. Continue reading “Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture”

Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over the reigns to Mandie who has finally got off her arse and read Broken Bones by Angela Marsons. Perfect timing really seeing as book eight in the series, Dying Truth, is released tomorrow. Anyone would think we’d planned it that way… If you want to be reminded of my thoughts on the book, you can see them here (or here if you want to be scared). Before we do anything else though, let’s see what the book is all about.

BBAbout the Book

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers in the Black Country are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable. 

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what at first looks like a tragic abandonment soon takes an even more sinister turn.

When another young woman goes missing, the two investigations bring the team into a terrifying, hidden world, and a showdown puts Kim’s life at risk as secrets from her own past come to light.

As Kim battles her own demons, can she stop the killer, before another life is lost?

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist.

Continue reading “Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163”

Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights

Today I’m delighted to share my review of the novella, Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky. A quick read at a little under 100 pages, this is one twisted read. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

rtbAbout the Book

Like a spider wrapping flies…

When psychopath Duncan leaves a trail of duct-tape-wrapped bodies scattered across the suburbs of Birmingham, there’s nothing to link the victims except his own name and address, carefully placed on each new corpse.Six very different people follow his clues, each convinced they can use Duncan to further their own selfish or naïve ends. Is there a reason Duncan’s driven to target these particular individuals, or does their very nature contribute to their fate?Will any of them be strong enough to break the cycle and escape a painful death? Or will Duncan reel them in and rearrange them to his own insane ideal? 

“Raise the Blade is a gloriously gruesome read, riven with the very blackest of humour. And I loved it.”Ian Ayris, author of ‘Abide With Me’ and ‘April Skies’.

Continue reading “Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky @tessmakovesky @caffeinenights”

The Dark Web by Christopher Lowery @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup

Today I’m delighted to bring you an extract from Christopher Lowery’s The Dark Web, the final book in the African Diamonds Trilogy. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about:

TDWAbout the Book

The thrilling final instalment in the gripping African Diamonds trilogy!

The tentacles of the Dark Web are tightening their grip around the world. From Moscow to Shanghai, Washington, UK, the Middle East and Europe, nowhere is beyond their reach.

When a computer scientist dies mysteriously in Dubai, Jenny Bishop’s nephew, Leo Stewart, is hired to replace him. Leo’s life is soon in danger, but he is the only person who can find the key to prevent an impending global cyber-attack. With the help of Jenny and old and new friends, he must neutralise the threat before the world’s vital services are brought to a halt in a flagrant attempt to once again redraw the borders of Europe and Asia. Can the deadly conspiracy be exposed before the world is thrust into a new Cold War?

Christopher Lowery delivers a gripping final chapter in the bestselling African Diamonds trilogy, with a thriller that is powerfully resonant of today’s global dangers, hidden behind the ever-changing technological landscape.

The perfect read for fans of Gerald Seymour, Wilbur Smith and Frederick Forsyt

Continue reading “The Dark Web by Christopher Lowery @urbanebooks @LoveBooksGroup”

Extract: Dying Truth by Angela Marsons – Kim Stone Book 8 @WriteAngie @Bookouture

EFL

Got to be honest – I’m more than a little bit excited this evening. Why? Well because I’ve been able to join in the fun celebrating the forthcoming release of the eight Kim Stone book from Angela Marsons, Dying Truth. Alongside some other fabulous bloggers I am delighted to be able to share with you a brilliant extract from the book. If this does not whet your appetite and get you all excited about its full release on May 18th then I think you may need to ask someone to check your pulse or at least make sure you are still conscious as this is a cracker. Before we take a look, here is what the book is all about.

dtAbout the Book

How far would you go to protect your darkest secrets?

When teenager Sadie Winter jumps from the roof of her school, her death is ruled as suicide – a final devastating act from a troubled girl. But then the broken body of a young boy is discovered at the same school and it’s clear to Detective Kim Stone that these deaths are not tragic accidents.

As Kim and her team begin to unravel a dark web of secrets, one of the teachers could hold the key to the truth. Yet just as she is about to break her silence, she is found dead.

With more children’s lives at risk, Kim has to consider the unthinkable – whether a fellow pupil could be responsible for the murders. Investigating the psychology of children that kill brings the detective into contact with her former adversary, Dr Alex Thorne – the sociopath who has made it her life’s work to destroy Kim.

Desperate to catch the killer, Kim finds a link between the recent murders and an initiation prank that happened at the school decades earlier. But saving these innocent lives comes at a cost – and one of Kim’s own might pay the ultimate price.

The utterly addictive new crime thriller from the Number One bestselling author – you will be gripped until the final shocking twist.

Continue reading “Extract: Dying Truth by Angela Marsons – Kim Stone Book 8 @WriteAngie @Bookouture”