#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand the blog over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog blitz for the new release from Sharon Maas, The Girl From The Sugar Plantation. Thanks to Noelle Holten for including us on the tour and to Bookouture for providing a copy of the book for review. We’ll be sharing Mandie’s thoughts on the book, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

The-Girl-from-the-Sugar-Plantation-Kindle.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

An unputdownable story of a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Guyana. All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret… 

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163”

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime

Now this is a book I have had sitting on my TBR list for far too long. It first came to my attention at CrimeFest last year when I heard author, Vaseem Khan, speaking on a panel about his somewhat unusual hero, Ganesha, the baby elephant. I was fascinated and promptly bought the books, but for some reason never quite found the time to read them. Taking part in First Monday Crime as a blogger, an event at which Mr Khan will be one of the panelists in November, gave me the perfect reason (as if one were needed) to put the books front and centre of my reading list and so, armed with an audiobook copy of the book, I set about listening to it on one of my many trips up to Scotland over the past month. And what a treat it was too. I’ll tell you how much of one in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

IC1The Official Book Blurb

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve…

But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai – from its richest mansions to its murky underworld – he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. 

So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.

Continue reading “The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime”

#Booklove: Isabella May @IsabellaMayBks

Book Love (1)

I am delighted to welcome author Isabella May to Jen Med’s today to help me spread a little book love. Isabella’s debut novel, oh! What a Pavlova, is released today. Happy publication day Isabella. Before we take a look at all of her favourite reads, let’s learn a little more about Isabella and her book.

About Isabella

IM.jpgIsabella May lives in (mostly) sunny Andalucia, Spain with her husband, daughter and son, creatively inspired by the sea and the mountains. When she isn’t having her cake and eating it, sampling a new cocktail on the beach, or ferrying her children to and from after school activities, she can usually be found writing.

As a Co-founder and a former contributing writer for the popular online women’s magazine, The Glass House Girls – http://www.theglasshousegirls.com – she has also been lucky enough to subject the digital world to her other favourite pastimes, travel, the Law of Attraction, and Prince (The Purple One).

She has recently become a Book Fairy, and is having lots of fun with her imaginative ‘drops’!

Oh! What a Pavlova is her debut novel… and her second novel has already been submitted to her publishers: watch this space…

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Pavlova Book CoverOh! What a Pavlova

Kate Clothier is leading a double life: a successful jet-setting businesswoman to the outside world, but behind closed doors, life with Daniel and his volcanic temper is anything but rosy.

Some days – heck, make that EVERY day – cake is her only salvation. 

Slowly but surely, the cities she visits – and the men she meets – help her to realise there IS a better future.

And the ley lines of Glastonbury are certainly doing their best to impart their mystical wisdom…

But will she escape before it’s too late?

Amazon UK | Amazon US

Continue reading “#Booklove: Isabella May @IsabellaMayBks”

#BlogTour: House of Spines by Michael J. Malone @michaelmalone1 @Orendabooks

It is my great pleasure to be one of today’s stops on the blog tour for Michael J. Malone’s new gothic mystery, House of Spines. My thanks to Anne Cater and Orenda Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I will be sharing my thoughts on this book in a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

House of Spines frontThe Official Book Blurb

Ran McGhie’s world has been turned upside down. A young, lonely and frustrated writer, and suffering from mental-health problems, he discovers that his long-dead mother was related to one of Glasgow’s oldest merchant families. Not only that, but Ran has inherited Newton Hall, a vast mansion that belonged to his great-uncle, who appears to have been watching from afar as his estranged great-nephew has grown up.

Entering his new-found home, he finds that Great-Uncle Fitzpatrick has turned it into a temple to the written word – the perfect place for poet Ran. But everything is not as it seems. As he explores the Hall’s endless corridors, Ran’s grasp on reality appears to be loosening. And then he comes across an ancient lift; and in that lift a mirror. And in the mirror … the reflection of a woman …

A terrifying psychological thriller with more than a hint of the Gothic, House of Spines is a love letter to the power of books, and an exploration of how lust and betrayal can be deadly…

Continue reading “#BlogTour: House of Spines by Michael J. Malone @michaelmalone1 @Orendabooks”

#BlogTour: The Frozen Woman by #JonMichelet trans. Don Bartlett @noexitpress

It’s my great pleasure to be a part of the blog tour for The Frozen Woman by Jon Michelet, translated by Don Bartlett. I’m really starting to love Nordic noir so didn’t hesitate when asked to take part in the tour, and a big thanks to Anne Cater and the publishers, No Exit Press, for inviting me and providing an advance copy for review.

TFWThe Official Book Blurb

TWO TIME WINNER OF NORWAY S BEST CRIME NOVEL

A FROZEN BODY.

A MURDERED BIKER.

A LAWYER WITH NOTHING LEFT TO LOSE.

In the depths of the Norwegian winter, a woman s frozen corpse is discovered in the garden of a notorious ex-lawyer, Vilhelm Thygesen. She has been stabbed to death.

A young biker, a member of a gang once represented by the lawyer, is found dead in suspicious circumstances.

Thygesen starts receiving anonymous threats, and becomes ensnared in a web of violence, crime and blackmail that spreads across Northern Europe.

Does the frozen woman hold the key?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Frozen Woman by #JonMichelet trans. Don Bartlett @noexitpress”