#BlogTour: We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews – Extract @QuiteFunnyGuy @EmmaMitchellFPR

Hi all. It is my pleasure to be able to share with you an extract from We Have Lost The Coffee, the latest book in the We Have Lost series by Paul Mathews, as part of the blog tour. Before we take a look at the opening chapter, let’s see what this book is all about.

We Have Lost the Coffee CoverThe Official Book Blurb

London, 2045. Three months into the Coffee Wars and Britain’s caffeine supplies are at critical levels. Brits are drinking even more tea than usual, keeping a stiff upper lip and praying for an end to it all.

A secret government coffee stockpile promises to save the day … but then mysteriously disappears overnight.

One man is asked to unravel the missing-coffee mystery. Hs name is Pond. Howie Pond. And he’s in desperate need of a triple espresso. Meanwhile, his journalist wife, Britt, is hunting royal fugitive, Emma Windsor, on the streets of the capital.

Can Howie save the British Republic from caffeine-starved chaos? Will the runaway royal be found? And just what will desperate coffee drinkers do for their caffeine fix? Find out, in Paul Mathews’ latest comedy adventure set in the Britain of the future …

Continue reading “#BlogTour: We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews – Extract @QuiteFunnyGuy @EmmaMitchellFPR”

#BlogTour Review: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture

Today it is my absolute pleasure to be one of the two blogs, alongside The Writing Garnet, opening up the blog tour for The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher. Massive thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I loved The Promise and was so excited to read this book. In just a moment we’ll see if it met my expectations, but first off, here is what this book is all about.

TBThe Official Book Blurb

Colleen Byrne is wife to one of the biggest faces on the streets of Soho, Jimmy Byrne.  He promised her the life of luxury, but behind the diamonds and fur coats is a dangerous world of violence and lies.  With her two children, Nancy and Daniel, Colleen is in too deep, bound to Jimmy forever.

TWENTY YEARS LATER
Nancy has grown into her father’s daughter, strong, calculated – and ruthless, while Colleen blots out the pain of her marriage any way she can. When Jimmy is found brutally murdered, Nancy is hell bent on finding the culprit.  She’s going to make them pay for what they did.

Only the perpetrator is someone close to home. Someone who betrayed them all. To catch a killer, mother and daughter must find the secrets tearing their family apart… 

A totally gripping and gritty thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Kimberly Chambers, Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture”

Novella Review: Bongo Fury by Simon Maltman @simonmaltman

BF.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

From the Bestselling author of A Chaser on the Rocks and More Faces, comes the noir novella series: Bongo Fury.

Follow Maltman’s new protagonist as he tries to balance a music shop, his paramilitary family, a newborn, a little drug dealing and a spot of private detection.

A black comedy from the fresh new voice in Northern Irish Crime Fiction.

Continue reading “Novella Review: Bongo Fury by Simon Maltman @simonmaltman”

Cover Reveal: We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews (@QuiteFunnyGuy, @EmmaMitchellFPR)

This evening, it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the cover reveal for We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews. Before we take a look at that, let’s see what the book is all about. We’re in London, it’s 2045, and the unthinkable is about to happen…

The Official Book Blurb

London, 2045. With the Coffee Wars still raging, London’s caffeine supplies are at critical levels. A secret Government stockpile promises to save the day…but then mysteriously disappears overnight. One man is tasked with discovering the truth. His name is Pond. Howie Pond. And he’s in desperate need of a triple espresso.

Meanwhile, Howie’s journalist wife, Britt, is on the trail of a rogue royal who’s evaded the authorities for eight months.

Can Howie save the British Republic from caffeine-starved chaos? Will the rogue royal be brought to justice? And just what will desperate coffee drinkers do for their caffeine fix? Find out, in Paul Mathews’ latest comedy-thriller adventure in the Britain of the future.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews (@QuiteFunnyGuy, @EmmaMitchellFPR)”

#BlogTour: Review – Hunting The Hangman by Howard Linskey @HowardLinskey @NoExitPress

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Hunting the Hangman by Howard Linskey. Now this is not your typical crime or thriller novel in that it is a fictionalised account of an actual event in World War II. I wasn’t really sure when I began reading this just how I would go about reviewing it, and in truth I am not entirely sure as I write this now, but before I start, here is what the book is all about.

HTH

TWO MEN. . . ONE MISSION. . . TO KILL THE MAN WITH THE IRON HEART

Bestselling author Howard Linskey’s fifteen year fascination with the assassination attempt on Reinhard Heydrich, the architect of the holocaust, has produced a meticulously researched, historically accurate thriller with a plot that echoes The Day of the Jackal and The Eagle has Landed.

2017 marks the 75th anniversary of the attack on a man so evil even fellow SS officers referred to him as the ‘Blond Beast’. In Prague he was known as the Hangman. Hitler, who called him ‘The Man with the Iron Heart’, considered Heydrich to be his heir, and entrusted him with the implementation of the ‘Final Solution’ to the Jewish question: the systematic murder of eleven million people.

In 1942 two men were trained by the British SOE to parachute back into their native Czech territory to kill the man ruling their homeland. Jan Kubis and Josef Gabcik risked everything for their country. Their attempt on Reinhard Heydrich’s life was one of the single most dramatic events of the Second World War, with horrific consequences for thousands of innocent people.

Hunting the Hangman is a tale of courage, resilience and betrayal with a devastating finale. Based on true events, the story reads like a classic World War Two thriller and is the subject of two big-budget Hollywood films that coincide with the anniversary of Operation Anthropoid.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Review – Hunting The Hangman by Howard Linskey @HowardLinskey @NoExitPress”