Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour

Today it’s my great pleasure to bring you an extract from Freefall by Adam Hamdy as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for the invitation to take part. The book celebrated its paperback release on 17th May but before we see the brilliant opening chapter, let’s see what it is all about.

ffAbout the Book

ONE RULE. TRUST NO-ONE.

This explosive, pulse-racing thriller is perfect for fans of JACK REACHER and ORPHAN X, with a story as unexpected as a sniper’s bullet. Adam Hamdy’s first PENDULUM novel was called ‘one of the best thrillers of the year’ by JAMES PATTERSON.

JOHN WALLACE IS A TARGET
Hiding off-grid after exposing the shadowy Pendulum conspiracy, Wallace is horrified to discover he is still marked for death.

THERE ARE ONLY TWO PEOPLE HE CAN TRUST
DI Patrick Bailey is still reeling from the murder investigation that nearly cost him his life. 
FBI Agent Christine Ash is hunting a serial killer with a link to an unfinished case

HE MUST FIND THE TRUTH
The death of a London journalist triggers an investigation that brings them back together, hurling them into the path of an unknown enemy.

BEFORE THE KILLER FINDS HIM
Hunted across the world, they are plunged into a nightmare deadlier than they could have ever imagined.

One of the best thriller writers I’ve read in recent years, Adam’s writing is slick and unputdownable, he hooks you in from the first chapter and doesn’t let you come up for air.’ JENNY BLACKHURST, the #1 eBook

Continue reading “Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour”

Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Fault Lines, the brand new thriller from Doug Johnstone set in an altered version of the Edinburgh landscape which you might not quite recognise. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

FLAbout the Book

Brilliantly constructed speculative crime fiction
A classic whodunit
Dark psychological suspense

Doug Johnstone returns with his most explosive and original thriller yet…

A little lie … a seismic secret … and the cracks are beginning to show…

In a reimagined contemporary Edinburgh, where a tectonic fault has opened up to produce a new volcano in the Firth of Forth, and where tremors are an everyday occurrence, volcanologist Surtsey makes a shocking discovery. 

On a clandestine trip to new volcanic island The Inch, to meet Tom, her lover and her boss, she finds his lifeless body, and makes the fatal decision to keep their affair, and her discovery, a secret. Desperate to know how he died, but also terrified she’ll be exposed, Surtsey’s life quickly spirals into a nightmare when someone makes contact – someone who claims to know what she’s done…

Continue reading “Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours”

The Louisiana Republic by Maxim Jakubowski @CaffeineNights #RandomThingsTours

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog tour for Maxim Jakubowski’s The Louisiana Republic. Definitely a departure for me and my little blog but I have a guest post from the author which I know you’ll all find fascinating. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join in the blog tour. Let’s see what the book is all about.

Louisiana Republic CoverAbout the Book

New York, and the world, have been transformed by an unexplained global catastrophe now known as ‘the Dark.

Once a modest researcher, has now become an involuntary detective. He is recruited by her elder sister to find the missing daughter of a local gangster in a city in chaos where anarchy and violence are just a step away. He soon discovers the case is anything but straightforward and compellingly close to home.

Compromising photographs and the ambiguous assistance of a young woman with ties to the criminal gangs lead him to New Orleans, which has seceded from the rest of America in the wake of the Dark. A perilous journey down the Mississippi river, murderous hit women and sidekicks, and the magic and dangerous glamour of the French Quarter become a perilous road to nowhere and to madness in his quest for the amoral daughter, his own lost love and his sanity. Will he find the missing women or lose himself?

Continue reading “The Louisiana Republic by Maxim Jakubowski @CaffeineNights #RandomThingsTours”

Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson @debbiemjohnson @HarperImpulse @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie who has a review of Debbie Johnson’s Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe. 

satcfcAbout the Book

The brand new book from bestselling author Debbie Johnson will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you raid the pantry in the middle of the night…

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas; beautifully baked breads, and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship, and security – a place like no other; a place that offers friendship as a daily special, and where a hearty welcome is always on the menu.

For widowed mum-of-two Laura Walker, the decision to uproot her teenaged children and make the trek from Manchester to Dorset for the summer isn’t one she takes lightly, and it’s certainly not winning her any awards from her kids, Nate and Lizzie. Even her own parents think she’s gone mad.

Her new job at the cafe, and the hilarious people she meets there, give Laura the chance she needs to make new friends; to learn to be herself again, and – just possibly – to learn to love again as well.

For her, the Comfort Food Cafe doesn’t just serve food – it serves a second chance to live her life to the full…

Continue reading “Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson @debbiemjohnson @HarperImpulse @mgriffiths163”

Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours

Today I’m thrilled to be joining the blog tour for Body and Soul the final Frank Elder novel from author John Harvey. My thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour and to the publisher for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Before I tell you my thoughts on the book, let’s see what it’s all about.

basAbout the Book

From the master of British Crime Writing comes Frank Elder’s last case.

‘The heavy manacles around the girl’s wrists, perhaps not surprisingly, looked very much like the ones that had been found on the studio floor. For a moment, she had a vision of the chain to which they were attached being swung through the air, taking on force and speed before striking home.Then swung again.’

When his estranged daughter Katherine appears on his doorstep, ex-Detective Frank Elder knows that something is wrong.

Katherine has long been troubled, and Elder has always felt powerless to help her. 

But now Katherine has begun to self-destruct.

The breakdown of her affair with a controversial artist has sent her into a tailspin which culminates in murder.

And as Elder struggles to protect his daughter and prove her innocence, the terrors of the past threaten them both once more …

Continue reading “Body and Soul by John Harvey @John_BHarvey @WmHeinemann #RandomThingsTours”