Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK

Happy publication day to Caroline England whose debut novel, Beneath The Skin, is released today by Avon Harper Collins. I had the pleasure of meeting Caroline earlier in the year at Crime Fest where we had a good chat about book marketing and blogging. I’m not sure if I was really much help to her, but I must have sounded convincing enough because Caroline kindly took some time out of her busy schedule in the lead up to her book launch, in order to answer a few of my random, and not so random, questions…

First up, let’s take a quick look at the book.

BTSThe Official Book Blurb

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE

No-one remembers your past. But you do.

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Continue reading “Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK”

#BlogTour: Lies That Poison by Amanda Fleet @amanda_fleet1 @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m hading over to Mandie who has a review of Amanda Fleet’s Lies That Poison as part of the blog tour. We’ll take a look at the review in a minute, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

FINAL COVERThe Official Book Blurb

Do you love psychological thrillers? Discover a new writer who will have you gripped from start to finish. This is a novel with stunning twists that you won’t see coming.

WHOSE SIDE ARE YOU ON? DO YOU BELIEVE ALYS OR HANNAH?

When Tom Bowman moves to a pretty Yorkshire village to start a new business, he meets two women who will change his life. 

Alys is a young woman with a troubled past, including an abusive boyfriend. She says she doesn’t want another man, but a relationship soon develops between her and Tom.

Tom’s other neighbour is Hannah, an elderly woman who is often confused between past and present. 50 years ago, her sister died tragically young. Now, she sometimes thinks that Tom is the man who was to blame.

Hannah hates Alys, and warns Tom that he is in great danger from the woman he’s falling in love with.

Who should he believe and who is poisoning his mind with lies?

In a pulsating conclusion, Tom faces a heartbreaking choice with the potential to shatter everything he has built. And will he finally find out the truth about Alys?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Lies That Poison by Amanda Fleet @amanda_fleet1 @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”

#BookLove: Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg

Book Love (1)

Today it’s my great pleasure to welcome author Patricia Furstenberg to the blog to help me spread a little more book love. We’ll be finding out all Patricia’s bookish confessions just as soon as we’ve heard all about the woman herself.

About Patricia

Author head twitter

Patricia Furstenberg came to writing though reading, her passion for books being something she inherited from her parents. She always felt at ease with pen and paper in her hand and she’s been writing stories and poetry ever since she can remember; she even wrote a historical time travel play once.
Patricia became taking writing seriously after becoming one of the Write Your Own Christie winners. She enjoys writing for children because she can take day-to-day, grown-up concepts and present them it in fun and colourful, child-friendly packages while adding sensitivity and lots of love. Patricia enjoys writing about animals because she believes that each animal, no matter how small, has a story to tell if you only stop to listen.
After completing her Medical Degree in Romania she moved to South Africa where she now lives with her husband, children and their dogs.

Patricia is now working on a collection of three delightful children’s stories in rhymes inspired by unusual friendships between African animals, because she believes that friendship knows no boundaries and children, as well as animals, know this best. Find them soon on Amazon.

The stories are titled: The Elephant and the Sheep, The Lion and the Dog, The Dog and the Cheetah.

Here’s a sneak-peak into the first story, The Elephant and the Sheep:

“Two little tails met one day,

Quite by chance under hot sun rays.   

“Hello,” they swished, then wagged, “let’s play!”          

They were not like each other, yet both were grey.

One had stomping feet, the other was shorter,

One smiled tall, the other’s mouth was smaller.

 

One had a long nose; the other’s nose was tiny,

One had wide ears, the other’s were pointy.

Yet it didn’t bother neither as they went for a stroll,

Glad to share the day, to talk, and patrol.”

Author Links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Goodreads | Huffington Post | Amazon UK | Amazon US

JTJoyful Trouble

Take home an unbelievable and humorous true story of an incredible dog and how he found his true, yet unexpected calling. You will love the moving tale of Joyful Trouble, a dog whose love for humans went beyond any human-dog connection.

When a Great Dane arrives in a Navy base nobody expects him to win everybody’s hearts, although breaking some rules along the way. With challenges arising along the way, who will stand up for this four-legged gentle giant?

A story that reads like a movie. A charming celebration of innocence.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

PatriciaFurstenberg.Puppy.jpgPuppy – 12 Months of Rhymes and Smiles

From the author of Joyful Trouble, a new children’s book that celebrates acceptance, family values and the unconditional love dogs have for all humans, young and old… now and forever! A perfect gift for all animal lovers!

From fun and playful to creative and crafty, Patricia Furstenberg’s musical rhymes express all the adoring and amusing happenings that puppies just happen to fall into when they enter our household, especially if children are present. With bright and humorous illustrations this is a book that children and grown-ups will love reading over and over.

A great gift for any occasion, but especially a unique gift for birthdays, dog lovers and graduation. Puppy: 12 Months of Rhymes and Smiles has a loving and innocent message that will endure for lifetimes.

Release date: 31 October 2017 (eBook and Paperback)

Amazon

Continue reading “#BookLove: Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg”

Review: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn @katedunnwriter @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over the reins to Mandie who has a review of The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn. Before we hear Mandie’s thoughts, here’s what the book is all about.

TD.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

When Colin discovers his son is on a murder charge in France, he trails his small boat, ‘The Dragonfly’, across the channel to stay in Paris to try and help him. There he meets his grand-daughter – the irrepressible Delphine – for the first time. They embark on an exciting boat journey through the picturesque French canals, heading south through Burgundy, ‘until the butter melts’. 

Along the way, they catch up with Tyler, a spirited American, and through various mishaps and misunderstandings, they land big fish, cultivate new loves and uncover a burning secret. 

But can Colin finally help his son get off the hook?

Continue reading “Review: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn @katedunnwriter @mgriffiths163”

#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over the blog to Mandie who is rounding out the blog tour for The Fourth Friend, the new novel by Joy Ellis, published by Joffe Books. We’ll be taking a look at Mandie’s review just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

9781912106868The Official Book Blurb

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”