#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks

Today it’s my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Foul Trade, the new May Keaps novel from author BK Duncan and I’d like to wish the author a very happy publication day. My thanks go to Sarah Hardy for including me in the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what it is all about.

FTThe Official Book Blurb

It is March 1920. May Keaps, the Poplar Coroner’s Officer, has never failed to provide a jury with sufficient evidence to arrive at a just verdict.

The poverty, drunken fights between visiting sailors, drug trafficking, and criminal gangs, haunting the shadows of the busiest docks in the world, mean that the Coroner sees more than its fair share of sudden and unnatural deaths.

May relishes the responsibility placed upon her but there are many who believe it’s an unsuitable job for a woman. Even May begins to wonder if that is the case when the discovery of a young man’s body, in a Limehouse alley, plunges her into an underworld of opium dens, gambling, turf wars, protection rackets and murder.

As her investigations draw her into danger, it becomes increasingly clear that whoever is responsible intends to avoid the hangman’s noose by arranging to have May laid out on one of her own mortuary slabs. 

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan @BKDuncanwriter @Bloodhoundbooks”

#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks

Today I’m continuing my #festivereads feature by sharing my review of Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost, a lovely cosy Christmas murder mystery. I’ll tell you my thoughts on the book as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

TSOCThe Official Book Blurb

When Holly White’s fiancé cancels their Christmas Eve wedding with less than two weeks to go, Holly heads home with a broken heart. Lucky for her, home in historic Mistletoe, Maine is magical during Christmastime—exactly what the doctor prescribed. Except her plan to drown her troubles in peppermints and snickerdoodles is upended when local grouch and president of the Mistletoe Historical Society Margaret Fenwick is bludgeoned and left in the sleigh display at Reindeer Games, Holly’s family tree farm.

When the murder weapon is revealed as one of the wooden stakes used to identify trees on the farm, Sheriff Evan Grey turns to Holly’s father, Bud, and the Reindeer Games staff. And it doesn’t help that Bud and the reindeer keeper were each seen arguing with Margaret just before her death. But Holly knows her father, and is determined to exonerate him.The jingle bells are ringing, the clock is ticking, and if Holly doesn’t watch out, she’ll end up on Santa’s naughty list in Twelve Slays of Christmas, Jacqueline Frost’s jolly series debut.

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Twelve Slays of Christmas by Jacqueline Frost @crookedlanebks”

#Blogtour: The Last Post by BK Duncan @bkduncanwriter @Bloodhoundbook

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog blitz for The Last Post by BK Duncan. My thanks to Sarah Hardy from Bloodhound books for including me on the tour. I’ll let you know my thoughts in just a moment, once we’ve taken a look at what the book is about.

The last post 2.1 final.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

It is April 1918. May Keaps is a twenty year old ambulance driver stationed at The Front. As if transporting hideously wounded soldiers, sleep deprivation and constant shell bombardment weren’t enough, she becomes unwittingly entangled in the untimely death of a young captain, Tobias Fairfax.

Newly-arrived in Northern France he was found with a discharged pistol by his side; rumours on the battlefield were that it wasn’t an accident and he had taken the coward’s way out, committing suicide.

Whatever the explanation, Tobias left a dangerous legacy that puts May in the line of fire. But she is not the only one with a reason to want to uncover the truth. And in a world where life can be extinguished in the blink of an eye, May might regret her search for answers…

The Last Post is the haunting introduction to the May Keaps series. 

Continue reading “#Blogtour: The Last Post by BK Duncan @bkduncanwriter @Bloodhoundbook”

#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to join the blog blitz for Dying Day, the latest book in the Kate Matthews series by Stephen Edger. My thanks go to Noelle Holten and Bookouture for inviting me to join the blitz. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

DDThe Official Book Blurb

Some mistakes you live with. Others you die for…

When the body of a young woman is found in the boot of an abandoned car near the Southampton Docks, Detective Kate Matthews is ordered to stay well away from the scene.

Exactly a year ago, Amy, a junior detective on Kate’s team, was murdered when she was sent undercover to catch a serial killer targeting young girls. Kate never forgave herself for letting the killer slip through her fingers and her team are worried this coincidence might push her over the edge…

When another girl’s body is uncovered days later with similar bruising around the neck, Kate launches an investigation of her own, determined to connect new evidence to the old to catch this monster before more innocent lives are taken… 

Mysterious sympathy cards sent to the victims’ families finally lead Kate to the twisted individual from her past. But if she’s found the killer, why does the body count keep rising? 

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and M.J. Arlidge. 

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Dying Day by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @Bookouture”

Review: Elephant and Sheep and other stories by Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg @mgriffiths163

Today, Mandie reviews the new childrens’ books by Patricia Furstenberg, The Elephant and the Sheep, The Cheetah and the Dog and The Lion and the Dog which are all released today. Happy publication day Patricia.

TEATS.jpgThe Elephant and the Sheep

 

With poetic rhymes this striking picture book about the love and the simple kindness of a stranger is sure to touch a deep chord, particularly with fans of John Lennon’s “Imagine.”

When a lamb meets an elephant calf the two are happy to share a small patch of grass and a tiny water puddle available during the Big-Bad Thirst. None notices how different their bodies are, as the two are happy to spend their days together. Soon the sheep wishes that he, too, would arrive first at their meeting place and so he wakes up earlier and earlier each day. But no matter how hard he tries he cannot arrive before the elephant – because the elephant never left their tree, not having a home of his own. The sheep invites friend elephant to join her and her flock so that he will also have a family.
Inspired by the true story of Themba, the orphan elephant and Albert the good-hearted sheep that adopted him and cuddled him, the two remaining log-life best friends, “The Elephant and the Sheep” is a hymn to innocence and unconditional love, a read that is sure to warm up everyone’s heart. 

TCATD.jpgThe Cheetah and the Dog

When a cheetah cub and a puppy dog bump into each other while chasing the same prey, it is only natural for them to play together until sundown; and the next day; and the following one. The two animals care for each other so much that they even rescue their respective packs, thus becoming an African tale.

Inspired by the true story of Kasi, the orphaned male cheetah, and Mtani, the female Labrador, which struck a remarkable friendship and remained life-long friends, “The Cheetah and the Dog” is a glorious celebration of curiosity, respect for life, and unconventional wisdom, a heart-warming, fun read that belongs on any family’s bedtime shelf.

TLATD.jpgThe Lion and the Dog

Here is a beautiful picture book with musical rhymes that celebrates diversity and promotes kindness, sure to strike a chord with the many fans of Louis Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World”.

When a lion is removed from his natural habitat, forced to leave his African land and his pride behind and crowned King of Animals in a zoo, but acts out and becomes a secluded, captive beast all humans give up hope. Only a patient and observant brown little dog stands by his side and, through his optimism and kindness, turns the beast into a friend for life. 

Inspired by the true story of Bonedigger, the disabled lion and the friendly Dachshund Milo who proved that friendship knows no boundaries, “The Lion and the Dog” is a brilliant, colourful tale that shines when read aloud and is a definitive must-have for all collections.

Continue reading “Review: Elephant and Sheep and other stories by Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg @mgriffiths163”