#BlogTour: #Extract The Second Son by Andy Blackman @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000

Today it is my pleasure to be bringing you an extract of The Second Son by Andy Blackman as part of the blog tour. With thanks to Rachel Gilbey of Authoright for inviting me to take part. Let’s start by taking a look at what this book is all about.

The Second Son CoverThe Official Book Blurb

As the second son of the Duke of Hampshire, Grenville St John Hampton isn’t likely to inherit his family’s title or estate, leaving him pondering an empty, aimless future. During the summer break from university, he impulsively decides to go backpacking with one of his oldest friends, Johnathan; their destination is Belize.

One sultry night on the Central American coastline, Grenville and Johnathan meet Tom. A game of darts takes a vicious turn. Realising he has nothing to look forward to back at home, Grenville decides to stay on in Belize with Tom, in pursuit of adventure. Together, the new friends establish an import business, and for the rst time in his life, Grenville has a sense of purpose.

But back in England all is not well. The sudden death of his brother leaves Grenville with an unexpected – and now unwanted – inheritance, with new consequences and responsibilities. He will return to claim the family’s seat with a dark secret in tow.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: #Extract The Second Son by Andy Blackman @AuthorightUKPR @Gilbster1000”

#Extract: The Secret Mother by Shalini Boland @ShaliniBoland @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be able to share an extract from the upcoming release from Shalini Boland and Bookouture, The Secret Mother, which is out on the 9th November. Before we take a look at that extract, let’s take a look at what it is all about.

The-Secret-Mother-KindleThe Official Book Blurb

Tessa Markham comes home to find a child in her kitchen calling her ‘mummy’. But Tessa doesn’t have any children.

Not anymore.

She doesn’t know who the little boy is or how he got there.

After contacting the police, Tessa comes under suspicion for snatching the child. She must fight to prove her innocence. But how can she convince everyone she’s not guilty when even those closest to her are questioning the truth? And when Tessa doesn’t even trust herself…

A chilling, unputdownable thriller with a dark twist that will take your breath away and make you wonder if you can ever trust anyone again. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

Continue reading “#Extract: The Secret Mother by Shalini Boland @ShaliniBoland @Bookouture”

Get ready to meet Britain’s Worst Innkeeper – Christmas Competition with @MicheleGormanUK

Win 4 dozen homemade Christmas cookies from Sunday Times bestselling author Michele Gorman, aka Lilly Bartlett!

October 25th sees the release of the new romantic comedy from author Lilly Bartlett, Christmas at The Falling Down Guesthouse. I have been lucky enough to get to read this ahead of publication and I can tell you that it is fantastic. Here’s a little bit more about the book.

CATFDGHThe Official Book Blurb

Put your feet up and tuck into the mince pies, because you won’t have to lift a finger to enjoy this Christmas!

Too bad the same can’t be said for single mother and extremely undomestic goddess, Lottie. When her beloved Aunt Kate ends up in hospital just before Christmas, Lottie and her seven-year-old daughter rush to rural Wales to take over her B&B. A picky hotel reviewer and his mad family are coming to stay, and without the rating only he can give them, Aunt Kate will lose her livelihood. 

But Lottie can barely run her own life, let alone a hotel. How will she manage to turn the falling-down guesthouse into the luxurious wonderland the reviewer expects? And could the mysterious taxi driver, Danny, who agrees to help her, turn out to be the real gift this season?

As the snow sparkles on the trees and hot chocolate steams in your hand, snuggle into the delicious magic of Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse.

Continue reading “Get ready to meet Britain’s Worst Innkeeper – Christmas Competition with @MicheleGormanUK”

Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite @BCopperthwait @bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining in the blog blitz for the release of Barbara Copperthwaite’s new psychological thriller, Her Last Secret. Thanks to Barbara and Noelle Holten for inviting me to take part. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

HLSThe Official Book Blurb

Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.

They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.

They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them destroy them all? 

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page.

Continue reading “Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite @BCopperthwait @bookouture”

#Review: Love Like Blood by Mark Billingham @MarkBillingham @LittleBrownUK

This is a book I’ve had sat in my tbr for a while now. I had all good intentions but like with so many other books, time just got away from me. A few weeks back I had a good few hours to kill driving to Stirling and back to attend Bloody Scotland so I figured what the hell, bought the audio book (I’m slowly collecting the entire Tom Thorne back catalogue that way any how) and set it to play. As soon as we’ve taken a quick look at the book blurb, I’ll let you know what I thought.

LLBThe Official Book Blurb

A BLOODY MESSAGE
As DI Nicola Tanner investigates what appears to be a series of organised killings, her partner Susan is brutally murdered, leaving the detective bereft, and vengeful.

A POWERFUL ALLY
Taken off the case, Tanner enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to pursue a pair of ruthless killers and the broker handing out the deadly contracts.

A CONSPIRACY OF SILENCE
As the killers target their latest victim, Thorne takes the biggest risk of his career and is drawn into a horrifying and disturbing world in which families will do anything to protect their honour.

Continue reading “#Review: Love Like Blood by Mark Billingham @MarkBillingham @LittleBrownUK”