#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea

Today I’m delighted to be joining the blog tour for Roxanne Bouchard’s We Were The Salt of the Sea. My thanks to Publisher Orenda Books for providing an advance copy for review and to Anne Cater for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll share my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as I’ve told you what the book is all about.

wwtsotsAbout the Book

As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots.

Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation.

On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky…

Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard @RBouchard72 @givemeawave @OrendaBooks #saltofthesea”

Guest Post & Review: Call To Arms by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett

Today it is my absolute pleasure to bring you a guest post from author Rachel Amphlett. Rachel writes two of my favourite series, the Dan Taylor action thrillers and the Kay Hunter crime thrillers so any time I hear there is a new book on the horizon I am filled with joy. I’ll be sharing Rachel’s post with you, and my thoughts on her new release, Call To Arms which is out today, just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

Call to Arms Cover LARGE EBOOKAbout the Book

Loyalty has a price.

Kay Hunter has survived a vicious attack at the hands of one of the country’s most evil serial killers.

Returning to work after an enforced absence to recover, she discovers she wasn’t the only victim of that investigation. DI Devon Sharp remains suspended from duties, and the team is in turmoil.

Determined to prove herself once more and clear his name, Kay undertakes to solve a cold case that links Sharp to his accuser.

But as she gets closer to the truth, she realises her enquiries could do more harm than good.

Torn between protecting her mentor and finding out the truth, the consequences of Kay’s enquiries will reach far beyond her new role…

Call to Arms is a gripping police procedural, and the fifth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:


Continue reading “Guest Post & Review: Call To Arms by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett”

#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all

Today I hand over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog tour for the latest in the DI Mariner series by Chris Collett, Baby Lies. Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for including us on the tour and providing the advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon s we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BLAbout the Book

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.
‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post
Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.
The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.
Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return   . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.
Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?
Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry
But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.
Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all”

#BlogTour: The Babysitter by Sheryl Browne @SherylBrowne @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog blitz for The Babysitter, the new release from Sheryl Browne. My thanks to Kim Nash and publisher Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the blitz and for providing an advance copy of the book for review. I’ll share my thoughts on it just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

About the Book

You trust her with your family. Would you trust her with your life?

Mark and Melissa Cain are thrilled to have found Jade, a babysitter who is brilliant with their young children. Having seen her own house burn to the ground, Jade needs them as much as they need her. Moving Jade into the family home can only be a good thing, can’t it?

As Mark works long hours as a police officer and Melissa struggles with running a business, the family become ever more reliant on their babysitter, who is only too happy to help. And as Melissa begins to slip into depression, it’s Jade who is left picking up the pieces.

But Mark soon notices things aren’t quite as they seem. Things at home feel wrong, and as Mark begins to investigate their seemingly perfect sitter, what he discovers shocks him to his core. He’s met Jade before. And now he suspects he might know what she wants …

Mark is in a race against time to protect his family. But what will he find as he goes back to his family home?

If you loved reading The Girl on the TrainBehind Closed Doors and The Sister, you’ll love the suspense of The Babysitter. This unputdownable read will have you turning the pages until way after dark.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Babysitter by Sheryl Browne @SherylBrowne @Bookouture”

#BlogTour: Spring on the Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley – #Extract @PhillipaAshley @Avon

Today I am delighted to bring to you all an extract from Spring On The Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley, and thanks to Sabah Khan at Avon for inviting me to join the tour. Let’s see what the book is all about.

SOTLCFAbout the Book

Fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews will love this gorgeous new book from the author of the bestselling Cornish Café series.

Jess has lived at the idyllic flower farm on the Isles of Scilly her whole life, but when her boyfriend Adam leaves without explanation, Jess discovers that even her little slice of Cornish heaven can be lonely.

For the first time in Will’s life, he’s met someone he can’t stop thinking about. But nothing is simple when the woman of your dreams is working for you.

Gaby is running away from painful memories, and where could be more perfect than a remote island off the Cornish coast? But to put the past behind her, she must keep moving … however much she might want to stay.

Nothing is simple, even on paradise. Will love bloom for the residents of the little Cornish Isles?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Spring on the Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley – #Extract @PhillipaAshley @Avon”