Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour

Today it’s my great pleasure to bring you an extract from Freefall by Adam Hamdy as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for the invitation to take part. The book celebrated its paperback release on 17th May but before we see the brilliant opening chapter, let’s see what it is all about.

ffAbout the Book

ONE RULE. TRUST NO-ONE.

This explosive, pulse-racing thriller is perfect for fans of JACK REACHER and ORPHAN X, with a story as unexpected as a sniper’s bullet. Adam Hamdy’s first PENDULUM novel was called ‘one of the best thrillers of the year’ by JAMES PATTERSON.

JOHN WALLACE IS A TARGET
Hiding off-grid after exposing the shadowy Pendulum conspiracy, Wallace is horrified to discover he is still marked for death.

THERE ARE ONLY TWO PEOPLE HE CAN TRUST
DI Patrick Bailey is still reeling from the murder investigation that nearly cost him his life. 
FBI Agent Christine Ash is hunting a serial killer with a link to an unfinished case

HE MUST FIND THE TRUTH
The death of a London journalist triggers an investigation that brings them back together, hurling them into the path of an unknown enemy.

BEFORE THE KILLER FINDS HIM
Hunted across the world, they are plunged into a nightmare deadlier than they could have ever imagined.

One of the best thriller writers I’ve read in recent years, Adam’s writing is slick and unputdownable, he hooks you in from the first chapter and doesn’t let you come up for air.’ JENNY BLACKHURST, the #1 eBook

Continue reading “Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour”

Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour celebrating the release of the third in the Cathy Connolly series of books by Sam Blake, No Turning Back. My thanks to Imogen Sebba from publishers Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to join the tour. I read the first in the series, the brilliant Little Bones and so I’m delighted to be able to share with you an extract from the book, as well as my thoughts, First though, here is what it’s all about.

lbAbout the Book

For fans of Alex Barclay and Niamh O’Connor, Little Bones introduces Cathy Connolly, a bright young heroine set to take the world of crime fiction by storm.

Attending what seems to be a routine break-in, troubled Detective Garda Cathy Connolly makes a grisly discovery: an old wedding dress – and, concealed in its hem, a baby’s bones.

And then the dress’s original owner, Lavinia Grant, is found dead in a Dublin suburb.

Searching for answers, Cathy is drawn deep into a complex web of secrets and lies spun by three generations of women.

Meanwhile, a fugitive killer has already left two dead in execution style killings across the Atlantic – and now he’s in Dublin with old scores to settle. Will the team track him down before he kills again?

Struggling with her own secrets, Cathy doesn’t know dangerous – and personal – this case is about to become…

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre”

Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Fault Lines, the brand new thriller from Doug Johnstone set in an altered version of the Edinburgh landscape which you might not quite recognise. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

FLAbout the Book

Brilliantly constructed speculative crime fiction
A classic whodunit
Dark psychological suspense

Doug Johnstone returns with his most explosive and original thriller yet…

A little lie … a seismic secret … and the cracks are beginning to show…

In a reimagined contemporary Edinburgh, where a tectonic fault has opened up to produce a new volcano in the Firth of Forth, and where tremors are an everyday occurrence, volcanologist Surtsey makes a shocking discovery. 

On a clandestine trip to new volcanic island The Inch, to meet Tom, her lover and her boss, she finds his lifeless body, and makes the fatal decision to keep their affair, and her discovery, a secret. Desperate to know how he died, but also terrified she’ll be exposed, Surtsey’s life quickly spirals into a nightmare when someone makes contact – someone who claims to know what she’s done…

Continue reading “Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours”

Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture

maki-2627589_640

My face when I hear there is a new Angela Marsons/Kim Stone book available. It was also pretty much my expression when I’d finished reading the book too, coupled with a little more of this …

baby-443393_640.jpg

Yes folks. The latest book, Dying Truth, is now available and having had the opportunity to read it in advance of publication I am delighted to share my thoughts with you all today as part of the blog blitz. Big thanks to publishers Bookouture for providing the advance copy for review. Here, in case you have missed all the build up to this fabulous book (and if you did miss it you can read the prologue here) is what it is all about. Continue reading “Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture”

Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over the reigns to Mandie who has finally got off her arse and read Broken Bones by Angela Marsons. Perfect timing really seeing as book eight in the series, Dying Truth, is released tomorrow. Anyone would think we’d planned it that way… If you want to be reminded of my thoughts on the book, you can see them here (or here if you want to be scared). Before we do anything else though, let’s see what the book is all about.

BBAbout the Book

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers in the Black Country are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable. 

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what at first looks like a tragic abandonment soon takes an even more sinister turn.

When another young woman goes missing, the two investigations bring the team into a terrifying, hidden world, and a showdown puts Kim’s life at risk as secrets from her own past come to light.

As Kim battles her own demons, can she stop the killer, before another life is lost?

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist.

Continue reading “Guest Review: Broken Bones by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture @mgriffiths163”