Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK

Happy publication day to Caroline England whose debut novel, Beneath The Skin, is released today by Avon Harper Collins. I had the pleasure of meeting Caroline earlier in the year at Crime Fest where we had a good chat about book marketing and blogging. I’m not sure if I was really much help to her, but I must have sounded convincing enough because Caroline kindly took some time out of her busy schedule in the lead up to her book launch, in order to answer a few of my random, and not so random, questions…

First up, let’s take a quick look at the book.

BTSThe Official Book Blurb

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE

No-one remembers your past. But you do.

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Continue reading “Author Q&A – Caroline England #BeneathTheSkin @CazEngland @AvonBooksUK”

Alison Brodie, author of #Zenka @alisonbrodie2 #Extract

Today I’m delighted to feature author Alison Brodie on the blog with an extract from her upcoming book, Zenka. I read and loved Alison’s last book, Brake Failure, earlier in the year and can’t wait to get stuck into this latest offering. In the meantime let’s find out what Zenka is all about.

Zenka_Final_Amazon_1535x2500 - CopyThe Official Book Blurb

Ruthless, capricious, and loyal.

Zenka is a Hungarian pole-dancer with a dark past.

When cranky London mob boss, Jack Murray, saves her life she vows to become his guardian angel – whether he likes it or not.  Happily, she now has easy access to pistols and shotguns.

Jack learns he has a son, Nicholas, a male nurse with a heart of gold.  Problem is, Nicholas is a wimp.

Zenka takes charges.  Using her feminine wiles and gangland contacts, she aims to turn Nicholas into a son any self-respecting crime boss would be proud of.  And she succeeds!

Nicholas transforms from pussycat to mad dog, falls in love with Zenka, and finds out where the bodies are buried – because he buries them.  He’s learning fast that sometimes you have to kill, or be killed.

As his life becomes more terrifying, questions have to be asked:

How do you tell a crime boss you don’t want to be his son?

And is Zenka really who she says she is?

Continue reading “Alison Brodie, author of #Zenka @alisonbrodie2 #Extract”

#Blogtour: Transition by Jo Huey @Joanne_Huey @EmmaMitchellFPR

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Transition by Jo Huey and my thanks go to Emma Mitchell for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have an author spotlight to share with you all in just a moment, but first of all, here is what the book is all about.

The Official Book Blurb

An autobiography of Jo’s life from the trauma and unpredictability of living in an alcoholic home, through self-development transformation to the more content, happy and successful business woman she is today.

Jo shares her many insights into alcoholism and the effects on the family. An honest and brutal account of Jo’s experience with her father’s addiction to alcohol, she shares the highs and lows of life with an absent father and busy mother.

After life hit an all-time low in adulthood she decided to turn her life around and start a journey of self-discovery. Jo transformed herself through therapy, self-help books, groups, events and more which she shares in the book.

If you have experienced the challenges of living with someone’s drinking, then you’ll relate to Jo’s experience and feel the connection with her story.

If you are interested in an inspirational and motivational story, then you won’t be disappointed. Within the book, Jo shares several techniques you’ll be able to learn and use in your life if you really want the change you seek.

Jo Huey is an inspirational & motivational speaker, coach and author.

Jo gets up every morning wanting to help those with experiences like hers, those affected by someone’s drinking. She connects the dots to form a new picture using practical tools & techniques with the aim that they would genuinely feel better about themselves and live a calmer and chaos free life.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: Transition by Jo Huey @Joanne_Huey @EmmaMitchellFPR”

Author Q&A: Chris Carter – Author of The Caller @simonschusterUK ‏

So. This is a bit of a change for me as I normally shy away from anything too technical. However, if you are offered the opportunity to pester, I mean ask very important and highly intelligent questions of an author like Chris Carter, you can’t really turn it down now can you? His latest book, The Caller, the eighth in the highly successful and downright fabulous Robert Hunter series is released today in paperback.

Now when I say highly intelligent questions, that may have been the intention when I agreed to this, but I am hopeless at that kind of thing. However, Mr Carter kindly found the time to indulge me and answer my considerably less intelligent questions, including divulging his opinions on the British institution that is the Jaffa Cake. Prepare yourselves folks – his thoughts are somewhat controversial … Continue reading “Author Q&A: Chris Carter – Author of The Caller @simonschusterUK ‏”

#BlogTour Guest Post: Dying Art by Malcolm Hollingdrake @MHollingdrake @Bloodhoundbooks

It is my absolute pleasure to be one of the two blogs opening up the tour for Dying Art, the start of a new DCI Bennett series from Malcolm Hollingdrake, alongside Caroline over at Bits About Books. Thanks fo Sarah Hardy at Bloodhound Books for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I have a fabulous guest post from Malcolm to share with you all in just a moment, including a short extract from the book, but first, here is what this book is all about.

DyingArt handThe Official Book Blurb

Following his recovery from a personal and professional trauma, Detective Chief Inspector Cyril Bennett has been declared medically fit to resume his police duties. He returns to discover a complex case involving the art world.

Soon Bennett unearths a dark side of the industry where greed, ambition and dubious practices thrive and, where there is money to be made, violence and murder are never far away.

Working their way through a maze of galleries, museums and the internet, Bennett’s team struggles to make sense of the evidence.

Can Bennett tell the difference between what is real and what is fake?

Continue reading “#BlogTour Guest Post: Dying Art by Malcolm Hollingdrake @MHollingdrake @Bloodhoundbooks”