#FestiveReads: Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain @Heidi_Swain ‏@simonschusterUK @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has another festive review, this time Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

MMATCM.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas has arrived in the town of Wynbridge and it promises mince pies, mistletoe and a whole host of seasonal joy.

Ruby has finished with university and is heading home for the holidays to save up for her trip around the world in January. Against her father’s wishes, she takes on a stall at the local market, and sets about making it the best Christmas market stall ever. There’ll be bunting and mistletoe and maybe even a bit of mulled wine.

But with a new retail park just opened on their doorstep, the market is under threat. So together with all the other stallholders, Ruby devises a plan to make sure that Wynbridge is the first port of call for everyone’s Christmas shopping needs.

The only thing standing in her way is Ruby’s ex, Steve. It’s pretty hard to concentrate on saving the world when he works on the stall opposite, especially when she realises that her feelings for him are still there…

This Christmas make time for some winter sparkle – and see who might be under the mistletoe this year… 

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain @Heidi_Swain ‏@simonschusterUK @mgriffiths163”

#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another Christmas book, this time Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles. We’ll see what Mandie thought just as soon we we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CWTBG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it’s going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?

A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at.

Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer.

What dark secret lies in Galdys’s heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all?

Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles’ mesmerising novels . . .

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163”

Review: Elephant and Sheep and other stories by Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg @mgriffiths163

Today, Mandie reviews the new childrens’ books by Patricia Furstenberg, The Elephant and the Sheep, The Cheetah and the Dog and The Lion and the Dog which are all released today. Happy publication day Patricia.

TEATS.jpgThe Elephant and the Sheep

 

With poetic rhymes this striking picture book about the love and the simple kindness of a stranger is sure to touch a deep chord, particularly with fans of John Lennon’s “Imagine.”

When a lamb meets an elephant calf the two are happy to share a small patch of grass and a tiny water puddle available during the Big-Bad Thirst. None notices how different their bodies are, as the two are happy to spend their days together. Soon the sheep wishes that he, too, would arrive first at their meeting place and so he wakes up earlier and earlier each day. But no matter how hard he tries he cannot arrive before the elephant – because the elephant never left their tree, not having a home of his own. The sheep invites friend elephant to join her and her flock so that he will also have a family.
Inspired by the true story of Themba, the orphan elephant and Albert the good-hearted sheep that adopted him and cuddled him, the two remaining log-life best friends, “The Elephant and the Sheep” is a hymn to innocence and unconditional love, a read that is sure to warm up everyone’s heart. 

TCATD.jpgThe Cheetah and the Dog

When a cheetah cub and a puppy dog bump into each other while chasing the same prey, it is only natural for them to play together until sundown; and the next day; and the following one. The two animals care for each other so much that they even rescue their respective packs, thus becoming an African tale.

Inspired by the true story of Kasi, the orphaned male cheetah, and Mtani, the female Labrador, which struck a remarkable friendship and remained life-long friends, “The Cheetah and the Dog” is a glorious celebration of curiosity, respect for life, and unconventional wisdom, a heart-warming, fun read that belongs on any family’s bedtime shelf.

TLATD.jpgThe Lion and the Dog

Here is a beautiful picture book with musical rhymes that celebrates diversity and promotes kindness, sure to strike a chord with the many fans of Louis Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World”.

When a lion is removed from his natural habitat, forced to leave his African land and his pride behind and crowned King of Animals in a zoo, but acts out and becomes a secluded, captive beast all humans give up hope. Only a patient and observant brown little dog stands by his side and, through his optimism and kindness, turns the beast into a friend for life. 

Inspired by the true story of Bonedigger, the disabled lion and the friendly Dachshund Milo who proved that friendship knows no boundaries, “The Lion and the Dog” is a brilliant, colourful tale that shines when read aloud and is a definitive must-have for all collections.

Continue reading “Review: Elephant and Sheep and other stories by Patricia Furstenberg @PatFurstenberg @mgriffiths163”

Festive Reads: A Christmas Flower by Bryan Mooney @RealBryanMooney @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another festive read, this time Bryan Mooney’s A Christmas Flower.

ACF.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

When a New England Christmas reunites two lifelong friends, romance blooms. From the author of Christmas in Vermont.

Miracles are like snowflakes–no two are alike, but each one is precious and beautiful. This Christmas, Dr. Beth Harding could use a few miracles. The hospital she runs in River Dale, New Hampshire, is being shut down, unless she can convince the Scrooge-like board to save it. At least her closest friend, firefighter Logan Mitchell, is home for the holidays to offer a broad shoulder to lean on.

In California, Logan is a smoke jumper, but jumping into a romance with his best friend scares him more than any forest fire. After losing his parents at sixteen, Logan was taken in by Beth’s family. As kids, they were like brother and sister. Now they’re grown up, and sparks keep flying between them. If only Beth wasn’t already engaged. Maybe with a Christmas miracle or two, Beth can keep those hospital doors open–and two dear friends can finally allow their one true love to blossom.

Continue reading “Festive Reads: A Christmas Flower by Bryan Mooney @RealBryanMooney @mgriffiths163”

Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163

The second of Mandie’s reviews is a short childrens’ Christmas story, Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts

SPBMAG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Dear Santa? That’s how Tess starts her letter. You don’t have to bring me any toys this year. The only thing I want is a real gnome. Full of anticipation, Tess looks forward to the day her new friend arrives: a friend she can take everywhere, and with whom she can share everything. With Grandpa and Grandma’s help, she gets everything ready. Grandpa builds little pieces of furniture, Grandma sews a little blanket, and Tess prepares a welcome meal. And then it’s finally Christmas Eve ? Will Santa bring a real gnome?

A heartwarming picture book with wonderfully funny illustrations.

Continue reading “Festive Reads: Santa, Please Bring Me A Gnome by An Swerts @mgriffiths163”