#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163

Today I hand the blog over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog blitz for the new release from Sharon Maas, The Girl From The Sugar Plantation. Thanks to Noelle Holten for including us on the tour and to Bookouture for providing a copy of the book for review. We’ll be sharing Mandie’s thoughts on the book, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what it’s all about.

The-Girl-from-the-Sugar-Plantation-Kindle.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

An unputdownable story of a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Guyana. All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret… 

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas @sharon_maas @bookouture @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh @annepenketh @joffebooks #GuestReview @mgriffiths163

Today I am handing the blog over to my guest reviewer Mandie. Mandie has a review of The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh as part of the blog tour. Thanks to publishers Joffe Books for inviting her to be included in the tour and providing an advance copy of the book for review.

Before we see Mandie’s thoughts, lets take a look at what the book is about.

Burning woman

The Official Book Blurb

DI Sam Clayton is called to a murder scene in Holt, not expecting to find his estranged sister at the scene. Her husband, Henry Lambton, has been murdered. Clayton is taken off the case and DS Julie Everett continues the investigation.

Clayton focuses on a vicious arson attack in Norwich. The fire killed a Polish family in their home. It seems to be part of a series of racist attacks connected to an extremist group.

The two crimes stretch the team and both come dangerously close to home. And can Clayton forgive his sister for what happened over twenty years ago?

In a thrilling conclusion, they race against time to prevent more attacks and get justice for their loved and not so loved ones.

THE BAD SISTER is the second in a new series of page-turning crime thrillers set in an atmospheric part of Norfolk. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Mel Sherratt, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh @annepenketh @joffebooks #GuestReview @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Lies That Poison by Amanda Fleet @amanda_fleet1 @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m hading over to Mandie who has a review of Amanda Fleet’s Lies That Poison as part of the blog tour. We’ll take a look at the review in a minute, as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

FINAL COVERThe Official Book Blurb

Do you love psychological thrillers? Discover a new writer who will have you gripped from start to finish. This is a novel with stunning twists that you won’t see coming.

WHOSE SIDE ARE YOU ON? DO YOU BELIEVE ALYS OR HANNAH?

When Tom Bowman moves to a pretty Yorkshire village to start a new business, he meets two women who will change his life. 

Alys is a young woman with a troubled past, including an abusive boyfriend. She says she doesn’t want another man, but a relationship soon develops between her and Tom.

Tom’s other neighbour is Hannah, an elderly woman who is often confused between past and present. 50 years ago, her sister died tragically young. Now, she sometimes thinks that Tom is the man who was to blame.

Hannah hates Alys, and warns Tom that he is in great danger from the woman he’s falling in love with.

Who should he believe and who is poisoning his mind with lies?

In a pulsating conclusion, Tom faces a heartbreaking choice with the potential to shatter everything he has built. And will he finally find out the truth about Alys?

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Lies That Poison by Amanda Fleet @amanda_fleet1 @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”

Review: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn @katedunnwriter @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over the reins to Mandie who has a review of The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn. Before we hear Mandie’s thoughts, here’s what the book is all about.

TD.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

When Colin discovers his son is on a murder charge in France, he trails his small boat, ‘The Dragonfly’, across the channel to stay in Paris to try and help him. There he meets his grand-daughter – the irrepressible Delphine – for the first time. They embark on an exciting boat journey through the picturesque French canals, heading south through Burgundy, ‘until the butter melts’. 

Along the way, they catch up with Tyler, a spirited American, and through various mishaps and misunderstandings, they land big fish, cultivate new loves and uncover a burning secret. 

But can Colin finally help his son get off the hook?

Continue reading “Review: The Dragonfly by Kate Dunn @katedunnwriter @mgriffiths163”

#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over the blog to Mandie who is rounding out the blog tour for The Fourth Friend, the new novel by Joy Ellis, published by Joffe Books. We’ll be taking a look at Mandie’s review just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

9781912106868The Official Book Blurb

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Continue reading “#Blogtour: The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”