Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare @TessaDare @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing over to Mandie who has a review fo The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare. Before we take a look at the review, let’s see what it’s all about.

TDD.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Witty, Saucy Regency Romance

‘I am a Duke. I’m not asking you to marry me. I am offering to marry you. It’s a different thing entirely.’

When the Duke of Ashbury returns from war scarred, he realises he needs an heir – which means he needs a wife! When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress visits wearing a wedding dress, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:
– They will be husband and wife by night only.
– No lights, no kissing.
– No questions about his battle scars. 
– Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.

But Emma is no pushover. She has secrets and some rules of her own:
– They will have dinner together every evening.
– With conversation.
– And teasing.
– Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…

When a girl meets a Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules…

Continue reading “Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare @TessaDare @mgriffiths163”

#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all

Today I hand over to Mandie who is taking part in the blog tour for the latest in the DI Mariner series by Chris Collett, Baby Lies. Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for including us on the tour and providing the advance copy for review. We’ll take a look at Mandie’s thoughts just as soon s we’ve seen what the book is all about.

BLAbout the Book

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.
‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post
Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.
The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.
Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return   . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.
Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?
Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry
But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.
Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @books_n_all”

#BlogTour: Dark Angel by Helen Durrant @hhdurrant @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163

Today I’m handing back over to Mandie who has a review of Dark Angel, the latest in the DI Greco series from Helen Durrant. First up, lets take a look at what the book is all about.

DAThe Official Book Blurb

Love gripping crime fiction? Discover Detective Stephen Greco, a meticulous policeman with a messy personal life.

Two young men break into an expensive house in Cheshire. They take money and jewellery — and a large amount of heroin. Within twenty-four hours they are found brutally murdered.

The killings have all the hallmarks of a local drug baron. The two victims were also “angels” helping in a community project which seems to have been lowering the crime rate in the area. But not everything is as it seems.

Meanwhile, Detective Stephen Greco’s colleague and on-off girlfriend Grace is pregnant. He isn’t sure how he feels about this, and they haven’t told the boss.

And just when Greco seems to have cracked the case, new information comes to light which threatens to change everything.

This gripping and fast-paced crime mystery ends with a series of shocking twists.

If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, Ruth Rendell, or Mark Billingham you will enjoy this best-selling crime fiction writer.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dark Angel by Helen Durrant @hhdurrant @JoffeBooks @mgriffiths163”

Guest Review: Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins @CathyHopkins1 @HarperCollinsUK @mgriffiths163

Today, Mandie takes over the blog again with a review of Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins. We’ll see what Mandie thought in just a moment after we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

DOTHThe Official Book Blurb

The hilarious and poignant new novel from the best selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List.

When a boxset of Broadchurch is more appealing than having sex with your husband, then perhaps it’s time to hide the remote…

Cait and Matt have been married for 30 years. They are rock solid. An inspiration to others. Stuck together like glue. But Cait can’t shake off the feeling that something is missing. The whole world should be their oyster now that Matt has retired, so why does she feel shut up like a clam?

Things get more complicated when Tom Lewis, the man who broke her heart at university, makes a reappearance – still as charming as ever. Her friends, widow Lorna and newly-single Debs, have their own views of what Cait should do – but she isn’t in the mood to listen.

When Tom makes Cait an unexpected offer, Cait feels the pull of a different life. Has she got the guts to take the plunge, or does it take more courage to give her marriage another chance?

Funny and thoughtful, this is a book for anyone who ever wondered . . . what if?

Continue reading “Guest Review: Dancing Over The Hill by Cathy Hopkins @CathyHopkins1 @HarperCollinsUK @mgriffiths163”

#FestiveReads: Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain @Heidi_Swain ‏@simonschusterUK @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has another festive review, this time Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

MMATCM.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas has arrived in the town of Wynbridge and it promises mince pies, mistletoe and a whole host of seasonal joy.

Ruby has finished with university and is heading home for the holidays to save up for her trip around the world in January. Against her father’s wishes, she takes on a stall at the local market, and sets about making it the best Christmas market stall ever. There’ll be bunting and mistletoe and maybe even a bit of mulled wine.

But with a new retail park just opened on their doorstep, the market is under threat. So together with all the other stallholders, Ruby devises a plan to make sure that Wynbridge is the first port of call for everyone’s Christmas shopping needs.

The only thing standing in her way is Ruby’s ex, Steve. It’s pretty hard to concentrate on saving the world when he works on the stall opposite, especially when she realises that her feelings for him are still there…

This Christmas make time for some winter sparkle – and see who might be under the mistletoe this year… 

Continue reading “#FestiveReads: Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market by Heidi Swain @Heidi_Swain ‏@simonschusterUK @mgriffiths163”