Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour

Today it’s my great pleasure to bring you an extract from Freefall by Adam Hamdy as part of the blog tour. Thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for the invitation to take part. The book celebrated its paperback release on 17th May but before we see the brilliant opening chapter, let’s see what it is all about.

ffAbout the Book

ONE RULE. TRUST NO-ONE.

This explosive, pulse-racing thriller is perfect for fans of JACK REACHER and ORPHAN X, with a story as unexpected as a sniper’s bullet. Adam Hamdy’s first PENDULUM novel was called ‘one of the best thrillers of the year’ by JAMES PATTERSON.

JOHN WALLACE IS A TARGET
Hiding off-grid after exposing the shadowy Pendulum conspiracy, Wallace is horrified to discover he is still marked for death.

THERE ARE ONLY TWO PEOPLE HE CAN TRUST
DI Patrick Bailey is still reeling from the murder investigation that nearly cost him his life. 
FBI Agent Christine Ash is hunting a serial killer with a link to an unfinished case

HE MUST FIND THE TRUTH
The death of a London journalist triggers an investigation that brings them back together, hurling them into the path of an unknown enemy.

BEFORE THE KILLER FINDS HIM
Hunted across the world, they are plunged into a nightmare deadlier than they could have ever imagined.

One of the best thriller writers I’ve read in recent years, Adam’s writing is slick and unputdownable, he hooks you in from the first chapter and doesn’t let you come up for air.’ JENNY BLACKHURST, the #1 eBook

Continue reading “Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour”

Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour celebrating the release of the third in the Cathy Connolly series of books by Sam Blake, No Turning Back. My thanks to Imogen Sebba from publishers Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to join the tour. I read the first in the series, the brilliant Little Bones and so I’m delighted to be able to share with you an extract from the book, as well as my thoughts, First though, here is what it’s all about.

lbAbout the Book

For fans of Alex Barclay and Niamh O’Connor, Little Bones introduces Cathy Connolly, a bright young heroine set to take the world of crime fiction by storm.

Attending what seems to be a routine break-in, troubled Detective Garda Cathy Connolly makes a grisly discovery: an old wedding dress – and, concealed in its hem, a baby’s bones.

And then the dress’s original owner, Lavinia Grant, is found dead in a Dublin suburb.

Searching for answers, Cathy is drawn deep into a complex web of secrets and lies spun by three generations of women.

Meanwhile, a fugitive killer has already left two dead in execution style killings across the Atlantic – and now he’s in Dublin with old scores to settle. Will the team track him down before he kills again?

Struggling with her own secrets, Cathy doesn’t know dangerous – and personal – this case is about to become…

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Cathy Connolly Series by Sam Blake @samblakebooks @BonnierZaffre”

Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Fault Lines, the brand new thriller from Doug Johnstone set in an altered version of the Edinburgh landscape which you might not quite recognise. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in just a moment, as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

FLAbout the Book

Brilliantly constructed speculative crime fiction
A classic whodunit
Dark psychological suspense

Doug Johnstone returns with his most explosive and original thriller yet…

A little lie … a seismic secret … and the cracks are beginning to show…

In a reimagined contemporary Edinburgh, where a tectonic fault has opened up to produce a new volcano in the Firth of Forth, and where tremors are an everyday occurrence, volcanologist Surtsey makes a shocking discovery. 

On a clandestine trip to new volcanic island The Inch, to meet Tom, her lover and her boss, she finds his lifeless body, and makes the fatal decision to keep their affair, and her discovery, a secret. Desperate to know how he died, but also terrified she’ll be exposed, Surtsey’s life quickly spirals into a nightmare when someone makes contact – someone who claims to know what she’s done…

Continue reading “Fault Lines by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @Orendabooks #randomthingstours”

Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture

maki-2627589_640

My face when I hear there is a new Angela Marsons/Kim Stone book available. It was also pretty much my expression when I’d finished reading the book too, coupled with a little more of this …

baby-443393_640.jpg

Yes folks. The latest book, Dying Truth, is now available and having had the opportunity to read it in advance of publication I am delighted to share my thoughts with you all today as part of the blog blitz. Big thanks to publishers Bookouture for providing the advance copy for review. Here, in case you have missed all the build up to this fabulous book (and if you did miss it you can read the prologue here) is what it is all about. Continue reading “Dying Truth by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @Bookouture”

Ten Year Stretch Part 6: Ten Years of CrimeFest @CrimeFest @noexitpress

Today I am sharing my thoughts on the final three stories in Ten Year Stretch, the short story anthology celebrating ten years of CrimeFest. Unbelievably the convention starts tomorrow and I cannot wait. Massive thanks to publishers No Exit Press for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Let’s see what it’s all about.

TYSAbout the book

Twenty superb new crime stories have been commissioned specially to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Crimefest, described by The Guardian as ‘one of the fifty best festivals in the world’.

A star-studded international group of authors has come together in crime writing harmony to provide a killer cocktail for noir fans; salutary tales of gangster etiquette and pitfalls, clever takes on the locked-room genre, chilling wrong-footers from the deceptively peaceful suburbs, intriguing accounts of tables being turned on hapless private eyes, delicious slices of jet black nordic noir, culminating in a stunning example of bleak amorality from crime writing doyenne Maj Sjowall.

The foreword is by international bestselling thriller writer Peter James. The editors are Martin Edwards, responsible for many award-winning anthologies, and Adrian Muller, CrimeFest co-founder.

All Royalties are donated to the RNIB Talking Books Library.

The contributors to Ten Year Stretch are: Bill Beverly, Simon Brett, Lee Child, Ann Cleeves, Jeffery Deaver, Martin Edwards, Kate Ellis, Peter Guttridge, Sophie Hannah, John Harvey, Mick Herron, Donna Moore, Caro Ramsay, Ian Rankin, James Sallis, Zoe Sharp, Yrsa Siguroardottir, Maj Sjowall, Michael Stanley and Andrew Taylor.

Continue reading “Ten Year Stretch Part 6: Ten Years of CrimeFest @CrimeFest @noexitpress”