Quick Look: A Dirty Business by Rachel Amphlett

I have been loving reading the Case Files shorts from Rachel Amphlett, and another new file drops this month – A Dirty Business. Here’s what it’s about:

Source: Advance Reader Copy
Release Date: 8 March
Publisher: Saxon Publishing

About the Book

When Michael arrives at work early one winter’s day, he discovers that he’s not the only one who’s had a busy morning…

A Dirty Business forms part of the Case Files series of short crime stories from USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett.

My Thoughts

Short, sharp and completely addictive, these Case File short mysteries from Rachel Amphlett always deliver. In this story we meet Michael, a man with more than just work on his mind.

In just a few short pages, the author gives us incredible insight into Michael’s life, both home and beyond, and sets the stage for a story that will leave a satisfied smile on your face. I could see what was coming, felt the inevitable building from the start of the story, but it still really hit the spot, the ultimate reveal going to show that you should never underestimate people, and never, ever, tell lies. That is never going to end well.

It’s a very quick read – just 15 pages – but read along with the other Case Files mysteries, all standalones, highly recommended. It takes skill to create such a complete story, such rounded characters, in so few words, but Rachel Amphlett does it every single time. Loved it. You’ll never look at a recycling centre in quite the same way again …

About the Author

Rachel Amphlett is a USA Today bestselling author, best known for her fast-paced crime and thriller novels.

Her debut thriller, White Gold was released in July 2011 and features British secret agent Dan Taylor. The series established Rachel as an author to watch and spurned three more novels before Rachel turned her attention to a new character, Detective Kay Hunter.

The Kay Hunter crime thrillers are based in Maidstone, Kent and feature a tight-knit team of detectives. Praised for their authenticity and attention to detail, the books are also much loved by readers for their page-turning plots and devious twists with comparisons to TV shows NCIS and Law & Order: Criminal Intent. The first book, Scared to Death was published in 2016 and won praise from Robert Bryndza (The Girl in the Ice, Shadow Sands) and Angela Marsons (Silent Scream, Deadly Cry).

More recently, Rachel created a new crime thriller series based around the central character Mark Turpin, an Oxfordshire-based detective. The first book, None the Wiser, received critical acclaim from Adrian McKinty (The Chain) and Jo Spain (With Our Blessing, The Confession), with the follow-up book, Her Final Hour being praised by the creator of the DCI Banks series, Peter Robinson.

In addition to her detective stories, Rachel also writes the English Assassins series featuring female assassin Eva Delacourt, and a number of standalone crime thrillers, psychological thrillers and conspiracy thrillers.

A keen traveller, Rachel holds both British and Australian citizenship.