The Lost Boy by Rachel Amphlett

Today I am absolutely delighted to join the. blog tour for The Lost Boy, the latest book in the DS Mark Turpin series from Rachel Amphlett. My thanks to the author for the early copy of the book for review and to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for the tour invite. Here’s what the book is all about:

Source: Advance Reader Copy
Release Date: 11 October 2021
Publisher: Saxon Publishing

About the Book

Run. Don’t look back.

When a young teenager is stabbed to death at a busy fairground, Detective Mark Turpin is assigned the task of finding the boy’s killer.

But this was no random murder.

Mark knows the victim, and the man who ordered his death.

As he sifts through the young victim’s final days, he uncovers a powerful crime syndicate that will do anything to protect its interests.

Then tragedy strikes, and suddenly Mark isn’t just trying to solve a murder – he’s fighting for his own survival.

The Lost Boy is the third book in a new murder mystery series from USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett.

My Thoughts

Mark Turpin is back and this time the case is very, very personal. From the intense opening scenes, to some high stakes, high drama sequences that really get the heart pounding, Rachel Amphlett has served up another piece of reading heaven that fans of the series are going to love.

This time around we get to learn even more about Turpin and the case which led to a massive change in his personal life and this transfer away from the Wiltshire police force. In a story which combines murder, revenge and drug trafficking using the county lines set up, this book is packed with tension, emotion and a whole lot of action. It sees our favourite characters put in real jeopardy and had my attention with each turn of the page. I love that Rachel Amphlett is able to create such tension in her stories, a strong pedigree in writing action thrillers certainly working to her advantage in a story that needs to express both urgency and emotion. This one does that and more and of all the stories so far, it really does ramp up the sense of threat that surrounds our favourite Detective Sergeant, putting his slightly at odds with his team too.

I really have loved getting to know Mark Turpin over the course of the series and learning more about him only cements his place as one of my favourite fictional detectives. We see him not only as investigator, but as father and partner in far more detail this time too. Alongside him is the ever reliable matriarchal figure of DC Jan West, whose. mothering of Mark and the team never fails to bring a smile to my face, and her wrath, or, more importantly, disappointment is not something anyone, especially Mark, would want to experience. They make a brilliant pairing and, alongside the wider team really pull you into the story.

The case really does tap into some of the most worrying trends in current crime. Not only the constant growth of drug use in community, but the disturbing trend of grooming children to carry the goods as they are less likely to be suspected of ill deeds. It offers a protection to the higher powers, all the risk being placed on the child. It makes for some really thought provoking moments in the story, and helps to cement a real edge of sympathy for the reader towards the victim. It also amplifies the sense of guilt already inherent in Turpin which in turn informs the story and escalates that growing tension.

This is another brilliant, fast paced read that concludes in some very dramatic, pulse pounding moments. But as Rachel Amphlett is a very lovely author, it’s not all doom and gloom, and there are scenes which will certainly leave a smile on the face of the reader. They did mine. If you love the series, get reading, you won’t regret it.

About the Author

Rachel Amphlett is a USA Today bestselling author, best known for her fast-paced crime and thriller novels.

Her debut thriller, White Gold was released in July 2011 and features British secret agent Dan Taylor. The series established Rachel as an author to watch and spurned three more novels before Rachel turned her attention to a new character, Detective Kay Hunter.

The Kay Hunter crime thrillers are based in Maidstone, Kent and feature a tight-knit team of detectives. Praised for their authenticity and attention to detail, the books are also much loved by readers for their page-turning plots and devious twists with comparisons to TV shows NCIS and Law & Order: Criminal Intent. The first book, Scared to Death was published in 2016 and won praise from Robert Bryndza (The Girl in the Ice, Shadow Sands) and Angela Marsons (Silent Scream, Deadly Cry).

More recently, Rachel created a new crime thriller series based around the central character Mark Turpin, an Oxfordshire-based detective. The first book, None the Wiser, received critical acclaim from Adrian McKinty (The Chain) and Jo Spain (With Our Blessing, The Confession), with the follow-up book, Her Final Hour being praised by the creator of the DCI Banks series, Peter Robinson.

In addition to her detective stories, Rachel also writes the English Assassins series featuring female assassin Eva Delacourt, and a number of standalone crime thrillers, psychological thrillers and conspiracy thrillers.

A keen traveller, Rachel holds both British and Australian citizenship.

Follow the tour:

3 thoughts on “The Lost Boy by Rachel Amphlett

Comments are closed.