The Cove by LJ Ross

Not to be outdone, Mandie has also read and reviewed The Cove by LJ Ross. You can read my thoughts right here. It was Mandie who first alerted me to LJ Ross’s books and we’ve both been big fans ever since. This is the first book in her brand new Summer Suspense Mystery series which is released in paperback on Tuesday and is available in ebook right now. Here’s what the book is all about:

Source: Owned Copy
Release Date: Ebook – 31 July 2021
Paperback – 31 August 2021
Publisher: Dark Skies Publishing

About the Book


Gabrielle Adams has it all – brains, beauty, a handsome fiancé, and a dream job in publishing. Until, one day, everything changes.

‘The Tube Killer’ takes his victims when they least expect it: standing on the edge of a busy London Underground platform, as they wait for a train to arrive through the murky underground tunnels of London.

Gabrielle soon learns that being a survivor is harder than being a victim, and she struggles to return to her old life. Desperate to break free from the endless nightmares, she snatches up an opportunity to run a tiny bookshop in a picturesque cove in rural Cornwall.

She thinks she’s found the perfect escape, but has she swapped one nightmare for another?

Suspense and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced thriller, set amidst the spectacular Cornish landscape.

Mandie’s Thoughts

I have never made any secret of the fact that I am a big LJ Ross fan and have loved getting to know DCI Ryan and DrGregory so when I heard she was writing yet another series I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy. 

Gabrielle Adams works in the world of publishing, something she absolutely loves until one night after the works Christmas party she becomes the latest victim of the Underground killer. Thankfully for her she survives but she no longer feels that she can remain in her job. When an opportunity presents itself for her to relocate to a quite cove in Cornwall but still be working in the bookish world she jumps at the chance. Hoping to put her life back together she slowly starts to open up to her new boss Nell and gets to know her new neighbours and starts to feel normal again. As this is billed as book 1 in the summer suspense series then you just know that nothing is going to stay calm and cosy for long. As she witnesses something in the middle of a storm you are at times left wondering if she imagined it or not. 

I really enjoyed getting to know Gabi and seeing just how much the accident affected her confidence and general well-being. On the surface she seems to be coping but behind closed doors and away from the new people in her life you can see her struggling with flashbacks. As always there is just enough history about the other main characters in the book that ensure that you are invested in their lives and can easily picture them and their surroundings. LJ Ross has a real knack of setting the scene that make you wish you were right in the middle of the action.

With an equal measure of a feel-goodfactor and intrigue with a few little twists along the way The Cove is a great opener to this brand-new series, and I am certainly looking forward to next summer to see what LJ Ross has in store for her readers and where we will be transported to next.

About the Author

LJ Ross is an international bestselling author, best known for creating atmospheric mystery and thriller novels, including the DCI Ryan series of Northumbrian murder mysteries which have sold over 6 million copies worldwide.

Her debut, Holy Island, was released in January 2015 and reached number one in the Amazon UK and Australian charts. Since then, she has released a further twenty novels, all of which have been top three global bestsellers and seventeen of which have been UK #1 bestsellers. Louise has garnered an army of loyal readers through her storytelling and, thanks to them, several of her books reached the coveted #1 spot whilst only available to pre-order ahead of release.

In addition to her DCI Ryan series, Louise has created a new series of thriller novels based around the central character of ‘Dr Alexander Gregory’, whose work as a psychological profiler takes him around the world. The first three books (Impostor, Hysteria and Bedlam) were #1 bestsellers and were narrated in audio by the actors Hugh Dancy (Impostor & Hysteria) and Richard Armitage (Bedlam). She is also writing several standalone romantic suspense novels featuring strong female protagonists which will be available in 2021.

Louise was born in Northumberland, England. She studied undergraduate and postgraduate Law at King’s College, University of London and then abroad in Paris and Florence. She spent much of her working life in London, where she was a lawyer for a number of years until taking the decision to change career and pursue her dream to write. Now, she writes full-time and lives with her husband and son in Northumberland, where she enjoys reading all manner of books, travelling and spending time with family and friends.

Louise is a keen philanthropist, and is pleased to have supported numerous non-profit programmes in addition to founding several of her own, including the Lindisfarne Reading Challenge and the Lindisfarne Prize for Debut Crime Fiction.

One thought on “The Cove by LJ Ross

Comments are closed.