No Fear by Casey Kelleher

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for No Fear, the latest thriller from Casey Kelleher and book two in the Lucy Murphy series. My thanks to publisher Bookouture for inviting me to take part and providing the advance copy of the book for review. If you want to read my thoughts on book one, No Escape, you can find my review here. read on to find out more about this latest offering:

Source: Netgalley

About the Book

She wanted to save a life. Now she must fight to save herself.

When DC Lucy Murphy meets Debra, wife of feared drug dealer Gerard Jennings, she sees a young woman in urgent need of help. Brutalised by her husband, Debra is too terrified to tell the police what she knows. But Lucy is determined to bring Gerard down – for Debra’s sake, and the safety of the Griffin Estate.

Meanwhile, after the death of one of his drug runners, Gerard is under pressure from his bosses to prove he’s still up to the job. Facing threats of violence as well as police interest, Gerard is getting desperate – and desperate men are the most dangerous of all.

As Lucy prepares to go undercover in Gerard’s gang to get the evidence she needs to arrest him, her beloved grandmother Winnie starts acting strangely. She mentions a man visiting her at night in her care home, but that makes no sense – does it?

Any distraction could prove deadly for Lucy and the people she’s trying to protect. But she has backed a vicious man into a corner, and he’ll stop at nothing to get what he wants.

A gritty, shocking, action-packed thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane will love this.

My Thoughts

I am so glad that I have never had to live anywhere like the Griffin Estate. As if the trials that Lucy Murphy faced last time out weren’t tense enough, it appears that the drug wars are far from over and that top dealer, Gerard Jennings, is determined to send a message to anyone who thinks that it’s a good idea to cross him – his own family included. When his anger sees his wife, Debra, end up in hospital, it is one outburst too many for her and, with Lucy’s help, she sets about getting the evidence to stop her husband once and for all. But at what cost to those they love?

And that’s what I love about a Casey Kelleher novel. Not only do you get a really really gritty storyline, in this case a mixture of gang wars and domestic violence, but you find yourself faced with characters you really care about and want to root for. Lucy Murphy is one such character, her difficult past outlined in the first book, but explored further within this book. The more time she spends on the Griffin estate, the more she remembers from the fateful night in her childhood, and the more I found myself drawn to her as a character. She is a relatively new Detective, but full of determination and spirit, no matter how scared she might be inside, and the way in which the author explores the conflict between her night terrors and her need to do the job she loves is really well played.

Debra was another great character and one who was all too easily recognisable. Her hesitance in leaving her husband, knowing that the cost to her and her beloved sons, is all too real, and all too common in domestic violence victims and it is portrayed ina. sympathetic way whilst still acting as a tool to drive the story onward. Seeing the impact of their father’s temper on the two boys, even though not directed at them, was heartbreaking and the author really plays on readers emotions as those scenes progress.

It is a really action filled story, and watching Jennings slowly devolve and lose his grip on his anger, fuelled by a growing addiction, really keeps the tension high and the had me gripped to the story. How far would he go? Well, when it comes to proving who is in control, it appears there are no limits, and the faint whiff of corruption in the police adds another layer or uncertainty and jeopardy to an already tense situation. This leads us to a really tense and dramatic showdown with a conclusion that might shock but also put a smile on your face. I’m certainly loving the development of Lucy and the rest of the team and can’t wait to see where the author takes us next.

About the Author

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

Follow the tour: