Rewind, recap: Weekly Update w/e 28/06/20

Well if we wanted signs of summer, I think we’ve had then this week. Sweltering hot, people behaving like idiots, and then all hell breaking loose … at least weather wise. Nothing speaks of a British summer quite like a good thunderstorm. I have been working all week, trying to make the best use of warm evenings with a little al fresco reading, and making sure I continue to get my walks in. I don’t get much exercise otherwise, and as you can see from the pictures above, the views along the canal really make the effort of getting out of bed every day at 05:15 worthwhile.

Colleagues of the week

Not a bad week book wise to be fair. I got a few deliveries – always welcome – including two signed books from Goldsboro. Hinton Hollow Death Trip by Will Carver and The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter. My paperback copies of The Last Fix and Lethal Investments by K.O. Dahl also arrived so I am looking forward to catching up with the early days of the Oslo Detectives Frølich and Gunnarstranda. My only other purchase was the pre-order of the paperback version of Winterkill by Ragnar Jónasson.

One Netgalley book this week – The Less Dead by Denise Mina.

Quite a sedate week for me don’t you think? 😉

Books I have read

Stone Cold Heart by Caz Frear

The twisted and unpredictable new crime thriller from winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition, perfect for fans of The Innocent Wife.

He told me he was innocent of his girlfriend’s murder.
He told me his wife was out to get him.
What he didn’t tell me was why.

He has a history of cheating.
He attended the party where his girlfriend was murdered.
And so did his wife.

Adulterer.
Murderer.
Victim.

Can I find the truth in the lies?


The Divine Boys by Laura Restrepo

From acclaimed Colombian author Laura Restrepo comes a prize-winning novel inspired by a true crime that shattered a community and exposed the dark recesses of toxic masculinity and privilege.

Immune to the consequences of immorality, five privileged young men in Bogotá bond over a shared code: worship drugs and drink, exploit women, and scorn the underclass.

As males, they declare the right to freedom of pleasure. As friends, only disloyalty to each other is forbidden. When a little girl from the slums disappears, the limits of a perverse and sacred bond will be tested in ways none of them could have imagined.

Hauntingly true, this daringly told work of fiction explores the tragic dynamic between genders, social classes, and victim and victimizer, and between five men whose intolerable transgressions will shake the conscience of a country.


Cry Baby by Mark Billingham

It’s 1996. Detective Sergeant Tom Thorne is a haunted man. Haunted by the moment he ignored his instinct about a suspect, by the horrific crime that followed and by the memories that come day and night, in sunshine and shadow.

So when seven-year-old Kieron Coyne goes missing while playing in the woods with his best friend, Thorne vows he will not make the same mistake again. Cannot.

The solitary witness. The strange neighbour. The friendly teacher. All are in Thorne’s sights.

This case will be the making of him . . . or the breaking.

The gripping prequel to Mark Billingham’s acclaimed debut, Sleepyhead, Cry Baby is the shocking first case for one of British crime fiction’s most iconic detectives.


Shed No Tears by Caz Frear

Four victims.
Killer caught.
Case closed . . . Or is it?

Christopher Masters, known as ‘The Roommate Killer’, strangled three women over a two-week period in a London house in November 2012. Holly Kemp, his fourth victim, was never found.

Until now.

Her remains have been unearthed in a field in Cambridgeshire and DC Cat Kinsella and the Major Investigation Team are called in. But immediately there are questions surrounding the manner of her death. And with Masters now dead, no one to answer them.

Did someone get it wrong all those years ago? And if so, who killed Holly Kemp?


Helped yet again by audio books (I’m 70% through my next one now), I’m happy with four books completed. Busy enough week on the blog with a some absolutely cracking books. Recap below:

#Review – In Her Wake – Amanda Jennings
#Press Release – McIvanney Prize longlist revealed
#Review – The Waiting Rooms – Eve Smith
#Review – House of Spines by Michael J. Malone
#Review – Final Verdict by Sally Rigby

We’ve a full week of reviews ahead but only the one blog tour which is for The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter. Tune in on Wednesday to find out how happy I might have been to see a certain character back in the mix.

I’m hoping the weather is a little more conducive to working and concentrating this week as I’ve got a few lovely books in the plans and I want to be able to focus on them, and get the occasional minutes of sleep.

If you are on Instragram, do head over to @jenmedsbookreviews where I’m taking part in a read along for Nine Elms by Robert Bryndza. If you’ve read the book, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the daily discussion prompts in my stories. If you haven’t yet read the book, it’s not too late to join in. and you can pick up a copy of the book here.

Hope you all have a brilliantly bookish week and I will see you on the other side.

Jen x

4 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly Update w/e 28/06/20

    1. It’s actually not too bad reading about eighty pages a day. I’m intrigued as to what you are reading now though as I had variable reading rates all week depending on the book 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.