A Year of Orenda – Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen

Now this was going to be a post to review the brand new book in the Varg Veum series, Fallen Angels, but, things being as they are, the pandemic has meant that all best laid plans have to be cast aside and we have to wait just a teensy bit longer to read the book. The ebook is due out soon though, so for those of you who would like a little preview, here’s what the book is all about:

About the Book

When Bergen PI Varg Veum finds himself at the funeral of a former classmate on a sleet-grey December afternoon, he’s unexpectedly reunited with his old friend Jakob – the once-famous lead singer of 1960s rock band The Harpers – and his estranged wife, Rebecca, Veum’s first love.

Their rekindled friendship come to an abrupt end with a horrific murder, and Veum is forced to dig deep into his own adolescence and his darkest memories, to find a motive … and a killer.

Tense, vivid and deeply unsettling, Fallen Angels is the spellbinding, award-winning thriller that secured Gunnar Staalesen’s reputation as one of the world’s foremost crime writers.

Available from: Amazon | Waterstones

Now I don’t know about you, but I cannot wait to read this. If you are a book purist (i.e. you only read the physical) then sadly you are going to have to wait a few months more as the paperback is not due out until November. However, if, like me, you like a good ebook, the release is just around the corner and you can pick it up at one of the handy links just above. I cannot wait for it to land on my kindle, or to celebrate the launch of the paperback later in the year. I miss Varg!

About the Author

One of the fathers of the Nordic Noir genre, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty-three titles, which have been published in twenty-six countries and sold over five million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim, and a further series is currently being filmed. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and the Petrona Award, and been shortlisted for the CWA Dagger, lives in Bergen with his wife.

Books by Gunnar Staalesen

5 thoughts on “A Year of Orenda – Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen

Comments are closed.