Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 17/05/20

Well that was one heck of a week. We launched a new IT system at work this week and I was fool enough to volunteer to help collate info relating to the launch and user testing. No major issues, thankfully, but it took up far more of my time than I was expecting. Juggling that will several of my own projects which, of course, all came to fruition or points at which things needed escalating certainly made for some interesting days. Thankfully. although shattered, I wasn’t so tired I didn’t make it out for my daily wander. The easing of restrictions in terms of exercise even meant I was able to explore a bit more of the canal, although it was on my return home yesterday that I had my biggest giggle. Two geese and their goslings coming out of one of the gardens I passed and slowly wandering across the road before parading off in the direction of the high street. Not something you see everyday to be fair … Also saw a bunny and the newly hatched cygnets showing their faces so all in all a lovely time out.

Colleagues of the day.

Kind of cheated one day with my colleague of the day – decided to brighten my desk with some flowers instead. The sheep kind of looks like my face did by day three of the new system launch and by Friday I was in need of rescuing – hence the polar bear in a cape …

So after my awesome week of reading last week, I have slowed down again this week. No surprise there. Firstly, there was no Bank Holiday and, secondly, I am not superwoman, I do need to sleep occasionally and apparently, that was on Monday and Tuesday, so I didn’t really start reading until Wednesday evening. No harm done. I still had a. good week and read some pretty fab books. And I managed an audio book during my lockdown walks too so that’s all good.

Books wise I had a moderate week. Moderate in the fact that I bought some, but not all books, and not ‘technically’ all this week. I bought five audio books late on Sunday night but didn’t have the energy to put them in last weeks post so am reporting them now. They were The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware; The Secret Child by Caroline Mitchell; #Taken by Tony Parsons; The Cliff House by Amanda Jennings and Dead Man’s Daughter by Roz Watkins.

Book book wise, I preordered Betrayal by Lilja Sigurdardóttir and treated myself to a paperback of Dead Wrong by Noelle Holten. Just the one Netgalley title this week – The Goodbye Man by Jeffery Deaver.

Books I have read

The Shrine by LJ Ross

A murder for the history books…

After a long and eventful winter, DCI Ryan and his team are looking forward to the joys of spring. But, when one of their colleagues is shot dead on her own doorstep and the brass think it’s an inside job, Ryan finds himself drafted in to investigate.

He’s barely scratched the surface when reports flood in of a terror explosion at Durham Cathedral. Chaos descends on the sleepy, historic city and, when the smoke clears, they find a priceless artefact that once belonged to Saint Cuthbert is missing.

With tensions running at an all-time high, unable to trust the local police, can Ryan and his team bring a killer to justice — and restore Cuthbert’s cross to its natural resting place?

Murder and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced crime whodunnit set amidst the spectacular landscape of County Durham.


Somebody’s Daughter by Carol Wyer

One by one the girls disappeared…

When the frail body of a teenage girl is discovered strangled in a parking lot, shards of ice form in Detective Natalie Ward’s veins. As Natalie looks at the freckles scattered on her cheeks and the pale pink lips tinged with blue, she remembers that this innocent girl is somebody’s daughter…

The girl is identified as missing teenager Amelia Saunders, who has run away from home and her controlling father. Natalie’s heart sinks further when it becomes clear that Amelia has been working on the streets, manipulated by her violent new boyfriend Tommy.

A day later, another vulnerable girl is found strangled on a park bench. Like Amelia, Katie Bray was a runaway with connections to Tommy, and Natalie is determined to find him and track down the monster attacking these scared and lonely girls.

But when a wealthy young woman is found murdered the next morning, the word ‘guilty’ scrawled on her forehead, Natalie realises that the case is more complex than she first thought. Determined to establish a connection between her three victims, Natalie wastes no time in chasing down the evidence, tracing everyone who crossed their paths. Then, a key suspect’s body turns up in the canal, a mole in Natalie’s department leaks vital information and everything seems to be against her. Can Natalie stop this clever and manipulative killer before they strike again?

An unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon bestselling author that will have you sleeping with the light on. This gripping rollercoaster ride is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Rachel Caine. Prepare to be totally hooked!


The Secret Child – Caroline Mitchell

DI Amy Winter knows evil. She’s lived through it.

Four-year-old Ellen is snatched by a stranger in the dead of night. Her devastated mother, Nicole, receives four identical phials and a threatening note in a familiar scrawl that chills her to the bone. But she always knew this would happen. She’s been expecting it for years . . .

According to the note, one of the phials is poisoned. Nicole is given a deadly challenge: if she drinks one, the sadistic kidnapper will notify the police of Ellen’s location. The sender claims to be Luka Volkov but Luka is supposed to be dead, killed long ago in a fire that haunts all those involved.

DI Amy Winter is still reeling from the discovery that she is the daughter of a serial killer, and her childhood trauma only makes her more determined to bring Ellen home. When another child is taken, Amy finds herself in a race against time. To rescue the children, must she seek help from the one person she wants to forget?


The Waiting Rooms by Eve Smith

Decades of spiralling drug resistance have unleashed a global antibiotic crisis. Ordinary infections are untreatable, and a scratch from a pet can kill. A sacrifice is required to keep the majority safe: no one over seventy is allowed new antibiotics. The elderly are sent to hospitals nicknamed ‘The Waiting Rooms’ … hospitals where no one ever gets well.

Twenty years after the crisis takes hold, Kate begins a search for her birth mother, armed only with her name and her age. As Kate unearths disturbing facts about her mother’s past, she puts her family in danger and risks losing everything. Because Kate is not the only secret that her mother is hiding. Someone else is looking for her, too.

Sweeping from an all-too-real modern Britain to a pre-crisis South Africa, The Waiting Rooms is epic in scope, richly populated with unforgettable characters, and a tense, haunting vision of a future that is only a few mutations away.


So that was it, four books aided by the fact one of them was an audio recording and I could listen as I walked. A busy enough week on the blog though – recap below:

#Review – Maria In The Moon – Louise Beech
#Extract – Hammer To Fall – John Lawton
#Review – Killing Mind – Angela Marsons
#Ash Mountain – Helen Fitzgerald
#Review – What Lies Between Us – John Marrs
#Review – Dead Wrong – Noelle Holten

The week ahead is a mixture of review as always, but just the one blog tour this time Eva Björg Ægistdóttir’s The Creak On The Stairs. Other than that, I will be doing some more reading, shocker, some chocolate consuming, definitely not a shocker, and a bit more walking to counteract the chocolate eating … Five days to go and it’s another nice long bank holiday weekend. Cannot wait.

Hope you all have a brilliant week and get lots of reading and relaxing in. Stay safe and I will see you on the other side.

Jen x