Bloody Scotland 2020 – McIlvanney Prize New Sponsor Announced

Bloody Scotland Confirms that the McIlvanney Prize Prize and Bloody Scotland Debut will continue in 2020 with a new Sponsor – The Glencairn Glass

Ian Rankin, Val McDermid and Denise Mina at Bloody Scotland,
Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival in Stirling on the 08/09/2017.
Paul Reich

Bloody Scotland has to be one of my favourite, possibly my number one, Crime Fiction Festivals in the annual calendar. 2020 is proving to be a year of great disruption for everyone, festivals included, but it is not all doom and gloom, and today the organisers of the Bloody Scotland Festival have confirmed that, no matter what, as far as the annual literary awards, the McIlvanney Prize and the newer Bloody Scotland Debut Prize, are concerned, the show WILL go on. Read on for the official press release.

Longlist to be announced on Tuesday 23 June 2020 
Finalists to be announced on Tuesday 1 September 2020 
Winner to be to be announced on Friday 18 September 2020

Bloody Scotland is delighted to confirm that The McIlvanney Prize will be going ahead in 2020 with new sponsor, the Glencairn Glass, the World’s Favourite Whisky Glass and the Official Glass for Whisky. The Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year, which was launched last year and won by Claire Askew with All the Hidden Truths, will also go ahead, sponsored by the Glencairn Glass.

The award winning, Scottish family business Glencairn Crystal, creators of the Glencairn Glass, has always produced the decanter for the winner of The McIlvanney Prize so it was a natural partnership for them to come on board as sponsors of the prizes in their entirety.

Over sixty entries have been received for the 2020 award. The longlist will be announced at the end of June after which a panel of judges including Karen Robinson, Editor of The Times Crime Club; James Crawford, chair of Publishing Scotland and presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky and Stuart Cosgrove, writer, broadcaster and former senior executive at Channel 4, will select the finalists.The winner of the debut prize will be selected by a panel including Lin Anderson, author and a founding director of Bloody Scotland, and representatives from Waterstones and Glencairn Crystal. It is perfectly possible that a debut could also win the main prize.

Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival said:

‘It’s great to see that in this time of great uncertainty, the Bloody Scotland prizes have attracted another great crop of Scottish crime novels for readers to escape into. It’s especially heartening to see so many excellent debut authors slugging it out with the more established names. I’m also really pleased to welcome the Glencairn Glass on board as a sponsor of the prizes this year and look forward to working with them in the future.’

Kirsty Nicholson, Glencairn’s Design and Marketing Manager commented:

‘We are delighted to sponsor the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year and the Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year. As a Scottish family company we are excited and proud to be involved with such prestigious prizes that both celebrate and reward such a rich and talented tradition as Scottish crime fiction. Like Scottish crime writing, the Glencairn Glass is uniquely Scottish with a truly global appeal. We look forward to a great working relationship with Bloody Scotland and would like to wish everyone who has entered the best of luck.’

The winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will be awarded The McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney on Friday 18 September. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000, a Glencairn Crystal Decanter and nationwide promotion in Waterstones. The Bloody Scotland Debut Prize will receive £500 and a Glencairn Star Trophy.

The launch of Bloody Scotland, Scotland’s International Crime Writing
Festival 2019 at The Golden Lion Hotel in Stirling on the 03/06/2019.
Paul Reich

Previous winners of The McIlvanney Prize are Manda Scott with A Treachery of Spies in 2019 (which she chose to share with her fellow finalists Doug Johnstone, Denise Mina and Ambrose Parry), Liam McIlvanney with The Quaker in 2018, Denise Mina with The Long Drop in 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow in 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Islandin 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

About the Festival

Bloody Scotland is Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival, providing a showcase for the best crime writing from Scotland and the world, unique in that it was set up by a group of Scottish crime writers in 2012. The festival uses a number of atmospheric, historic venues in Stirling’s Old Town setting it apart from other literary festivals. Full information at

About the Sponsors

 The Glencairn Glass is endorsed by the Scotch Whisky Association as the official glass for whisky. Glencairn make over 3 million per year, across hundreds of brands, distributed to over 140 countries worldwide.
Glencairn’s clients over the last 20 years include leading drinks companies, brands and other outlets, including: BP, Brown-Forman, Cunard, Diageo, Houses of Parliament, Muller, Google, Scottish Parliament and the majority of the Scottish Whisky manufacturers, in addition to many of the international whisky and spirit producers.

One thought on “Bloody Scotland 2020 – McIlvanney Prize New Sponsor Announced

Comments are closed.