Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 12/04/20

Morning everyone. Hope you are all well? How was your weekend? Did you overindulge in the old chocolate and gin, or just relax and enjoy some nice family time? For those of you working over this past weekend, all of the key workers supporting the UK, I hope you managed to find a little you time in amongst the madness. Me? I reverted to type and settled back with a few books and several cans of Irn Bru and Pepsi Max Cherry. Well … I’m a stickler for routine.

Right now, in these times of unprecedented disruption and uncertainty, we are all trying to find ways of coping with whatever hand fate is dealing to us. For me, flying solo as I am, I have two constants (aside from the cats who are constantly trying to chase the reflection from the sun on my watch …) – work and books. Monday to Friday (Thursday this week) I am fortunate to have my day job to occupy my mind, and aside from getting frustrated by the slow connections speeds (I know – first world problems) I do at least feel like I am achieving something. Two presentations by conf call this week has seen me another step closer to closing off two long running projects which right now are vitally important so that was nice. I think that, and some lovely book post, must have sparked something in my brain as I also rediscovered my reading mojo and devoured five books. Five!. I know having the extra day off nothing on Friday helped but still. It’s a while since I pulled anything like that off.

Colleagues of the day.

I was quite a lucky blogger this past week, receiving two lovely bits of book post in the shape of Fifty Fifty by Steve Cavanagh and The Girl Behind the Gates by Brenda Davies. I also added to my Netgalley shelf with Gallows Rock by Yrsa Sigurdardottir. Love the Children’s House series. And that was it really, which I know is unusual for me as I have no book purchases to add to the list. I did get emails from Goldsboro Books to say that my preorders were being processed, so hopefully I will have pictures of those lovelies to show you next week.

Books I have read

The Soul Killer by Ross Greenwood

A murder made to look like suicide. Another that appears an accident. DI Barton investigates the tragedies that have shattered a family’s lives, but without obvious leads the case goes nowhere. Then, when the remains of a body are found, everything points to one suspect.

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, and no one’s soul is safe. Not even those of the detectives…

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity, and their future is worth more than your own…?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

Killing Mind by Angela Marsons

It had seemed so simple. Get in, get the information, get out. But now they were getting inside her mind and she didn’t know how to stop them…

When Detective Kim Stone is called to the home of Samantha Brown, she finds the young woman lying in bed with her throat cut and a knife in her hand. With no sign of forced entry or struggle, Kim rules her death a tragic suicide.

But a visit to Samantha’s parents rings alarm bells for Kim – there’s something they’re not telling her. And, when she spots a clue in a photograph, Kim realises she’s made a huge mistake. Samantha didn’t take her own life, she was murdered.

Then a young man’s body is found in a local lake with his throat cut and Kim makes a link between the victim and Samantha. They both spent time at Unity Farm, a retreat for people seeking an alternative way of life.

Beneath the retreat’s cosy façade, Kim and her team uncover a sinister community preying on the emotionally vulnerable.

Sending one of her own undercover into Unity Farm is high risk but it’s Kim’s only hope if she is to catch a killer – someone Kim is convinced the victims knew and trusted.

With Bryant distracted by the emergence of a harrowing case close to his heart, and an undercover officer in way over her head, Kim’s neck is on the line like never before. Can she protect those closest to her before another life is taken?

An unbelievably gripping crime thriller from multi-million copy bestseller Angela Marsons that will have you hooked on the Detective Kim Stone series.

Ash Mountain by Helen Fitzgerald

Single-mother Fran returns to her sleepy hometown to care for her dying father when a devastating bush fire breaks out. A heartbreaking disaster-noir thriller from the bestselling author of The Cry.

Fran hates her hometown, and she thought she’d escaped. But her father is ill, and needs care. Her relationship is over, and she hates her dead-end job in the city, anyway.

She returns home to nurse her dying father, her distant teenage daughter in tow for the weekends. There, in the sleepy town of Ash Mountain, childhood memories prick at her fragile self-esteem, she falls in love for the first time, and her demanding dad tests her patience, all in the unbearable heat of an Australian summer. As past friendships and rivalries are renewed, and new ones forged, Fran’s tumultuous home life is the least of her worries, when old crimes rear their heads and a devastating bushfire ravages the town and all of its inhabitants…

Simultaneously a warm, darkly funny portrait of small-town life – and a woman and a land in crisis – and a shocking and truly distressing account of a catastrophic event that changes things forever, Ash Mountain is a heart-breaking slice of domestic noir, and a disturbing disaster thriller that you will never forget…

The Split by Sharon Bolton

SHE’S GOT NOWHERE LEFT TO HIDE.

A year ago, in desperation, Felicity Lloyd signed up for a lengthy research trip to the remote island of South Georgia.

It was her only way to escape.

AND NOW HE’S COMING FOR HER.

Freddie Lloyd has served time for murder. Out at last, he’s on her trail.

And this time, he won’t stop until he finds her.

BECAUSE NO MATTER HOW FAR YOU RUN, SOME SECRETS WILL ALWAYS CATCH UP WITH YOU…

Tense, gripping and with a twist you won’t see coming, Sharon Bolton is back in an explosive new thriller about a woman on the run…

Dead Wrong by Noelle Holten

The serial killer is behind bars. But the murders are just beginning…

DC Maggie Jamieson’s past comes back to haunt her in this dark and gripping serial killer thriller.

Three missing women running out of time…
 
They were abducted years ago. Notorious serial killer Bill Raven admitted to killing them and was sentenced to life.

The case was closed – at least DC Maggie Jamieson thought it was… 

But now one of them has been found, dismembered and dumped in a bin bag in town.

Forensics reveal that she died just two days ago, when Raven was behind bars, so Maggie has a second killer to find.
 
Because even if the other missing women are still alive, one thing’s for certain: they don’t have long left to live…

So that was my reading week and I have to say I’m quite impressed, both by my prowess and by the books themselves. What a great selection. Buy enough week on the blog, recap below:

#Review – The Memory Wood – Sam Lloyd
#Review – Worst Case Scenario – Helen Fitzgerald
#Review – Power Play – Tony Kent
#Review – I Am Dust – Louise Beech
#Review – Remember Me – Amy McLellan

I have absolutely no blog tours this week – not a single one. The reason? Well this week is absolutely 100% devoted to Mr Thomas Enger and all of his wonderful fiction, that’s why. Not only will Mandie and I be reviewing the entire Henning Juul series, we also have Mandie’s review of Death Deserved and a look back of one of my earliest red hot reads of 2019, Inborn. What better way to spend a week, huh?

Back to work tomorrow, but today I devote to preparing posts for the blog. Then I really need to get me read on again. No rest for the wicked. Or for the person who is trying to do all she can to help authors and publishers at this difficult time. It’s only a little but I hope that it helps.

Have a brilliant week all. Stay home, stay safe and read a book. I know I will be.

Jen xx