A Year of Orenda – Changeling by Matt Wesolowski

Today Mandie is sharing her thoughts on Changeling, book three in the six stories series from Matt Wesolowski. This book made my #bookvent countdown for 2018, and I loved the story, especially as it was set relatively locally to my home town. If you want to read my full thoughts, then head to my review here. Read on to see what Mandie thought and also to find out what the book is all about:

Source: Amazon

About the Book

A missing child
A family in denial
Six witnesses
Six stories
Which one is true?

On Christmas Eve in 1988, seven-year-old Alfie Marsden vanished in the dark Wentshire Forest Pass, when his father, Sorrel, stopped the car to investigate a mysterious knocking sound. No trace of the child, nor his remains, have ever been found. Alfie Marsden was declared officially dead in 1995.

Elusive online journalist, Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the disappearance, interviewing six witnesses, including Sorrel and his ex-partner, to try to find out what really happened that fateful night. Journeying through the trees of the Wentshire Forest – a place synonymous with strange sightings, and tales of hidden folk who dwell there, he talks to a company that tried and failed to build a development in the forest, and a psychic who claims to know what happened to the little boy…|

Intensely dark, deeply chilling and searingly thought provoking, Changeling is an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller, taking you to places you will never, ever forget.

Available from: Amazon | Kobo | Waterstones | Googleplay | Apple Books

Mandie’s Thoughts

I have finally found a benefit to being behind my reading of so many brilliant books… I get to binge read them, the Six Stories series being one of them. Changeling is the third instalment in the Six Stories series, and I have to say that with each book Matt Wesolowski is getting better and better. I was drawn into the story and the characters from the start and before I knew it was most of the way through the book. This time the podcast revolves around the disappearance of seven-year-old Alfie Marsden. Although each of the books are in a podcast format, they also somehow always manage to be vary from each other.

The setting of the book actually made this story a little bit more real to me as it is in a location not too far from where I live (not that the woods really exist) but seeing the names of places I know quite well and pass through frequently brought it alive. If that wasn’t creepy enough there were also the tales of strange goings on attached to the woods from the six different witnesses to digest.

When a child goes missing (or in fact anyone) there is always the urge to only see the good in them. Changeling is different in that through the podcasts Scott King really looks into what Alfie was like and we find out that where there was once a happy child, after a camping trip in the woods he became almost like a devil child, prone to outbursts of temper. Was this down to the “spooky creatures” in the woods or something else. What you do get to understand is, despite this, ultimately Alfie is afraid… Of who or what you will get to determine as you read on.

What starts out with the hint of a ghost story really looks at the different relationships that have been formed, and highlights both the good and the bad sides to them. The further you get into the book, you get to see that this is so much more than a tale of a missing boy, and maybe the grieving parents are not quite all that they seem. In fact, the more I read the more I lost sympathy for Alfie’s father Sorrel. As to why that is, I am not going to say as you really should read the book.

With an ending that is possibly not what you might expect you won’t be disappointed. Matt Wesolowski is certainly one hell of a storyteller, bringing the creepy and mystical to life with a modern twist that should appeal to any reader.

About the Author

Matt Wesolowski is an author from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the UK. He is an English tutor for young people in care.

Wesolowski started his writing career in horror and was a winner of the Pitch Perfect competition at ‘Bloody Scotland’; Crime Writing Festival 2015. His subsequent debut crime novel ‘Six Stories’ was published by Orenda Books in the spring of 2016 with follow-up ‘Hydra’ published in the winter of 2017 and ‘Changeling’ in 2018.

‘Six Stories’ has been optioned by a major Hollywood studio and the third book in the series, ‘Changeling’ was longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Award for Best Thriller and Best Independent Voice.

Author Links: Twitter | Instagram

The Six Stories Series:

One thought on “A Year of Orenda – Changeling by Matt Wesolowski

Comments are closed.